We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Albany Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

The staff here are wonderful especially Richard the owner. My daughter is a vegetarian and they went out of their way to make delicous meals for her and the food was very good anyway. They cannot do enough for you and I would hilghly recommend it to my friends and family. We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time.

Room Tip: I went with my daughter so we had a twin room and it was very quiet and the nearest to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write this review and glad that you had a great holiday with National Holidays! Very pleased also that your daughter enjoyed the vegetarian meals that our chef prepared for her. Hope to see you in the future Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    131
    53
    36
    23
See reviews for
38
210
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

our 2 night stay was very nice ... excellent full english breakfast ..... and loverly room with big bed....owners very nice and friendley will definatley be staying again well recomended also within walking distance to town . thanks again... mr and mrs Evans from wolverhampton

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time in writing this review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

All in all, if you require a budget, no-nonsense room in a central location, The Albany fits the bill! True, the decor is not up to the Savoy but the bed was comfortable and most importantly the room was warm after an autumnal night out on the tiles in Tenby.
Walls are a bit thin, so those of you wanting a bit of peace and quiet or romance may be put off. Staff were helpful and pleasant and although we didn't have breakfast, the aromas wafting around the breakfast room stirred the senses!
Only slight sticking point was lack of on site car park - still I guess that this wasn't priority when the hotel was constructed in the mid 1800's!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time in writing this review and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

stayed here 16 17 september our first contact was with the receptionist was not very welcoming gave us a key hardly any conversation pointed where room was when we entered the room it was very worn out and quite depressing there was a very unclean smell in the room we had to leave the window open the whole time day and night to try and freshen room the batroom was from the seventes you had to mix your own water from hot and cold tap the bed looked and felt like it was going to collapse no one changed the towels or bedding no one asked us was all ok during our stay the breakfast was ok nothing special the lad serving was a nice lad the man doing the breakfast was very nice and helpful but apart from this i would say pay alittle more and stay elsewhere we are not moaners and this is our honest opinion

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time in writing the review but it is so disappointing that you did not mention anything to me during your stay as I could have rectified any issues that you had.

It is your opinion that the room was 'depressing and worn' and I do not understand the 'unclean smell' that you experienced. The bed is a wooden framed bed as are most of our beds in the hotel and the bath & shower are operated with mixer taps.

All rooms are serviced on a daily basis however on the Saturday morning you were asked if you required your room servicing and you declined, therefore how were we supposed to change any towels for you?

I served you on the one morning that you had breakfast (Saturday) and you did not mention anything to me regarding your issues so it is very frustrating that you did not give us an opportunity to rectify these issues which we would have gladly done.

Regards

Richard Slate
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tenby hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

After reading some of the reviews about this hotel I was very dubious as to what type of place we would get. I was pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival we were given a very warm welcome. We went to the room and it wasn't a palatial room by any means but it had everything you would need for a 1 night stay. Clean tidy with fresh bedding & towels plus an en-suite & a TV!! The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful even recommending restaurants to eat in. Breakfast was delicious and nothing could be faulted. I would recommend this place to anyone who was interested its close enough to the center so you can walk there and back but its in a very peaceful part of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leebaby1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review and for sharing your experience with others. Very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Richard, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Owners of the Albany always greet you with a smile. On reading The Compendium" understood lots of cosmetic updating had been done!!! Obviously not in our room. Bathroom tired and grubby, toilet leaking with towels around the cistern to "mop up". Not a room to linger. Breakfast value for money but overall very lacking in home comfort.

Room Tip: If poss, ask to see room before you are given the keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattiehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time in writing this review and please accept my apologies for your disappointment. I was pleasd to learn that you were met with friendly staff but sorry to learn that the room did not meet with your expectations. Since owning the hotel for the last 4 years we have carried out an extensive refurbishment programme which is ongoing. The leak that you mention was from the base of the cistern (washer) and I had placed a towel as discreetly as possible on the saniflow unit to avoid the water from pooling on the floor (whilst waiting for my plumber). If you are considering returning in the future please contact me directly and I will try to upgrade you to one of our larger rooms. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

As a group of young couples we expected the hotel staff to ask us to keep the noise down as there are families staying in the hotel, however from the second we arrived we were greeted by a very rude man who persisted in telling us that if we made any noise we would be asked to leave and not given a refund he repeated this at least 5 times. And just incase the telling off at reception before we had even gone to our rooms didn't sink in there were posters everywhere saying ''Shhhhhhhhhh!'' the rooms decor was very tired and worn and the toilet constantly made a grinding noise, the towels we had were dirty and the shower was filthy. good things is the be was comfy and there was a nicer man on the next day. good weekend in tenby shame about the hotel, if you do go remember SHHHHHHHH!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshyouare21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyo39, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time in writing this review. As a family friendly hotel who had a number of young families staying at the weekend from experience when a group arrive (young or older) particularly bringing in alcohol into the hotel and coming down in fancy dress we are always going to mention the fact to be quiet on return for the comfort of all of our guests (it is because we care). However I understand that the message may have come accross too harshly and if this is the case I apologise. I was pleased that you enjoyed the weekend and I will be looking into the other points that you mentioned with regards to the bathrooms in particular. I hope that this has not put you off from staying with us in the future. Kind Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Property: The Albany Hotel
Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albany Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing