We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST GUEST HOUSE IN TENBY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenthorne Guest House
Ranked #11 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanfyllin, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEST GUEST HOUSE IN TENBY”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Thank you Menna & Peter for your hospitality, enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was the nicest I have ever had. Our room was1st class very comfy bed .Mennna & Peter where very welcoming & a lovely Welsh speaking couple which made us feel at home right away we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartref123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    12
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
57
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fantastic couple, Peter and Menna really look after you. Lovely bright and clean hotel. Very comfortable, breakfast absolutely great. ....the different fresh fruit salad every day and the locally sourced bacon....... and a lovely littly cosy bar for an evening. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

As soon as my husband and I arrived we were abruptly informed that there was no tolerance with noisy guests and he (landlord) also informed us that he would have no hesitation of asking us to leave, as he had already done this a few nights previous to another couple!
My husband and I are a professional couple and we were extremely shocked by this welcome! It was my birthday and it ruined my whole stay at Tenby!
When we got to our room we noticed that the headboard was very loose. We informed the landlord, he looked at us very bemused and said quite sternly that it hadn't long been repared!?
Breakfast was enjoyable, we were asked whether we would like tea or coffee. We answered coffee and were told to help ourselves and he pointed to where the tea and coffee was! We thought this was extremely amusing LOL.
Surprisingly we were allowed to leave our luggage in reception until it was time for us to catch our train home. However, when returning to collect our luggage, I asked if I asked could please use the toilet. I was told by the landlady that I couldn't, as she had no public toilets. I was then again very shocked and taken aback!
This couple have no social skills and we think that they are in the wrong profession!
We go to Tenby very often, I have been visiting Tenby since I was a child. It is a beautiful town and will carry on returnig, but definately not at this so called (guest)house!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woodhead03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

cant fault the room , food and friendly hosts, Glenthorne has the added advantage of parking and a nice little bar with good prices, will certainly choose to stay here again, would advise early booking if you have any mobility problems so you can be sure of a lower floor room

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at Glenthorne in May, staying in Room 3 - a large, bright, comfortable en-suite on the first floor. Menna and Peter are warm and friendly hosts, and made us feel like welcome guests in their home, not people just passing through. They were always available for questions, helped us with train and bus schedules for the area, and suggested alternatives for days when the weather didn't cooperate. When we were stranded in Havorfordwest by a change in bus schedules, Peter came to rescue us - definitely above and beyond expectations. The breakfasts were excellent; I especially loved the fresh fruit and yogurt and the lemon green tea. Glenthorne is just outside the old city walls, about a 5 minute walk from the city center, bus station, and train station. Our stay was over too soon, and we would love to return! Dioch en fawr, Peter and Menna!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottandPatZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just spent Easter staying at this guest house, Meena and Peter were great hosts and were always available for help or information. We had a nice clean room with all the facilities you require. The location is ideal and the parking is a big bonus, breakfast was great and the dining room was nice and bright. We had a great weekend, thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My family have visited this guest house several times. We keep coming back as we love it so much. Meena and Peter are excellent hosts and always give us a warm welcome. it's a great place to stay with kids and my kids always look forward to staying. Location wise, its 5 minutes from the shops and the beach. Parking is available, a bonus as this is quite hard to find around town. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast amazing. Some reviews have criticised the noisy taxi rank but this has now moved. Love the bar downstairs. we will defiantly be returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croyland Guest House
Croyland Guest House
#5 of 52 in Tenby
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenthorne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenthorne Guest House

Property: Glenthorne Guest House
Address: 9 Deer Park, Tenby SA70 7LE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated just 300 yards from the beaches & town centre. We are also only a 10 minute walk from the coach & train stations. We have eight comfortable rooms - doubles, single, twin & family rooms. Most are en-suite, all have colour TV & tea/coffee facilities. Limited parking is available, bookable in advance. We offer reduced rates to children under 13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Glenthorne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenthorne Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing