We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was OK” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Albany Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

While the staff were very friendly, I think that £85 a night was a bit much for what we received.
Our room was damp smelling with old decor, the grouting in the bathroom wasn't great and the shower fixture on the tap was missing, so we couldn't shower.
Very close distance to the beach and shops, but the car park was a few minute walk from the hotel.
Overall, we found it overpriced with the only saving grace being so close to the centre of Tenby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi, Thank you for leaving your review following your recent stay. I am sorry with some of the problems that you had and it is unfortunate that these were not brought to our attention so that they could have been rectified for you during your stay. I am pleased that you found us well located and for your information we will be carrying out further redecoration works at the end of the 'main' season. Once again apologies for any shortcomings. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    128
    51
    34
    23
See reviews for
36
203
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break at The Albany and enjoyed it very much. Yes, the decor is a little tired but we personally found our accommodation clean, which we consider more important. That, the meals and the pleasant and helpful attitude of Richard and his staff more than made up for it. The location was perfect and it was surprisingly quiet, particularly as we had our window open all the time and we overlooked the road---maybe we were just lucky. We would be quite happy to stay there again if we return to Tenby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 549Trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review following your recent stay and pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed at The Albany with National Holidays from the 19th to 23rd August 13 and found it to be great. The room was clean and the service was 1st class, would like to thank Richard, his family and staff for a very pleasant stay.

Peter, Room 5

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review following your recent stay and pleased that you enjoyed We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just would like to say that we love Tenby my husband and I and have stayed there many times in a variety of B& B and caravan parks. We have never had any issues or bother. However, you have the Albany.
On arriving no car park so we parked on double yellows. Receptionist was straight to the point of the do's and don'ts. No friendly welcome or if you need anything etc. Some customer service training would be advised. We took our bags to number 3 dropped them in quickly straight back to the car to park it in the car park. It wad a warm day so we just about got a space. Car par charges 2 pound all day. However if you are staying for a few days make sure you go down and put a tlcket on the car ever morning before 9 am. My poor husband had that job. Anyway on arriving back to the room not a smile from the receptionist. Our room had two little rooms. One with a tired old sofa and grubby carpet, broken ceiling bulb, a wardrobe, drawers and tv. Decor very old and needs a lot of Tlc. The beds were twin with another set of drawers and small tv on wall. Again wallpaper had been painted over and was peeling nets and curtains old and not the best. Skirting boards were stinking as if somone had thrown tea all up the wall. The bedding was mot like the images on here they were plain white and did not even have poppers on the end so the quilt kept coming out. The bedding was clean. The windows were stiff and did not open well. The bathroom was again in need of some decor it looked tired and there were parches of peeling ceiling and black damp. Half a roll
of toilet paper was left and one set of towels. They did leave shampoo and shower gel sachets. The beds were fairly comfy but the noise in the morning. Try having a lie in my husband had to trot down to the car park first thing. Then there was music blasting from downstairs i was assumimg and then guests back and for. It sounded as if there were meral floorboards rather than wood. I went to gave a drink of water and opened the plastic glass they had covered with clear packaging and there was all gunge of someone's toothpaste waste at the bottom
. Obviously they are reusing the plastic cups but please make sure they are washed properly. The room in my opinion was dirty the decor was old and needs repair or just bin it. Twice the young lad came in without even knocking. Thank goodness I was dressed. Customer service skills need attention. Never tried breakfast as did not like the reviews and way too steep. The hotel is overpriced for what they offer hence the negative reviews. 70 pounds a night for that is shocking. If it was cheaper you could not argue as you pay for what you get. Overpriced and overrated! To end on a positive note it is in a good location not far from the town and can accommodate lots more guests than a standard B&b in tenby. However they are renovating a hotel opposite and I think thats going to be stunning when they finish. Tenby is a lovely place and well worth a visit. Would not stay at Albany again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thebompster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
HI, Thank you for leaving your review following your recent stay. Sorry that we did not meet with your expectations and it appears that you may have been better finding a hotel that offered car parking (it clearly states that we do not have any car parking and the nearest car park is the North Beach at £2 a day and a 5 minute walk). As you appeared to have such a poor stay I am surprised that you did not mention anything during your stay so that we may have looked into your concerns and rectified appropriately.
Everybody has different expectations when they are going away and an earlier review "Bank Holiday Break" stayed in the same room and were paying more and were extremely satisfied. We appreciate that we have some refurbishment to carry out which takes place at the end of the 'main' season but I believe that we offer a competitive rate. However please again accept my apologies for any shortcomings and sorry that we did not hear of these problems until reading this TripAdvisor review. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tenby hotels

Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The only positive thing i can say about this hotel is that it was clean, otherwise the hotel is very tatty and shabby. Don't think you will get a bargain by booking this place because this weekend we went on trivago and this was available for £75 per night, this was also without breakfast (additional £7.50p) when in fact we took a walk up to the large hotels on the front only to find that some of them charged £80 with breakfast included.
I don't often write a review and if i do it is normally positive but please don't waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna Zariya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review and pleased that you found your room to be clean. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. The rates do reflect peak season and we do also offer Bed & Breakfast rates. Your friend did come down late for breakfast but I did supply him with a complimentary bacon sandwich (as he thought he was on a breakfast included rate). It was unfortunate that your friends also didn't advise us of their illness all in their bathroom which I cleaned up on the Sunday morning. Once again apologies for not meeting with your expectations. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed at the Albay Hotel at the beginning of August.
A very warm welcome from Richard who could not do enough for you throughout your stay.
Food was very nice and the waiting on staff were very friendly.
The hotel is in a good location for the beach and town which was approx 5 minutes walk.
We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time following your recent stay with us. Delighted that you enjoyed the location, hospitality and food and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at the Albany middle of August 2013. I agree with some people that the hotel does need a refurbishment, however Lisa & Richard are making the effort. The bar area and patio are lovely places to relax before going off into Tenby for the evening. The location is very good, only 5 mins walk to the centre and just the same to the beach.

For me the only disappointment was the breakfast. Tenby has wonderful local produce but the sausages were very cheap and tasteless. That however is nit-picking, you would be hard pressed to find better for the price

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, so not suitable for those who have difficulty walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed and I shall pass on your feedback to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Property: The Albany Hotel
Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albany Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing