We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“V cafe and sushi bar is average”

V-Cafe and Sushi Bar
Ranked #57 of 356 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“V cafe and sushi bar is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've ordered two meals which they serving from 12pm-3pm . It was a miso soup and sushi and two mochito's . Waiter was really rushing so she broke the spoon . We've been waiting quite long for a meal which cost for us £34 pound for us (£14 for 2 mochitos and 20 for few pieces of sushi and miso soup) .
Mi have to say taht the Miso soup was like a water and there had to be more salty . So it was poor compared with oder restourants ( it nearly cost £4 if you buy separately - a wate of money couse usually cost £2 ) .
Sushi was really very good - wonderfull .
I had to wait for the bill 10 minutes to get so that was annoying .

I have to say it was REALLY not the best experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eisvydas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    83
    27
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous. Best meal we've had in a long time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

After reading some great reviews of this restaurant we decided to go. The restaurant itself is set inside the Vincent hotel, the decor and ambiance is very up market.
We ordered from the main menu, all 3 courses! Everyone of them delicious. My main was the loin of cod which I would recommend....fab!
Everything that came out from the kitchen looked amazing. Service was very good, staff are very attentive.
Will definatley return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerrypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast Dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Not stayed at the Hotel as We have a holiday home in Southport. Visited The Vincent restaurant on many occasions over the last 3 years. When we first started to go there they used to have a carvery on a Sunday Lunch time which was around the £11.00 and had a choice of three different meats ( Beef, Lamb or pork) and as many trips to the veg section which was very extensive and plenty of sauces and garnishes as you wanted. Then they stopped the carvery and only had a choice of two meats ( Beef & Pork) and veg dished up in a side dish with no choice of veg and this was around £12.00. Went there last week (June 14') & was even more disappointed to find that they had changed the menu again Still two choices of meat but this time only Beef or Chicken and veg was 10 green beans halve a carrot cut into four. One Cauliflower with hardly any sauce on and 3 small roast potatoes and this is now all dished up straight onto the plate & the price for this has jumped up to Nearly £14.00 Very disappointed. BRING BACK THE CARVERY

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 185Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire.UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We (me, my sister and Dad) attended V-Café at the V Hotel Southport for Afternoon tea for Father's day on Saturday 14th June. We have had afternoon tea here before many times and look forward to it (we have also had private dining at the V which was superb). It was a lovely day on Saturday, but the restaurant wasn't overcrowded when we arrived at 3.15 for our booking at 3.30. We were shown straight to a table and asked if we wanted drinks - we had two afternoon teas with tea and coffee and one with prosecco. Drinks came almost immediately, my tea in a small pot but my dads coffee was served in a cup? - I much prefer a coffee pot - my dads coffee soon became cold and we asked for more which we weren't charged for. Tea for all is served on a two tier cake stand with lovely cakes, traditional scone - with clotted cream butter and jam and a selection of finger sandwiches (crusts cut off) with hand cut crisps (including beetroot) and a sprinkling of cress for greenery. The tea itself is very filling and my sister and me left a couple of cakes for which we asked for a doggy bag - this came with a smile and lots of people must ask as this was not too much trouble for the staff. We all had a nice time but I often think there is not much atmosphere here and the dark decoration is possibly due for a change. There were chairs outside for those wanting to sit at the pavement. (we forgot to take photos!). On a par with most afternoon teas we have tried

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aimee-Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best SUSHI best service ever MANDY is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Love eating at the Vincent. Wished we ate here more often, we would if we lived closer!!
Excellent service. The manageress and her team ("Andi", sorry!) work v hard to provide a fantastic service. Nothing is too much trouble. Special thanks to Kate also who always remembers us too.
The sushi is fab, as is the rest of the menu, desserts delish also. I only wonder why this fantastic restaurant isn't number 1 in Southport on tripadvisor-weird? It certainly should be xx

Thanks for fab times, and heres to many more, thanks Mandy! Xx

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed V-Cafe and Sushi Bar also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to V-Cafe and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing