We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good family run hotel”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, very good family run hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed for four nights at this hotel which is on The Esplanade and very near the town centre. Across the road the hotel has a lovely sea view garden where you can sit and enjoy the stunning views of the beach and Caldy Island. The hotel is well run. Receptionists were very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. We did not have a sea view - our room overlooked the side street and car park but that was not a problem as we had not asked for one. The room was a fair size and well thought out. It had everything we needed.
We made good use of the small swimming pool, steam room and jacuzzi which was very welcome after our days out walking the coastal path.
Breakfast was buffet style and the usual range of food. However I do think the croissants and sausages could have been of better quality. Once again the service was excellent.
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and really enjoyed our stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    103
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
70
279
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here with another couple as both men were competing in ironman Wales. From before we arrived the service was outstanding, we had a letter a couple of weeks prior to arriving to see if we had any special requirements, never had that anywhere before. Parked in the hotel carpark, which had CCTV coverage, my husband was offered a secure room to lock his bike in "but feel free to take it up to your room if you want to set it up", not the normal comment of a hotel receptionist!! From then til we left, nothing was too much bother, they even arranged "take out" hot drinks prior to breakfast for those of us watching the event. What a great hotel with great staff who looked at all times to love their jobs and the guests. Will definitely come again. Thanks so much for making our stay special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suziesueq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights and found yet again the holiday most relaxing.
The staff are very polite and helpful from reception to breakfast to house keepers.
The house keeping is immaculate, the room was beautifully cleaned with fresh towels every day.
Breakfast has very good choice and for £3 extra you can have a welsh breakfast which is different to us!
The lounge and games room very nice to sit in and read/relax.
We booked a superior room (room 20) which was very spacious and had sea view from the bay window. I would book this room again. the bed was very comfy.
The restaurant downstairs (Carringtons) is superb and well worth a visit.
Swimming pool was beautiful and never over busy.

All in all a great holiday and I will return.

Room Tip: Room 20 is excellent but also rooms 17 and 18 are small doubles with sea views across the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladysweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having been going to Tenby for many years and stayed in most of the B&B's we thought we would push the boat out and stay at the Atlantic. We wish we hadn't. The hotel from the outside looks very well kept and appealing. It is in a great location and it has a car park which we made use of. All was good from parking the car to checking in - we turned up quite early and the helpful receptionist gave us our room details and said the room would be ready a little later. This was fine. When we returned the room was ready and she took us up to our room which again was a nice touch for a large hotel.

On the way to the room we noticed the large dark patterned carpets - each floor and corridor had it's own dark patterned carpet none of which matched. The further we got to our room the more we felt like we had checked into a nursing home. Our room turned out to be above the kitchen at the side of the property accessed through a rabbit warren of corridors. We were aware it was not an ocean view room but at £128 a night we were surprised.

The room itself was simply very dated like we had stepped back to the 1990's. The twin beds had a 'granny' style nylon throw at the bottom of each beds and dark furniture. The bathroom was very large and bright but not particularly clean and everything was covered in formica. We found a discarded toothbrush packet on the top of the vanity unit from a prior guest. The toilet paper was very thin and budget. When we took a shower the bath filled with water although the shower itself was good.

What struck us most was the level of noise. We constantly heard rooms around us - doors closing, water running and general shuffling around. We didn't hear voices which does imply there was sound insulation but the noises did disturb us. Outside the bathroom was a kitchen extraction fan which was very noisy.

Breakfast was the usual fayre of hot buffet - no cheeses, no cold meats, no cranberry juice. A microwave was in the room so you could microwave the croissants. The bacon was good quality.

On check out the receptionist did ask if we had a good stay and I raised the issue of the noise in the room. She did apologise and said they don't usually get issues with noise.

We felt overall that it was hard to justify £128 a night for the experience but we have to say the staff were excellent, professional and courteous.

Room Tip: We did get a glimpse of an ocean view room when we walked past which looked much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank langlandroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed her for 3 nights from the 7th August. The first room we were booked into was very dark and overlooked the back of the hotel (parking area?) which had a smelly bathroom.

Immediately asked if there was any alternative accommodation and was quickly offered another room on the 1st floor that overlooked the road to another hotel. I asked if there was any rooms with sea views and was offed a further room (Rm 13) at an extra £60 per night.

The first two rooms were not the best so I tried to negotiate a reduction in the 3rd alternative room which had a sea view, the hotel was not willing to move on price at all.

We eventually decided to move to Room 13 which proved to be a nice room that overlooked the front of the hotel to the beach we pleasant views, we were really pleased with the room but not the price; we paid £180+ per night.

Overall our stay was pleasant but I have to say that I think this is a pricey 3 star hotel; I have certainly stayed in some 4 star hotels for the same price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that overlooks the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pugsley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Third visit to The Atlantic Hotel, very enjoyable as previously. This year we had a superior sea view room, with a side sea view and 2 seater leather sofa. Good size room, nice well equipped bathroom. Seagulls were noisy and woke us up every day around 5am!!

The Atlantic Hotel has a spa - small swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room. We often had the pool to ourselves which was great. Heated loungers are lovely!

Breakfast was good buffet selection, served until 9:30am each day. Room was always cleaned by the time we returned from our day trips.

Car park is small - not enough spaces for one car per room which is a shame. We chose not to move the car, risking loosing a space on returning! Small spaces too which isn't reassuring when leaving your car.

Downstairs in the hotel is a privately owned restaurant, Carrington's. This is highly recommended as the food is gorgeous! Ate here on 3 nights during the stay, reasonably priced for the high quality. The Chef also comes to the table to speak to you at the end of the night, and even came to speak to a large family and asked the children what exactly they would like to eat!

Would definitely recommend a visit! Worthy of a higher star rating!

Room Tip: Room 20 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthieSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I think The Atlantic fails or is marginal on just about every aspect that a decent hotel can be reasonably judged upon. I say this without taking into consideration the price of the rooms, but given that I paid £124 a night to stay here, I have to say in terms of value for money this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The hotel layout is more or less shaped like a square horseshoe with rooms facing both outwards (some here with sea views) and inwards. The inward ones overlook a flat roof. I booked a double room and was given one that was spotless but fairly cramped, and that over-looked the flat roof. The hotel has no air conditioning and a warm August night means opening the windows to sleep. Unfortunately the flat roof is home to a couple of massive fans which were on and off all night making it impossible to sleep-seems that they are the exhaust for the kitchen fridge etc and can't be turned off. Turns out my room was next to the fans and after complaining I was moved the next day further away from the fans but still overlooking the flat roof.

This room was even more 'compact' than the one I had left. The bathroom in particular was significantly smaller; the wc crammed in between the small bath and a radiator making it difficult to conduct the basic functions. Larger customers would have problems here. But more to the point the racket from the fans was still enough to deter proper sleep (I'm not a light sleeper either). I can't think that anyone with an inward facing room (and there are plenty of them), sleeping with an open window, won't be affected by this.

The breakfast was unspectacular and un-imaginative. Decent bacon, poor sausages, little in the way of fresh fruit, microwave your own un-fresh croissant, and a toasting machine that didn't brown the toast and that you weren't allowed to adjust. You'd get better in a decent b&b. It is held in a large room that has no natural light and not much ventilation and is conducted to the hum of another droning fan. You're glad to get the business over with to get some fresh air and light.

It's an austerity breakfast and is in line with a number of other cost saving measures that you wouldn't expect at £124 a night. E.g. low corridor lighting and cheapo toilet roll. No bath towels in either of the rooms I had so it's drying yourself on glorified hand towels after the shower. It's that kind of place.

I'll chuck in the mattresses in both rooms were dreadful (other reviewers have commented on this) and the bar didn't open while 6 and was un-inviting anyway.

Upside; the staff were always pleasant, it's clean, lovely little private garden with great views across the bay, it has a small pool, car park (beware! not enough for all the guests though), and the wifi works.

In the end The Atlantic is mutton dressed as lamb. It's £124 a night because they can get it, not because the hotel warrants it.
There's better value to be had elsewhere...

Room Tip: Avoid any room that faces the refrigeration fans if you sleep with an open window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joeyredeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
679 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#8 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing