We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not happy”
Review of The Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Albany Hotel
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“not happy”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

visited this hotel on a 5 day visit with national holidays.the hotel was nice and clean but the food left a lot to be desired.the evening entertainment was very poor.regarding the food they gave you the minimum and the cheapest quality.the final straw was on the day of departure when one of the owners made some desparaging anti english remarks to one of the guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastlands_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2011
Very pleased that you found the accommodation to be clean, however very frustrating that even after greeting all National Holiday guests personally on the coach and stating to all guests "If there is anything that we can do to make your holiday more enjoyable then please speak to us" that I read a review after you have left with complaints that could have been addressed during your stay.

We have been looking after National Holiday guests for the 4 years that we have owned the Albany and are usually complimented on our homecooked meals provided. I do not understand the 'minimum and cheapest quality' as meals are served from the carvery unit so more could be requested? and we use quality ingredients.

With regards to the evening entertainment this was limited during the week due to the small numbers on the tour which meant that there were very few in for entertainment, but offered over the 4 nights were - Bingo, Quiz, Keyboard player and a Race Night.

Your final statement is very offensive and we are certainly NOT the kind of owners who are desparaging to anyone and never mind 'anti english'????? We are the most welcoming of hosts and would do anything for anybody if we are made aware.

Once again apologies for not meeting with your expectations.

Kind Regards

Richard Slate
Director
Albany Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    131
    54
    36
    23
See reviews for
38
212
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We set off to walk the coastal path but ran into some problems almost immediately with our camping gear. Luckily we ran into two gents on the path who recommended the Albany to us so off we went. Our experience with this hotel was nothing short of spectacular - rooms were charming, clean, and extremely well decorated! Staff were all friendly and welcoming, and the bar/lounge downstairs is a great place for a pint although it was mostly empty both times we went! Overall I would say I enjoyed this hotel because it felt more like a b n b because the staff were so friendly and personable. If I'm ever in the area again I know where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC101112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time in writing this review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Richard Slate, Director Albany Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights having found a great offer via laterooms. We received a warm welcome, & our room was large if basic, but very clean. It was less than 2 minutes walk to North Beach, and just round the corner from good places to eat and drink. We parked on the nearby North Beach carpark (which is free of charge out of season, or £2 a day in season). We'd recommend this hotel for people looking for a budget break in Tenby.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjnmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time in writing this review and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This hotel is old looking but it is getting modernized inside the rooms have been freshly painted and the bathroom we were in was very clean and tidy lovely rooms spacious and a gery big bed I had the best sleep in a Long time very comfortable lovely breakfast and a warm welcome from Richard could not help enough making sure we had enough tea and toast with our breakfast. Thank you Richard for our stay there and for your kindness when we needed your help. We will definatly stay again we will be in touch. Martin & Kimberly

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2011
Dear Martin & Kimberley, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2011

What a hidden gem of a hotel. Nicely situated beside the north beach, this hotel is perfect for night in Tenby. The man who greeted us was oh so pleasent and the rooms were spotless. Great night sleep. There even selling tv's at a bargain. oh dont for get to ask for a map at reception.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoStu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

we stayed here sometime last year,and was very pleased with the hotel,couldnt believe how cheap it was, could have been because it was out of season. great service, room was nice with large bed very comfortable, great location not far to walk into town. only downside was the parking, but for the location you cant expect parking in the hotel. will definately re visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess19824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time in writing this review and we hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

When we arrived the gentleman was very welcoming and showed us to our newly refurbished room. There is free wifi in reception, there is new carpet throughout the hotel, it was being painted while we were there, but didnt affect our stay at all. It is in a great location to access the town, but is not on the waterfront so you dont have the extreme prices. we loved it so much we decided to stay a second night. the hosts were lovely during our stay and made us feel very welcome

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieLee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time in writing this review and we hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Property: The Albany Hotel
Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albany Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing