We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, friendly staff”
Review of Gusto Trattoria

Gusto Trattoria
Ranked #43 of 359 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Gusto Trattoria has been providing delicious freshly cooked Italian cuisine since 2005. Our restaurant's contemporary ambience and imaginative dishes have elevated us to the top of many diners' preferred restaurant lists.Whether you are eating in our main dining room or enjoying the sun on our patio, Gusto Trattoria is the perfect setting for business lunches, casual dinning, family or special occasions.Enjoy genuine Italian cooking and our creative menu in Southport. We have re-invented many traditional Italian dishes in a more contemporary style, including salads, mouth watering appetisers, pasta, pizza, fish and meat.High quality ingredients and culinary passion are the basis for each of Gusto Trattoria's creations and our cuisine's simple yet stunning presentation keeps our customers returning.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Really good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in Southport for the ladies golf in July & ate here 2 out of the 3 nights as it was really good. We had the il gusto antipesto on both occasions - it was a large plate of about 12 different tapas type food - all tasty stuff. For mains on both occasions we had pasta dishes - again really nice. There is a specials board which looked good value. We were amazed at the bill - really good value (we are used to southern prices). On both nights we saw some of the lady professional golfers having dinner - so if you go on the right week you'll be mixing with the Pros.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio L, Owner at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thats great, Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    79
    27
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely place to eat”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

we turned up on the off chance on a Friday evening and although very busy could accommodate us, we chose to sit outside as it was a beautiful evening. Service was very good. I chose Tomato Salad and seafood pizza, diet coke to drink and finished with a latte. My only qualm would be the waitress brought out a can of diet coke which I think should have been served ready poured in the glass. We sat chatting until we realised everyone else had left but we didn't feel pressurised into leaving.Would happily return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio L, Owner at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good option”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We had to book a table in advance as there were 6 in our party. The food was superb and staff very friendly and helpful. I will definitely check out other Gusto restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RuthL51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio L, Owner at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Very modern restaurant, excellent food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Service is excellent, good range of food and really good quality.

The garlic bread is absolutely gorgeous (& strong) :)

I have the vegetarian pasta with olives and goats cheese. Ample portion and very yummy. I will try my best to recreate this one at home!

We will definitely be going back here again. Located just at the end of Lord Street so an excellent place to start the night before heading to the bars

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio L, Owner at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although the food was good I thought the choice was minimal as I like spicy meat feast but there wasn't much choice in the way of this, also my friend asked for a vegetarian pizza she was not informed of the vegetables that was used for this dish, she was a bit disappointed when it arrived as she was not keen on the veg that was served and was told she could not change her food, although we did not let this spoil our evening I would rate this restaurant as average

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claireg1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Trattoria also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Gusto Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing