We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Just returned from a Shearings all inclusive to this hotel and we had a really good time. The hotel is situated in the best location in Tenby , it is built into the walls of the town and is situated on the cliff edge.
The bar and restaurant areas are beautifully furnished and of a 4 star rating.
As we were AI we had an allowance of £15pppd at the bar between 7.30-10.30 on selected drinks. The food in the restaurant was very good and the breakfasts plentiful e.g. cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, fruit juices, toast and cooked breakfast.
We had a seaview room and the view was fantastic. Yes the windows required some attention but who looks at that when there is a fantastic view out of them. The room was spacious, clean and warm and we were kept well supplied with tea, coffee qnd hot chocolate.
We had entertainment provide 3 out of the 4 nights. Carol was v.good and Christine was excellent.
All staff were friendly and helpful particularly the manager Peter, so thankyou to them all for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

The Imperial is situated in the best place in tenby, both for town and beach, the views from the hotel are the best you can get, although pricey you pay for where the hotel is situated. The staff are friendly and approachable as are the people in Pembrokeshire. The rooms are not very good and are not worth the price and don't try to turn around in the shower you can't. plenty of places to eat out if you don't want to eat in the hotel, breakfast was only catered for the elderley as you only get a morsel, had better accomidation and breakfast at the local premier inn for less thanh half the price. I sudgest you eat out, parking ok £15 for the weak. Hotel bar and public places really good. Exept for the room you will enjoy your stay at the Imperial, i would go Revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and the restaurant and food were faultless,. the service was also excellent except on the front desk. We waited to book in as there was only one person covering the bar and reception! This happened each day and evening. It was fully booked as there were people coming in and asking if there was a vacancy ? Do think they need to get some extra staff in the hotel. thepublic rooms were nice and clean and quite modern. They fell down badly with the bedroom, We didn't even have a proper shower, just a hose to be put on bath taps! Personally i have hip and knee problems and cannot kneel in the bath. I had great difficulty showering as the hose was hardly long enough for me to stand up and "hose" myself down. it was a touch of the 40s or 50s! Even if it had been a shower over the bath, that would have been acceptable. We shall NOT be returning to this hotel at Tenby! I will not be recommending this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorwichEnglandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Our room (no.4) was smelly, with a dirty carpet and rolls of dust, fluff, food debris and e.g. used elastoplast etc. behind bedside table. With 'tired' decor, one of the window frames was rotted onto a hole. The bathroom had a large long-standing stain on the ceiling (below upstairs toilet). The bathroom floor was dirty and pee stained. There was red and black mould on bath and tiles, and the bath seal had perished, causing leaks onto floor and carpet which smelt very badly. The showerhead was encrusted. The wash basin (with hole repaired) was coated with grease. The (we paid extra) magnificent sea view was across a litter strewn balcony area. All corridor doors were filthy with age old hand prints and carpets were un-vacuumed. See photos, there are many more! The Manager had gone on holiday (in August!), as had his deputy. Reception was largely unmanned. All the dinner menu food (apart from two roast meats served in 4 days) was from frozen, and vegetables were badly overcooked. Food choices were minimal and sometimes non-existent after first/second of 3 sittings. Waiting staff were lovely, but helpless to improve what was on offer.
A formal complaint to Shearings Coast and Country, with many photos has elicited just an unsigned undated postcard after 3 weeks.
This place is a shambles. Until it is cleaned up - avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SKIsofleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

After a dodgy booking in, all I can do is but praise Peter Rees(Manager) for his excellence in sorting out our booking. we stayed for three nights, we were all satisfied with our rooms with wonderful sea views, both room were a lovely size, clean and tidy. the beds were comfortable with lovely crisp bedding and the towel were excellent.. If I am to be honest the decoration and bathroom was a little tired, but the public areas were very nice. The restaurant over looked the sea, and was very hot when the sun was shinning, it could do with aircon, but this is not a complaint. They did have a shortage of serving staff ing the dinning room, by again it was sorted by the Manager and his efficient assistant Angelica (who reaaly knew her job) Thankyou both for making our stay so good. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The hotel is in such a super location it is such a shame the rooms are so dirty and unwelcoming. Our room was over the front door, plenty of light through a large window which if it had been clean would have been better still.The mould around the window panes was disgusting as was the sill which had not been wiped. As for the shower room---the floor,shower tray and skirting boards were very dirty ---we felt very wary of touching anything.On the positive side the bedding and towels were very clean. The bed had seen better days !!
The public areas were nicely decorated and we enjoyed the food served by very polite ,smart young people.
If we were to visit again it would be after the rooms had been refurbished.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PdayOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

stayed in a premier room overlooking the sea - could not fault the view. However the loo seat was broken and was not replaced which is a health hazard. Room was comfortable including the bed. Unfortunately there were a huge number of coach trip residents, mostly elderly and frail, some of whom were very rude. Food was a dissapointment and very ordinary - I would expect some welsh specialities on the menu including local sea food. Breaded haddock is not what I would expect in a hotel! Enjoyed the stay but doubt very much whetherv we would return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenby0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tenby
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tenby
457 reviews
0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £51 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing