We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute...but worth it”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Last minute...but worth it”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked this hotel when we were literally outside it!! It has a magnificent position on the seafront with spectacular views of Caldy Island. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean and although small ( larger sea rooms are available) it had everything you could want and the view made up for what it lacked in size. The bar and lounge areas are comfortable and inviting. The pool area looked really good and towels are available at reception. Breakfast was good and plenty of it and the coffee actually drinkable! The other bonus of this hotel is that it has parking albeit limited... Tenby isn't renowned for its parking. All in all a great little hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    103
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
70
278
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

me and my partner went here in summer 2013 and it was fantastic .room was lovely and clean and just the right temperture .pool and jacussi nice and hot .staff were friendly and breakfast was out of this world ..enjoyed so much going again .well done

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the beach well worth couple pound more .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the Atlantic,for a mid week/Valentine Break.
So chilled.Lovely hotel and facilities,pool is a huge treat and bonus.Attention to care and detail throughout the hotel is excellent.Food lovely.Staff could not be more helpful,standards are consistantly high,and it is our favourite accessible retreat.Look forward to many more visits.

Room Tip: some rooms have a sea view.But even if you don't .the lounge areas are very comfortable and wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here in February for 3 nights. Right in the middle of those terrible storms !
As we were packing to leave my wife said "what is there to pick fault with here", we instantly agreed....nothing! We found the staff, without exception, to be most helpful. The hotel has a lift & it's own private parking plot (included in the price), due to the poor weather we made a lot of use of our sea view room & the leisure facilities too. It is very convenient for the quaint town, harbour & walks along the beaches. They also found out about the stay being for my wife's birthday to & the card from the staff was a nice gesture ! We would have no hesitation booking our next Tenby stay here, thank you all of you at the hotel. We also must not forget Mark who runs the Carringtons restaurant downstairs, he served us up some very nicely presented & tasty meals too with an excellent wine to compliment them . No, I am not being paid to write this ! This family run hotel really is that good !

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic for three nights on our way to Ireland. We had upgraded to a lovely spacious room with a glorious sea view. All the staff were really helpful and attentive particularly as one of us is disabled. Breakfasts were excellent and the Carringtons restaurant served extremely good meals. Our first visit to Pembroke and Tenby is a beautiful spot at this time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed for two nights from the 10th of November for a nice chill out and relax. Just what we needed. Excellent service throughout. Receptionists were more than helpful. We have stayed three times before and this time didn't disappoint. We have had sea view rooms before and wish we had this time as room was smaller but it was our choice. Very clean and plush. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room is beautiful. The waiter on our first morning was excellent and very attentive. No buffet as hotel was quiet but we preferred this. As the hotel was quiet we had lots of attention, which was lovely. We were early for check in so they kept our luggage and put it in our room for us. We ate at Carringtons both nights and the food was excellent and the service great. Best cauliflower cheese I have ever tasted! A lovely place would visit again and again never disappoints :-)

Room Tip: Have deluxe or supreme well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainebish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for one night in November. Hotel seemed quiet as you would expect, check in was quick and an offer was even made to carry my bag. I was showed to my room and was pleasantly surprised to find it had been totally refurbished since my last stay. Room was a double, no sea view (but I knew that when I booked) and quite spacious.

Room was immaculate, warm, had a new TV and a lovely clean bathroom. Bed was really comfortable and I slept like a log. Breakfast was lovely, no buffet and orders were taken by the very polite waiter. Juice, fruit, toast and cereal was "help yourself" and the hot food when it arrived was absolutely perfect. A nice range on offer and extra tea/coffee was offered.

The Atlantic is an old, classic hotel with quite narrow doors from the stairwell onto the floors but the doors are double and can easily be opened to allow you to get your bags through. Nothing to worry about to be honest and it all adds to the charm. I've stayed here countless times over the years and it's like an old friend. Nothing seems to be tatty, always smart and in a wonderful location. Staff are lovely and eager to help.

In the nice weather, don't forget to walk across the road and sit in the clifftop garden for residents only. The view is to die for!

The hotel does have its own car park around the corner but you can park across the road, just check the parking restrictions on the signage.

Another lovely stay, nothing negative whatsoever!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickKeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#8 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing