We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent every time”
Review of Bistro Bar Med

Bistro Bar Med
Ranked #5 of 362 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Awarded Best Restaurant in Southport for the last 5 consecutive years by tripadvisor and 5 star rating on "scores on the doors" by Sefton council for the last 10 consecutive years.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent every time”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been going to Bar Med for several years now; Gino always does his best to accommodate and make you feel welcome. The food is great, I especially like the combination of dips and pitta as a shared starter. Hoping to return soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skillen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    64
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Bistro bar med is down a grotty little road - hence why we've never been before, but after reading the recommendations on trip advisor we thought we'd give it a go . . .And thank goodness we did . . . This place is just gorgeous, it's like all the little holiday restaurants you've ever been too and really brings the Mediterranean to your back door. The food is Spanish and Greek and Turkish tapas and is absolutely gorgeous. Gino, the owner, is very proud of his lovingly devised home made food, and so he should be. Each morsel just explodes with flavour! Gino is a very attentive host and nothing is too much trouble. This really is a little Mediterranean jewel and we cannot wait to go back again. It's a very worthy winner of top restaurant in Southport.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracymeercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food & service”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A brilliant evening at Bar Med. The food is fantastic and the service second to none. Will be visiting again soon. Thanks Gino!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank karena2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine food and amazing ambience”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A friend and I were seeking some nibbles to soak up cocktails and remembered Bistro Bar Med being recommended by friends so decided to check it out. There was a family being served when we arrived so I noted that it was child friendly for future reference.

The staff were very attentive and happily helped me out with charging my phone too! The menu has a good selection of Turkish meze and Spanish tapas at extremely reasonable prices and they also do Sangria (although we opted for a lovely house red)

We ordered a dip and bread, four dishes and a side plus the bottle of wine and it came in at under forty pounds! Amazing. All the food was gorgeous, our wine and water were topped up regularly without it being intrusive and the ambience was lovely. I can especially recommend the patatas bravas.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RogueWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just Fab !!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My first visit here last night after many recommendations. What a find !! Lovely intimate little restaurant, fantastic service , fantastic food, fantastic ambience! . Cant wait to go again .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank iddy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Bar Med also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistro Bar Med? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing