We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Seaview

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Seaview
Ranked #21 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a colleague and thank god they did, Alex & Mike welcomed me into their home like an old friend and looked after us amazingly. The room was lovely with every requirement I needed.

The breakfast was amazing, and the whole place is like a home from home.

Upon leaving I will be re-booking for next year and may well try and make a trip while the summer is still with us.

Worth the visit, you will certainly be looked after.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Aaron,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us at the Seaview Guest following your business trip. we are delighted you found your accommodation comfortable and you enjoyed your full English breakfast. Hopefully we can welcome you back again later in the year if you decide to have a short break.

Best wishes and kindest regards,

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
59
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Friendly hosts, great breakfasts (just the right thing to start the day, everything was lovely and fresh and they even remembered the wife's awkward egg order!) and a nice central location -even ideal for day trips to Liverpool. Rooms are very clean and comfortable and will definitely back for fifth trip soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Martin and Jane,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay yet again at the Seaview. We are always delighted when guests enjoy a hearty breakfast and visit the many attractions in Southport and Liverpool. We hope when you return we shall have more additions to the American Metal Puzzle family for you to try. We look forward to seeing you both again, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I returned for a third visit to The Seaview to do our Christmas shopping in Southport and, once again, were warmly welcomed this time by new owners Alex and Mike.
We arrived a little early for check in to be welcomed with tea/coffee and a tray of delicious cakes and biscuits.Alex and Mike stayed for a chat before we went up to a lovely decorated room .The room had an abundance of products all you could need for an overnight stay.
The Seaview is minutes away from the shops and directly opposite a good Indian restaurant what more could you want from a location!
Breakfast definitely set us up for the day with a great choice of food.
Parking is great and makes it so much easier to know you can leave your car somewhere close by.

We look forward to our next trip to The Seaview sometime soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwichTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Tracey,

We are delighted you taken the time to post a positive review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are also pleased you enjoyed your outing to the Taj Mahal restaurant, many of our guests have sampled their cuisine and have been delighted. We both wish you a prosperous New Year and really look forward to seeing you both again in 2014.

Best wishes and kind regards,

Mike and Alex Carolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We've returned for a second visit to The Seaview to do our Christmas shopping in Southport and, once again, were warmly welcomed by Alex and Mike. Our room was lovely and warm. Breakfast definitely set us up for the day. Everything beautifully clean.
It certainly helps having somewhere to park our car for the duration of our stay, and just a few minutes walk from all the shops. And as the weather has been so brilliant, we even walked along the pier. We'll be back in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerAndPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Penny and Roger,

It was a delight to have you stay with us again at Seaview and extremely pleased you found our accommodation to your satisfaction. Your feedback is important to us to ensure we continue to offer a comfortable and satisfying offering to visitors and travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

Best wishes,

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I'm one night in of a 4 night stay at the sea view. I usually wait until after my stay somewhere before writing a review but am happy that nothing will change until the end of my stay.

HOW WERE YOUR HOSTS AT THE SEAVIEW?
10/10 They couldn't be more hospitable!

HOW CLEAN IS THE SEAVIEW?
Spotless!

HOW ARE THE FACILITIES AT THE SEAVIEW?
Better than anywhere I've ever stayed. Good comfy bed, excellent ensuite, and the 'top drawer' is worth looking into.

HOW WAS BREAKFAST AT THE SEAVIEW?
Unfortunately I am leaving for work before breakfast so won't have time to sample it.

WOULD YOU STAY HERE AGAIN?
Yes!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Kevin,

We are delighted you have posted a review of your stay with us. We really do hope you will return again in the near future. Your feedback is important to let us know we are providing a quality service to our guests. We always enjoy meeting new people, especially if it is their first visit Southport. We sincerely hope you return to visit us again.

Best wishes and kindest regards,

Mike and Alex Carolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Such a lovely place. We booked them through booking.com without having seen the town or the B&B. The couple who own this B&B were very friendly and accommodating. The room was beautiful and spotless. Private ensuite bath was small but very lovely. They hosts recommended a great Italian restaurant and the food there was fantastic. We only stayed the one night but would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was superb and they went out of their way to please us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Tim and Cheryl,

May we thank you for submitting a review on Trip Advisor for your brief stay with us and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try very hard to ensure our guests depart with a positive image of Southport. We hope you had a memorable stay in the UK and had a pleasant return journey to Canada. We really do look forward to seeing you both again.

Kind regards,

Mike and Alex Carolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed just the one night but, would have no hesitation in going back to the seaview if we ever go to Southport again.The friendliness and hospitality shown to us was second to none.Nothing was overlooked for your comfort,and the drawer with items you might have forgotten for your trip,would take some beating.Altogether a neat and tidy,well situated guest house,with a warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Gillian,

We really appreciated your review of your stay with us and we hope you both enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Blackpool. We hope we can tempt you to stay with us a little longer the next time you decide to come to Southport. We always try to ensure our guests have a memorable stay when they chose to visit Southport and we are really pleased that your holiday started in a positive vein.
We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon, hopefully.

Very best wishes,

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,945 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seaview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaview

Property: The Seaview
Address: 28 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seaview 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview is a lovely guesthouse within walking distance of Southport's bustling Lord Street, the beautiful promenade, theatres and Convention Centre along with 8 championship golf courses. Mike and Alex Carolan, the Proprietors, provide guests with a comfortable and welcoming environment. Open all year providing superior en-suite bedrooms in period surroundings and with a reputation for offering top quality service at affordable rates. Private car-parking available. With our high standards it comes as no surprise that guests chose to return time and time again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing