We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our next visit”
Review of Bistro21

Bistro21
Ranked #1 of 368 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a small, family owned restaurant based in the heart of Southport, just off Lord Street. We offer a contemporary cuisine, using only the finest ingredients, freshly prepared each day by our award-winning chefs.
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I used to dine here regularly when the restaurant was "Lang's". We've dined at Bistro 21 twice of late, the first time with our son who was visiting us from Newcastle. Lang's was one of his favourite restaurants, now Bistro 21 is ! He remarked that the style of food was so similar to Lang's; hardly surprising as we have since be notified that the chef has not changed. Well worth a visit for well-presented tasty food in a pleasant environment with friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks Chris. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 651 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went to Bistro 21 for the first time on Saturday night with great friends having been recommended. From the moment we arrived we were looked after by Stuart and Lindsay who were very friendly and great fun showing us how to make Napkin jackets and Christmas trees..
Food was presented beautifully and was delicious.
Looking forward to visiting again soon. Andrea & David :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrea h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you Andrea and David. You will be pleased to know that our new napkin will be launched soon. Lessons are available on request :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Really superb food, and great service from staff that were friendly, efficient, and polite but not obsequious. Prices great given the quality, and a nice stmosphere. The choice of tasting menu or a la carte suited us well- overall an excellent restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisBartram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you Chris. It means so much to us when people take the time to give all the staff a pat on the back for a job well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My Partner Took Me Here For My Birthday As A Surprise Meal I Didn't Know Where He WasTaking Me And When I Got There I Was Amazed How Beautiful It Was And The Staff Were Lovely Took Us To Our Table Straight Away We Didn't Have To Wait Like You Do In Some Places You Go.... The Food Was Out Of This World Amazing everything Was Just Perfect Would Definitely Recommend Will Be Returning Again Very Soon

Thank sophieslater1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our first visit to this restaurant on the occasion of my partner's birthday. We wanted to try somewhere that we hadn't been to before and Bistro21 was recommended by a friend. We were not disappointed. We went at lunchtime to partake of the £8.95 two course meal. It was excellent value for money, with service provided by a friendly and efficient waiter. Maybe some people with very large appetites would be a little disappointed as the portions were not large, but the presentation and taste of the food was wonderful. A glass of house wine was a reasonable £3.50 as was a glass of lager.
In the evenings they do what they call a taster menu, when you can enjoy 3 starters and 2 main courses for (if I remember correctly) £15.95. It is really a sort of up-market tapas. We will certainly be trying it at a later date.
As the restaurant only seats 30 people, it is advisable to book rather then turn up on the off-chance.
Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geoff1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Hope to see you again one evening when you can try out our Taster Menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro21 also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistro21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing