We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb bistro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro21

Bistro21
Ranked #1 of 352 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$27
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small, family owned restaurant based in the heart of Southport, just off Lord Street. We offer a contemporary cuisine, using only the finest ingredients, freshly prepared each day by our award-winning chefs.
Wigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Well worth a trip of the main drag, best quality restaurant for miles around and astonishing value, even dare I say cheap!

Perfect service, lovely ambience and well thought out fittings. Attentive, knowledgeable staff.

A real gem

Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks Jenny. I'm so pleased that you appreciated our quality of food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    72
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Truly Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Driving down Stanley Street is hardly inspiring with run down businesses lining the road yet in the middle of this is a real jewel of a restaurant. We were in Southport on a whim and used Tripadvisor to find somewhere to eat, a somewhat hit and miss method in the past but this time it was totally spot on. The friendly welcome is just the start, modern well designed decor with spotless white linen table clothes and napkins adding to the feeling of classiness. We opted for the fixed price menu and were blown away by the quality of the food we received. My partner had the smoked trout salad and I chose the sardines on cous cous - both faultless, fresh and delicious. Mains were pork chop with mash and cabbage and open steak pie. Both were truly memorable - the cabbage being so good we ordered a supplementary portion! How on earth they can serve such excellent quality cuisine for such a fair price is staggering. We will definitely be returning to Bistro21.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skybluejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. "The jewel of Stanley street" We might use that :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

If you are ever in Southport, want a place for lunch that serves excellent food, excellent service and a relaxed and cheery atmosphere - Bistro21 is the place.
Consistently good food (never had an issue with anything), welcoming & friendly staff, very reasonable prices and decent portion sizes. Located just off Lord Street, it is also very convenient.
Thoroughly recommend to all!

Helpful?
4 Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for you kind words and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Been again today .this is a great little restaurant
I cannot add anything to the other reviews below every time we go it's just great everything you want for great meal is at bistro 21 .to the staff well done

Helpful?
2 Thank lordhuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the great review. There's no better compliment when customers keep coming back. thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My wedding day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Bistro 21 couldn't have been more helpful and the food and wine was glorious. We had friends and family from around the world with us, who adored the menu. No one was left wanting and we were made to feel so very welcome. Thank you to the amazing chefs, cooks & host. Everyone was so impressed that we're now booking for another night out there next week! <3

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Owner at Bistro21, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I'm so pleased that we helped you to enjoy your special day with your friends and family. Many congratulations and best wishes for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro21 also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistro21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing