We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Court Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Court Guest House
Ranked #10 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly - Dave, and his team, was most welcoming and helpful with baggage. Guest house is a perfect location with great convenience to Southport. Excellent service. The guest rooms and common areas are spotlessly clean. Brilliant breakfasts.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
109
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

As a sole female traveller, on arrival I was made to feel very welcome and relaxed in a town I had never visited before. Dave heard my travel problems and was a great listener!
The single room, with en-suite and all other necessary facilities was fabulous and could not be improved, apart from a view although I wasn't in the room long enough to have cared!
The renowned breakfasts certainly lived up to the reputation.
On leaving I had a hug which summed up the stay to me which was homely, friendly and caring.
I will definitely be back again, and soon.
Thank you Dave

Room Tip: Single room has a very comfortable single bed, all facilities (TV, kettle for T/C) and en-suite is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have stayed at the Garden Court many times over previous years. Its location is ideal, within easy walking distance of the town centre, and free parking permits have always been provided to us by the owner Dave. The rooms are lovely and clean and it feels so homely staying there. The breakfast is delicious and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. This is the only place we will stay when visiting Southport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footychick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This guest house has to be the best that we have visited in a long time . It was spotless and was welcoming and the rooms were beautifully and tastefully decorated. The owner was a superb host, I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a "girlie' break, lovely warm welcome from Dave the owner who carried our bags up to our top floor room and told us all about the place. Our room was really clean, nicely furnished and the whole place is spotless and I am very particular. Near to the sea front and all restaurants and amenities. Beautiful breakfast served in the morning by friendly staff, couldn't fault anything and definitely will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpetbaggerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I gave just returned from a short break here, the rooms are spotless nicely decorated and very comfortable beds.
Dave & Adele are very welcoming and always there if needed, the breakfasts were amazing all locally resourced , I had a full breakfast first day which was all cooked to perfection, 2nd day had the Eggs Benedict which was really really delicious. Thank you both again for a delightful stay and hope to see you again soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 260377liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here again this summer as I now work in southport twice a year. Its a great chance to stay at this lovely place that I have built a bond with. I think the owner Dave is a great and sincere guy. Makes your stay perfect even if he doesnt know you. I look forward to my stay later this year.
The consistant thing I notice is how clean this place always is. So fresh and worthy of hotel status. I work in lots of hotels with my job and most top notch dont come close.
When in southport I recommend you visit the Shamratt indian restaurant. Its not far and its great. If you need any local advise Dave will help as well as a great stash of leaflets and ideas for days out.
Get booked in so you dont miss your chance.
To athletes competing in the nabba show, dave will work with you to make sure your pre show breakfast is what you want.(unless you ask for steak) but within reason youll be more than looked after.

Room Tip: Avoid higher levels if old or have health problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biglee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ambassador Townhouse
The Ambassador Townhouse
#1 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Court Guest House

Property: The Garden Court Guest House
Address: 22 Bank Square, Southport PR9 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family-run traditional bed and breakfast updated to provide a warm, comfortable, clean and modern home away from home. All rooms have all the usual facilities and benefit from digital free-view LCD TV sets, access to free WI-FI, and perhaps most importantly, comfy beds! Ideally located to make the most of Southport's many attractions and just over the road from the Southport Theatre and Convention centre. Our home-cooked breakfast is a must and will certainly set you up for the day, as many previous guests have kindly commented on. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Court Guest House Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing