We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
458
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
458
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tracy steve knickerbocker glory honesty bar fabulous hosts sewing kit fresh milk little extras excellent weekend bath street a wonderful stay breakfast was amazing an ideal location nothing too much trouble on arrival home from home train station stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We travel a lot and Tony and Kathie are amongst the best hosts we have ever met. They are very friendly and do all they can to make you feel comfortable. There was no parking available when we arrived but Tony spoke to a neighbour who let us park outside of his establishment.
Breakfast (cooked by Kathie) was superb.
The room was large, the bed comfortable and the ensuite, whilst bijoux, was very workable.
We would stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights over the weekend, to see the firework competition. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed, and more! There are some nice little 'extra' touches too. We had room 6 (Leopold) which looks out over the back of the hotel, and whilst the view is not endearing (not a complaint!) it was very quiet and we weren't disturbed. The bathroom is split, i.e. toilet and shower in small but very clean bathroom, and sink is in the room. Normally I'm not keen on this but actually it worked really well for us and the sink area was particularly well thought out. Breakfast was superb, we tried several different items from the menu and enjoyed them all - very good ingredients cooked superbly. There is also an honesty bar which we used a couple of times, perhaps if one small comment to include a diet coke or similar as an option? Other than that, we could hardly fault our stay (there are always one or two small things that we would change, but only down to personal taste!). Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone. Thank you again Tony & Kathie for a lovely break.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank slufig2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The Ambassador Townhouse is a fantastic B & B and Kathie and Tony are superb hosts. We have visited this establishment a number of times previously and will continue to do so. We highly recommend it, you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

From the minute we entered the Ambassador, Tony and Kathie ( with a K ) treated my wife, Kathy ( also with a K )private joke, and I as if we were part of the family. Nothing was too much trouble. Beatrice Room was very comfortable, but a minor point mentioned in a previous review was that there is nowhere to hang a wet towel! A minor point as everything else was great.
Breakfast was outstanding and Tony did an outstanding job, even apologising for there being too much cream in the scrambled eggs !!! You don't get that in any B&B I have ever stayed in !!
Tony and Kathie will make a success of this venture as they are hard working, considerate of guests, and have the enthusiasm and humour to succeed.
If we were coming back to Southport this would certainly be our first choice.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We’ve just enjoyed 3 days / nights at the Ambassador Townhouse and it really couldn’t have been any better. We were warmly welcomed by Kathie and Tony on our arrival and they were both so friendly and helpful throughout. The breakfast menu was extensive and varied and was cooked to order. Delicious. They were only too happy to provide advice on places to visit and / or recommend restaurants to frequent no matter what your particular taste. They provide outstanding service to all their guests and are a credit to Southport’s hospitality industry. We would have absolutely no hesitation in returning to the Ambassador Townhouse when next we visit Southport.

Room tip: Book early.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyKinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews