We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 19 June 2014

stayed for one nite .only paid 79 pounds had a sea facing room with large balcony ..massive room .large sofa ,four poster bed ,bathroom had bath and a walk in shower ..good breakfast ..fantastic value for money .also let us park in managers spot in car park over night .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tammyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby.
I am delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our hotel.I shall pass on all your kind comments to the staff as they always trying their very best to help our customers.
I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future Regards, SImon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Only stayed for one night,room comfy,staff helpful and friendly would stay again, only downside parking for 6 or 7 cars at most at hotel.Managed to find parking space on one of the side streets but had wing mirror broken so really would use car park for 24hour parking on next visit. Felt Tenby which as always been one of my favourite places to visit,looks a bit tired and shabby council needs to invest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEANO47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and services that we provide, I shall certainly make sure that all the team are aware of your kind comments. We have a small car park but as you mention is other car parks near by and we always more than happy to help our customers to point them in the right direction. I am sorry to hear about your wing mirror was broken as this is no a usual thing for Tenby and it can happen anywhere in the uk. Tenby is a fantastic place with magical views and I am glad you enjoy your stay. I hope to see you soon in the near future. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights recently. Unfortunately they did not have one room available for all 4 nights therefore we stayed in the best room for 2 nights and a sea view room for 2. The price for 4 nights is £199 plus room supplements. Because the computer reservation system cannot handle this situation we had 2 bookings at £119 plus supplements - an £80 supplement per couple for this.
We had the best room for the first 2 nights. Very nice - large, great views, balcony, bath and shower in bathroom although some furniture was not as good quality as it could have been.
What a change for the 2nd 2 nights. The room was half the size of the first room and had a bathroom in the corner - the bathroom did not encroach into the room in the first. The room was no more than 2 star standard and the shower barely wet you. I think that other rooms are bigger and better but DO NOT book a standard sea view room (& pppn supplement) as you WILL be disappointed.
Restaurant was normal 3 star fare and food was tasty, filling and served quickly - 30 minutes for 3 course evening meal.

Room Tip: Do not choose a standard room or a sea view room, its worth paying more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheRealist999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I have passed your comments onto all the relevant departments. We are always looking to improve the service & accommodation that we offer and I am sorry that the week was full and you have to book two different rooms for your holiday. I hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Visited Saturday with the intention of having lunch, However walked back out, after failing to get any service.

Shocking situation, when people are bringing back a pot of tea with no tea bag in, just hot water, you cannot get any more basic than that.

Although there were two people serving behind the bar, they were clueless, and short with customers, looking very stressed, which is strange considering they were not busy, and it was only around 1.30pm.

I cannot comment on the food as we never spotted any, depressing atmosphere, and lacking in any helpful staff. Prices are not cheap, so you would expect at the very least a basic level of service.

Shame, but I would give this place a miss, and we will certainly not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Sparky092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks to post a review. I'm sorry to read that your visit had been let down by my staff. After receiving so many positive and kind comments about them this is disappointing to read. I and the team are working very hard to address all the comments you made. I shall investigate your comments about the service and please be assured that all comments shall be actioned by myself and the team. I do hope that you choose to come back again and I am positive you will see a remarkable improvement. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Reccomend you upgrade to a best room with sea view, then it's brilliant. Staff friendly & helpful. We had bed & breakfast which gave us the opportunity to sample the local restaurants of which there are many. Lovely town and beaches.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had a nice break with us. I completely agree with you we are so lucky to have such a fantastic location and the upgrade room are very good value for money. Tenby is a great place to explore, lots to see and do. Specially when the weather is good, I hope to see you again soon. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having been travelling the UK for the last 4 weeks I can honestly say this hotel has been the biggest disappointment. The room is on a noticeable lean, the carpets are filthy and I'm not sure how to describe the shower - absolutely terrible. Just no pressure at all. I'm all for water saving but I actually questioned if there was enough water to actually shower. The only positive I have is the view from the room is beautiful and the lady on reception was friendly and helpful. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gipsiduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I´m glad you enjoy the location and the fantastic views that the Imperial have to offer. I and the team we will investigate all comments made about the room. We always strive to provide the best service to our guest and we will do our best to accommodate in the best possible way and when these things are brought to our attention we try to deal with them as quickly and efficiently as possible.I do hope that you choose to come back again and I am positive you will see a remarkable improvement. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here with Shearings , most enjoyable , just could do with a bit more organisation in the dinning room , all work hard but short of someone in overhaul charge in there at meal times . The meals where very good , and able to select the time for the evening meal was a great idea

Room Tip: Choose to upgrade and select a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I do apologize if you felt let down but the organisation in the dining room and I can assure you I will investigate with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tenby
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £61 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing