We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birkdales place to eat”
Review of Bistrot Verite

Bistrot Verite
Ranked #2 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Michaela and I opened Bistrot Verite in 2009, after working and travelling around France we loved the Ambiance of the Small, Cosy, Rustic Bistrots that you find tucked away in Provincial towns. With this in mind we have tried to create this in our home town of Southport in Birkdale Village. We serve Rustic French food but with a few dishes thrown in from around the world when I get bit Cheffy!!! Our Restaurant may not be to everybody's taste as it is small and can get noisy but to us this is what the hustle and bustle of what a Bistrot should be. We have a Great team of Professionals who look forward to Welcoming and Serving you. Bon Vivant xxxx Marc & Michaela Verite xx
Liverpool
2 reviews
“Birkdales place to eat”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We as a family have visited several times and also taken friends and clients, we would usually go for a special occasion or just a treat and are always treated very well and made to feel welcome. The food is consistently fantastic and the staff knowledgable, the venue is a little 'rustic' not a modern contemporary place but is very 'real' and cosy which is family run. We return again and again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    74
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

An excellent bistro. One has to book some time ahead for a weekend dinner slot. Really good service and a great choice of food with some 'different' daily specials. The only area for improvement would be when it's full (which it always is) its hard to hear conversation with the acoustics in this small cosy bistro..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely evening!!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Defiantly will be going back, great service, great atmosphere and great food!!! It was a fab place to celebrate our 18 year anniversary.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmaclaire20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Ate here with a colleague this week after a few bad meals around the restaurants of Southport. Bistrot Verite was recommended and we weren't disappointed. Nice welcome and swift service. Menu choice was good with some interesting specials too. I had a very rich crab thermidor, I enjoyed it very much although the portion was very big and it was too good to leave! The lamb rump was extremely good also. No room for dessert on this visit, hope to leave some room next time as they did look inviting. Wine menu was comprehensive and we chose a very nice white. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollyt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic BISTROT, the food is superb and they make you feel special.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I like to take all the people I love to this restaurant, it really is fabulous, the chef really knows what he is doing and the front of house, make you feel like you are their favourite customer. My only wish is that I could go more often.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Verite also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistrot Verite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing