We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but please go back to the original Crab thermador”
Review of Bistrot Verite

Bistrot Verite
Ranked #2 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Michaela and I opened Bistrot Verite in 2009, after working and travelling around France we loved the Ambiance of the Small, Cosy, Rustic Bistrots that you find tucked away in Provincial towns. With this in mind we have tried to create this in our home town of Southport in Birkdale Village. We serve Rustic French food but with a few dishes thrown in from around the world when I get bit Cheffy!!! Our Restaurant may not be to everybody's taste as it is small and can get noisy but to us this is what the hustle and bustle of what a Bistrot should be. We have a Great team of Professionals who look forward to Welcoming and Serving you. Bon Vivant xxxx Marc & Michaela Verite xx
Birkdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good but please go back to the original Crab thermador”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As always Bistrot Verite delivers on charm and ambience. Always a great choice of rustic french fare to choose from. My only minor niggle is that the recipe for my favourite crab thermador has been changed and is now over powered by the strong cheese used. Please change it back :-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainmaker_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    74
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had family staying and thought I'd try it out. Not disappointed. All the food was cooked very well. Good atmosphere and really friendly staff. Average price too. Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toddde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not the best far from it ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Heard rave reviews about this place,
So we had to try for ourselves place is far to small for the amount of tables, it's like being in a school canteen all the tables are to close together,
The waitress reads out all the specials with each price by the time she finishes you have forgotten Them all there is that many,
We both had a starter just average,
On to the main onion rings really soft and pasty no taste and veg over boiled or cooked as also had no taste, and to top it off found hair in chips which waitress tried to pass off as skin on the potatoes,
Which it clearly wasn't unless chips grow beards nowadays,

No apology no nothing awful service.

And very over priced for poor bland food. Won't be going back that's for sure.

I'm still in shock to what everyone one else sees in this place or I just had a very bad experience of the place.!

Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great Evening Out”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Although we had booked for eight we were delayed because two of our party were held up by bad traffic as they travelled from London. The staff of this restaurant were very helpful and held our table.

The menu is extensive with many specials. The food was absolutely first class. However my mussels were a bit gritty with bits of shell.

The staff were very attentive and professional and seemed genuinely interested in making our night out truly enjoyable.

We will be sure to dine here again soon. A wonderful gem of a restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil_the_Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“A little piece of France in Birkdale”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed a long, lazy lunch here with a friend last week. Sitting outside, soaking up the sunshine, we could almost have been in a small French town. The menu had so many delicious options to choose from that we had to keep sending the waiter away, but finally decided on the pear, Roquefort and hazelnut salad and the leek and bacon crepes with a side order of proper French fries. Our drinks came promptly and we were able to enjoy a good catch-up waiting for the food.

My salad was out of this world; so much more than the sum of it's parts. It was both light and satisfying at the same time, all the flavours working together beautifully. My friend enjoyed her crepes too.

The service was attentive, but not intrusive; after checking that we were happy with the food, we were left alone.

Although sorely tempted by desert, we had to admit that it would have been pure greed so had to pass.

The prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food.

Parking is available in the station car park directly opposite, but it's only 4 minutes from Southport by train and the pretty station is right next door so why bring the car at all?

This may have been my first visit to Bistrot Verite, but it certainly won't be my last.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jellybellydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Verite also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistrot Verite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing