We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, lovely welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Albany Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value, lovely welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Such a lovely welcome awaited me and my 2 daughters and the hotel itself is rich in character. My 2 four year olds enjoyed and that is good enough for me, we shall return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review and very pleased that your daughters enjoyed their stay at The Albany. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    128
    51
    34
    23
See reviews for
36
203
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

just returned from the hotel for my husband's 40th birthday.The staff was very friendly and wecloming would certainly go back.Rooms were clean and tidy and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi,

Thanks for posting your review following your stay at the weekend. Glad you had a great time and we certainly enjoyed looking after your party of 10. Remember where you were when Wales won the Triple Crown!! Hope to see you in the future. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Would recommend this hotel. Reasonable rates. Breakfast was excellent. Shame about the weather when we visited Tenby but it is a picturesque place. Hotel in good location only a
short walk from centre of town. Owners friendly and helpful. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnsie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Great shame about the weather as whilst you enjoyed Tenby you didn't get to see it at its best! Next time you are planning a visit let me know and I will order in some sunshine! Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My fiancee and I tried (and failed miserably) to hike the coastal path last April. We overpacked, under-estimated the ability to find somewhere to pitch a tent, and were not quite as physically fit as we had hoped we would be. By the time we made it to Tenby from the train at Kilgetty after visiting the start of the trail in Amroth, we were both covered in mud and pretty dead tired. We met up with some hikers on the trail from Manchester that took one look at us and pretty much said, "The Albany in Tenby has rooms." That was all we needed to hear.

We booked a room for two nights at an insanely reasonable price and headed on up. I tossed my muddy boots in the tub, fully intent on cleaning them once we got back from dinner. We returned and someone had washed my muddy mess in the tub. I felt like a jerk. I was going to clean it up, I swear!

Anyway, after getting a good nights sleep we woke up ready to face the day and get our grub on with a full English breakfast. After stuffing our faces with eggs, toast, and ham (sorry, I'll never be able to call that stuff bacon, it goes against my entire vernacular), we asked for some recommendations of things to check out in town.

After a full day exploring the area, we came back for drinks at the bar downstairs. It was nice and quiet. We sunk into the chairs and had a nice conversation with the owner Richard's wife (I forget her name, sorry!) After 15 minutes or so, we decided that another night was absolutely necessary so we asked her if they had vacancy and she said it would be no problem.

Anyway, incredibly long story short: Kindness, comfortable rooms with modern amenities, well-priced, and a delicious breakfast. Do it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hostilenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Hi,

We remember you well!! Thanks for posting this review and pleased that you had a great time in Tenby. Love the picture of our backwards clock in the Bar!! Best Wishes and regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked the Albany as a group of girls looking for somewhere cheap to stay for a night out in Tenby, so arrived with no expectations.

Very pleased with the hotel. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and staff were very friendly and welcoming. Hotel was around a five minute walk to the centre of the town.

We grabbed some food at "Bar 10" just around the corner - would also recommend this place for it's great £5 menu! Good nightspots: Tenby House, Bucanero and Prince of Wales.

The breakfast (included in price) was spot on - a lovely fry up and choice of continental food.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darbydoo1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Hi,

Thanks for leaving a review following your stay at the weekend. Glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! I hope the pictures I took of you all in the bar before you left turned out ok!!

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have stayed at The Albany a few times over the past couple of years. The hotel is very clean, breakfast is good and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. Prices are good for the area, location is good - just outside town so nice and quiet, but not too far to walk. The only downside would be the stairs which may be a difficult for people with mobility problems, but there is always someone on hand to carry your cases! All in all, a good, clean, friendly hotel. We will always return

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make this review and thank you for your continued support and custom. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Albany in the future.

Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Excellent professional run hotel. Good service and excellent food.
From our stay at the hotel to our exit we were made to feel very welcome.
We stayed in room 4 (large bay window too).
Room was clean and the linen was clean and tidy.
A most enjoyable stay and i will be making a return to this hotel again when we get some Summertime.

Room Tip: With the risk of doing myself out of the chance to keep the room all to myself i would recommend roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostcymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time in writing this review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and when you are looking to return please call us first to see if we can allocate your preferred room. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Property: The Albany Hotel
Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albany Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing