We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, poor value, cramped, noisy and uncomfortable.”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor value, cramped, noisy and uncomfortable.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I think The Atlantic fails or is marginal on just about every aspect that a decent hotel can be reasonably judged upon. I say this without taking into consideration the price of the rooms, but given that I paid £124 a night to stay here, I have to say in terms of value for money this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The hotel layout is more or less shaped like a square horseshoe with rooms facing both outwards (some here with sea views) and inwards. The inward ones overlook a flat roof. I booked a double room and was given one that was spotless but fairly cramped, and that over-looked the flat roof. The hotel has no air conditioning and a warm August night means opening the windows to sleep. Unfortunately the flat roof is home to a couple of massive fans which were on and off all night making it impossible to sleep-seems that they are the exhaust for the kitchen fridge etc and can't be turned off. Turns out my room was next to the fans and after complaining I was moved the next day further away from the fans but still overlooking the flat roof.

This room was even more 'compact' than the one I had left. The bathroom in particular was significantly smaller; the wc crammed in between the small bath and a radiator making it difficult to conduct the basic functions. Larger customers would have problems here. But more to the point the racket from the fans was still enough to deter proper sleep (I'm not a light sleeper either). I can't think that anyone with an inward facing room (and there are plenty of them), sleeping with an open window, won't be affected by this.

The breakfast was unspectacular and un-imaginative. Decent bacon, poor sausages, little in the way of fresh fruit, microwave your own un-fresh croissant, and a toasting machine that didn't brown the toast and that you weren't allowed to adjust. You'd get better in a decent b&b. It is held in a large room that has no natural light and not much ventilation and is conducted to the hum of another droning fan. You're glad to get the business over with to get some fresh air and light.

It's an austerity breakfast and is in line with a number of other cost saving measures that you wouldn't expect at £124 a night. E.g. low corridor lighting and cheapo toilet roll. No bath towels in either of the rooms I had so it's drying yourself on glorified hand towels after the shower. It's that kind of place.

I'll chuck in the mattresses in both rooms were dreadful (other reviewers have commented on this) and the bar didn't open while 6 and was un-inviting anyway.

Upside; the staff were always pleasant, it's clean, lovely little private garden with great views across the bay, it has a small pool, car park (beware! not enough for all the guests though), and the wifi works.

In the end The Atlantic is mutton dressed as lamb. It's £124 a night because they can get it, not because the hotel warrants it.
There's better value to be had elsewhere...

Room Tip: Avoid any room that faces the refrigeration fans if you sleep with an open window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joeyredeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    106
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
72
285
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Recently celebrated our silver wedding anniversary in the Atlantic hotel. We have visited this hotel for 25 years and it continues to impress us. The rooms are super(chose from the sea view ones), the views and location are to die for .The hotel continues to improve annually. The greatest asset however,in our opinion, is the superb staff who unfailingly give 100% - nothing is ever too much trouble no matter how small.. A Tenby gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a lovely 2 night break in Tenby. We had a double room with side view of the sea which was a bonus. The room and bathroom were light and airy but if you were staying more than a few days then you would struggle with storage. My only complaint was the mattress was of a very very poor quality and you could feel the springs.
The hotel has a pool which looked great but with lovely beaches out side and fantastic weather we did not use it.
The staff were extremely helpful and curteous, the breakfast was delicious. Location was brilliant overlooking 2 lovely beaches but only minutes from the walled town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druryosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our five-night visit to Tenby was a bit of a last-minute thing, so we were unable to get any of the coveted sea-view rooms at the Atlantic and instead, went for a standard double. We were slightly concerned about parking as they only have 28 spaces for over 40 rooms. But there were about half a dozen available when we arrived on the Sunday afternoon. The car park is situated down the side of the hotel in Picton Terrace and is actually well laid out and spacious. And although our room, no 23, overlooked the car park, it wasn't altogether unpleasant. If you squashed your nose up to the window pane, you could actually see a bit of the sea. The room had a double bed, two chairs, a table and a dressing table. The bathroom was tiny, but had plenty of storage cupboards and shelves. Going to and from breakfast, we were able to peek into some of the sea-view rooms during cleaning times and they are pretty impressive. Room 16 is the one featured on the website with the huge three-piece suite. I'd definitely like to go for that one next time. The breakfast staff were really friendly, helpful and polite. Breakfast itself was fine, pretty much what you'd expect for a mass clientele. On a wet morning, we decided to try out the pool. We liked the Roman baths feel of the place with the odd goddess statue dotted about, but the real surprise were the tiled loungers which are heated, giving you a sort of hot-stones treatment when you lie on them. Other pluses: sea-view lounge with really comfy leather chairs, little games room with very smart pewter chess set, little private garden across the road with private steps down to the beach. Didn't get around to eating at Carrington's restaurant as the town itself has several excellent eateries, but had it on good authority from a friend that the food there is superb. Only a few minuses: getting woken up at 5am by seagulls squawking like crazy at our window, very noisy bin lorry at 7.30am every other morning it seemed, ditto street-cleaning machine. Other than that, I think we chose really well and are very likely to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bass2babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Atlantic Hotel for five nights, and it was a fantastic experience. The hotel is situated in a prime location in Tenby, with a brilliant beach located literally yards from the hotel. The shops, are literally just a stones throw away from the hotel. The rooms are spacious and kept extremely clean by the staff, and you can tell that they put an enormous amount of effort into making sure that the rooms are kept to an exemplary standard. The staff on reception, are very courteous and helpful, as they are more than willing to impart their knowledge, on how to get the best out of your holiday.

The breakfast is absolutely sensational, with the ability to consume a full English breakfast, a wide selection of cereals, fruit yoghurts and toast. Tea and coffee is also available. The service at the hotel was exemplified, when a young lady with her family asked if they had any Nutella. They didn't but promised that they would buy some for her, and sure enough the Nutella was brought to her the following morning.

There is a beautiful lounge area, with exquisite chandeliers and comfortable sofas and lounge chairs, so you can unwind whilst reading a book or the newspaper. There is also a well maintained bar, with a variety of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks.

The swimming pool is also an attractive feature of the hotel, the area is also kitted out with a fully operational steam
room, warm marble lounger chairs and a jacuzzi. In addition, there is a changing room linked to the pool area.

Also, connected to the hotel is a restaurant called Carrington's which used to be owned by the hotel, but has now been purchased by an friendly individual, who is also the chef, and personally goes around every table to ask people if they enjoyed their meal which I thought was a nice touch. The quality of the food was outstanding.

Overall, the hotel is excellent, in a perfect location in a picturesque town, and is therefore well worth a visit. I'll definitely be going again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent four nights at the hotel in July. Great service, kind staff. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The rooms were clean. We did not use the spa. The pool lookd bigger at the picture than it really was. No treatments were offered. Tenby is just gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel for many years, and I'm pleased to say that I never tire of it! The sea view rooms are amazing, and the location is unbeatable- right on the south beach, and not far from the town. The pool is quite chlorinated, but much warmer than the sea, and the breakfast buffet is beautiful. Don't forget to visit carrington's restaurant downstairs- although it's very quiet, the food is superb and the staff are so warm and kind. Tenby is my favourite seaside holiday destination, so it's only right to stay in a hotel with abit of class.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChocoPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
707 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#8 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing