We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location great rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Southport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location great rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location on the seafront. The marine lake rooms are especially good. The hotel is clean with good lounges and a good value restaurant. Parking is free and directly underneath the hotel The only downside on our stay as the fact that one of the lifts was out of order which was a nightmare and meant a 15 minute wait if you wanted to use a lift. If you can get a deal this may e better than the Vincent which says loads

Room Tip: If you can get a deal on a marine lake room it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystravelling042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am sorry that we had a small issue with 1 lift but very happy to note that this will not put you off returning in the future.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,642
    777
    177
    56
    26
See reviews for
502
1,388
77
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

A few days visiting a childhood favourite seaside town but with a bit of added luxury. The Ramada Plaza was a very modern and friendly hotel in an old English seaside resort. Great room with really friendly staff and the hotel is in a prime position. Visited Athony Gormley's "Another Place" not quite sure if it was art or another artist taking the Michael !!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be in a good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djmedia2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adlington, Chorley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Decided to treat better half to a night away so took advantage of an offer which included box of Chocs and bottle of wine. We opted for the Marine Lake Suite - a little extra but worth it. Anyway check went smoothly enough on arrival on our suite, no chocolates or wine but they arrived within 15 minutes, unfortunately one of the floor lamps wasn't working but the kind gentlemen offered to swap it with a lamp from another room, only a minor thing.

My major negative, which prevents me for scoring this as excellent is that after venturing into Southport on our return, whilst in the lift it suddenly broke - on pressing the alarm button 3 times we were then restarted but no-one spoke to us and although it was for only a short time, this can be very distressing. We never used the lift again. On going to reception to complain, the receptionist handed over to the duty manager who basically that the lifts were opertaed by an external company and try to sherk any responsibility. I'm sorry but if they are in your hotel and being used by your guests then they are your responsibility. I was disgusted that it took 12 hours for the lift to be taken out of use and a warning sign to be placed on it.

The room was lovely with stunning views, a living area, 2 TV's, complimentary White robes and slippers, bottles of water. Again though basic things spoiling it, mainly the windows are dirty and when I attempted to go onto the balcony the door wouldn't unlock - this explains why the windows are dirty!! As this was shortly before check out I didn't report it , but again the amounts being charged for the suites then things should be perfect.

Breakfast was absolutely lovely with hot and cold buffet, fruit juices and a wide selection. I didn't eat at the hotel for evening meal so cannot comment, the bar was nice but be warned the drinks are expensive. My tip would be to go the the smallest pub in Britain just down the road.

Overall a pleasant stay though and would recommend to anyone - as long as they take the stairs!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbolapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and accept the dissappointment saused by the lift breaking down. We do have 24 hour service agreement in place with our lift contractors and always take advice from them in relation to the operation of the lift.

Regards

Enda and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night B+B stay at this hotel and we were very impressed with the standard of our bedroom which had a wonderful view over the marine lake, the rooms seem to be very well soundproofed and are air conditioned. I must comment on the breakfasts which were first class throughout our stay. the area where breakfast is served is bright and cheery and the staff were very attentive and helpful..
it is also worth mentioning that there is a large carpark directly underneath the hotel
which is free for guests. (carparking in Southport can be expensive £3-£4 a day)
we have stayed at other hotels in Southport but the Ramada is far superior.Finally I would like to make a special mention to Enra the general manager just to say your staff are doing a great job so keep up the good work .
we will be back next year

Room Tip: try to get a room on the 5th floor overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Many thanks for this great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

This hotel is well placed in the town beside the lake and walking distance to shops, pier etc. the room was immaculate, not a spec of dirt. The breakfast for £10 was one of the best hotel breakfasts we have tried. Bad points.. This huge hotel has only 2 tiny lifts and at breakfast or checkout time there are queues in the corridors on every level. A surprising design blunder?

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I could not fault anything with this hotel. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thanks for this great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay,

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have just returned from another stay at this hotel. Again the rooms cant be faulted, spacious and clean most with good views of the lake. However on this occasion we booked a room with breakfast included, this is something we havent done in a while due to the poor breakfast service we have had in the past. Sorry to say this hasn't changed , we gave our room # to the metra dee who proceded to show us to a table for 2, when we walked the length of the restaurant she realised there were no tables for 2 set so we were left in the middle of the dining room (like spare parts) while a table was hastelly laid for us, why under the circumstances we couldnt sit at a table for 4 is beyond me. The breakfast was disapointing with inedable fried eggs so hard the knife actually bounced off the yolk and orange juice that at best had only ever had an orange waved over it. We have however already booked our next stay here but again breakfast is part of the deal so we are looking forward to the hotel stay but not the food. The lifts can also be a problem as there are 2 but nearly always as on this occasion there is only one working so be prepared for a wait. Saying all this we cant wait to return as in the main the staff are courtious and proffesional in there manner.

Room Tip: book a higher floor room as you nearly always get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Many thanks for the excellent review, I am delighted that once again you enjoyed your visit, your comments regarding breakfast have been duly noted and I am confident that the staff will take these on board.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#5 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Property: Ramada Plaza Southport
Address: Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 Green Hotel in Southport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#2 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Hotel Southport is a four star hotel, perfectly situated alongside the beautiful Marine Lake, central to all Southport has to offer. All rooms offer fantastic views, whether this is across the sandy beaches to Blackpool or over the Marine Lake Bridge to Southport's ocean plaza, all equally stunning. The hotel is within easy reach to some popular world class golf courses including Royal Birkdale and Royal Lytham. Just a short walk from Lord Street, lined with shops, boutiques and wine bars. Underground parking is available and our helpful concierge will be waiting to greet you with a smile. All rooms have high speed internet, king size beds and 24 hour room service, everything you need for a comfortable stay for business or relaxing whilst enjoying a night away from the kids! Enjoy a bite in our award winning on-site restaurant, Marine Brasserie, or order room service while you watch blockbuster movies on your flat-screen TV. Our Marine Lake suites feature floor-to-ceiling curved windows and balconies, offering panoramic views of the coast. Looking for something more corporate?....we do that too!..... Meeting and banquet facilities, capable of hosting up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing