We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Bar Med

Bistro Bar Med
Ranked #4 of 352 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Awarded Best Restaurant in Southport for the last 5 consecutive years by tripadvisor and 5 star rating on "scores on the doors" by Sefton council for the last 10 consecutive years.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This little restaurant was a fantastic find as it is hidden down a little side street just off Lord Street and could have easily been overlooked. The food is excellent with a mix of Greek, Spanish & Turkish cuisine all freshly cooked and served by the wonderful staff including the manager/owner, Gino. The food & drinks are also very reasonably priced and the house sangria is some of the best we have tasted - it is Gino's own recipe and really worth trying. The night we went it was very busy but the staff ensured that the ambience and service was first class and that everybody had a great night. Would highly recommend & will be returning on our next visit to Southport.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 172susan_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    62
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have never tried Bistro Bar Med due to the area it is situated down a road that you wouldn't assume such a great place could be! The food was excellent and the staff bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. The food was absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting southport!

Helpful?
6 Thank tash230286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great evening out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Don't let the location fool you. This little place is fantastic. Food is delightful, mixes of spanish tapas and turkish menu. Staff ensure a great night is had by everyone. Well worth a visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank chipsandsausages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went here for my friend's birthday and was not disappointed. Although the restaurant is tucked away on a quiet street I am surprised it is not one I had heard of before due to the quality of the food. the service is excellent and the ambience is perfect. it is suitable for families early evening, a girl's night out or even a romantic meal for two. It was that good we booked again for the Saturday as a group and was equally impressed. Congrats to Gino and the team. I will be back!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 18michelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We called in for lunch on Saturday 31st May. The welcome from Gino was, as always excellent, we were made to feel like old friends. We had a lovely lunch with Taramasalata to start and then 3 Tapa's. All enjoyed with a very nice glass of white wine. The pictures on the wall and the background music made a lovely atmosphere. It was more special as we only returned home from a holiday in Turkey 2 days before! Would recommend this restaurant 100% as we have been a few times when visiting Southport and NEVER been disappointed. Thanks Gino & Lisa, see you again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pussfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Bar Med also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistro Bar Med? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing