We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
225
229
127
70
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
229
127
70
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shearings hotels sea view shearings holiday premier room the hotel manager st catherines meal times the cliff overlooking the beach limited parking public rooms hotel bar excellent position fantastic views car parking plenty of choice multi storey
Filter
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2010

This was my third stay at this hotel, but my first since it has been refurbished this year and under the Coast & Country banner. Check in was quick and friendly although she appeared rushed. We were allocated room 37 for 2 nights bed & breakfast, a premium room overlooking the front of the hotel, so not a sea view, & not the end of the world.
It was very nice, 2 single beds, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and 2 shortbread biscuits and very generous with the milk jiggers. hairdryer in the room. Couple of mirrors, good lighting and 2 large windows which you can open for some air. We found the room warm so it was nice to open the window, but then you get either noise from partygoers at 2 in the morning or sea gulls at 4 in the morning, maybe the hotel would have loaned us a fan if we asked but we didn't.
Bathroom very large, and well stocked with toiletries, a shower over the bath and again very generous with the loo rolls, ( about 3 !). There was a glass shower screen which failed to keep the water from going all over the floor and you end up mopping up, so they could do with putting up a shower curtain as the water will soon spoil the wooden flooring.
Breakfast restaurant looks very classy & modern, overlooking the sea. Huge windows and you feel like you are sitting in a goldfish bowl................but.........because the sun was shining in it was very warm and felt like you were sitting in a greenhouse, quite uncomfortable.
We were a bit disappointed with the breakfast, when we arrived every table was dirty, so we had to wait for about 10 minutes. then it was a bit confusing exactly what we could have, as the menu stated Orange juice OR Yoghurt OR cereal OR.....etc, and we didnt know if we helped ourselves or what the situation was. The full english was very nice but it was a small portion, and we were still hungry.
The next day we didn't even bother to go down for breakfast, choosing instead to go into the town centre a pay for a slap up breakfast & with a cool breeze, a good decision. Also breakfast is 0830-1030, but you have to checkout at 1000, slap bang in the middle of breakfast. They should make checkout at 11.
Room didn't have internet access. Only one small lift so be prepared to wait a while during busy times, there are stairs though.
Excellent location, a short walk to town ,overlooking the sea & caldey Island, but no car park, you will have to find a space on the Esplanade or a carpark 10 minutes walk away for £3 a day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fly747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Terrible shock on room,dirty carpet,bath & sink,peeling wallpaper mould.Dirty tooth glasses[remains of previous guests toothpaste.Bed base frayed & stained.Offered another room,much the same.Had to pay for upgrade to get 1/2 decent room.Main areas ok and meals and waiter service realy great.Housekeeping lets hotel down badly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikeB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

No response to sagging mattress
Food at "budget" range, not bad for this, but few fresh vegetables
Wonderful sea view room for £20 extra for week

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Stayed in this hotel over the recent Bank Holiday weekend, and would recommend it to anyone.

Upon arrival we asked if there were any sea-view rooms available, but were told by the very friendly receptionist that there were not. It turned out it didn't matter, as our room on the top floor actually had a view anyway! We were on the side of the hotel, so had a view of the sea and over to the countryside beyond Tenby - perfect.

The room and bathroom were large, and while it perhaps needed a lick of paint it was clean and there were lots of tea/coffee/hot chocolate sachets. The tv was very small, but with a view like we had we didn't watch it much!

The bar and restaurant have been recently done up, and both have spectacular views out over the sea and Caldey Island. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, and while service was a little hit and miss (if a waiter/waitress didn't spot you as you entered the room it was a little difficult to then attract their attention), the staff were all polite and friendly and very amenable to swapping/adding breakfast items. I highly recommend getting poached eggs!

At the moment the hotel does have a small car park, which isn't advertised on its website - it really is very small and there is a chance your car will get blocked in, so we found street parking nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eb13saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

On arrival at 2pm it was pointed out to us that we could not check until 3pm,this is fair enough but the receptionist had an unwelcoming abrasive manner, A young man who worked in the kitchen was leaning on the reception desk in his whites or should I say his greys,it did give us some cause for concern.
The room was very basic and not cleaned to a very high standard,the towels were changed and the duvet straightened each day but that was all, The carpet was quite dirty and the lampshades full of dust.
The meals were adequate, you had to pick a time for your evening meal and stick to it each day. It was a bit like a conveyer belt and it was not a relaxing atmosphere.
The waiting staff were very good, efficient and pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgepeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews