We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel Great Location!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitworth Falls Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Southport B&B and Inns
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel Great Location!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My Husband and I plus son and his friend stayed here on 19th August, Max was very welcoming and polite man. The room was on top floor, with separate adjoining room for the boys great! Powerful shower! Tea and Coffee making facilities. The hotel was in a quiet location, so sleep quality was very good. The breakfast was excellent. Vast choice of cereals, Full English breakfast, Toast, Fresh orange juice, Tea and coffee. Would recommend and re-visit in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggy1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were unsure what to expect but we were very pleasantly surprised. Our Japanese host, Max, was most welcoming and the house was immaculate with lots of Japanese bits and bobs that were very interesting. Our host and his nephew were superb and really looked after us. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty! I would recommend this little gem to anyone venturing to Southport. Very good location in the quiet part of Southport but close enough to walk to Lord Street and the town centre.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are cooler than others. Go for the first floor for a cooler room in summer. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Else B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield, west yorks.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on Saturday 27th July. The owner Max greeted us when we arrived and took us to our room and showed us around it. The breakfast is served between 8-9 and you decide what time you want it cooking. The rooms are nice and neat as is the bathroom. The road is very quiet and the double glazing means you don't hear a thing. Overall a very nice hotel and we shall use it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I recently stopped there along with 2 friends as part of a holiday in the area. The hotel proprietor is a very pleasant Japanese gentleman and the décor has a pleasantly Japanese flavour. Our room and bathroom were clean, pleasant and airy. The breakfast was to a good standard. We had a drink one evening in the pleasant little bar and found the prices very good for a hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor. Our friends room was higher up and was smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Really enjoyed my night at the Whitworth Falls hotel with my 9 year old daughter. The manager, Max, was really friendly and helpful - making us feel immediately welcome. The room was clean and tidy - with everything we could need, including comfy beds and a decent shower. The breakfast was great - a proper full English. Even my fussy daughter cleared most of her plate! And the hotel is in a peaceful area but only a 10 minute walk from the town centre. And there's parking on site. So whilst I normally stay in 1 of the chain hotels the Whitworth Falls hotel has restored my faith in independents. Well recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedonk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and it is perfectly adequate for just sleeping and showering. The owner is very polite. I was rather taken aback to be asked what I wanted for breakfast whilst checking in at 6 pm! It is then presumed you want the same breakfast everyday!! Breakfast was nice however. The rooms are basic but bed was ok, bathroom clean but shower wasn't that powerful. Tv in our room didn't work although didn't bother us. Location is fine, 10 mins from seafront if that. Overall I would stay again for 1/2 nights but not any longer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank co2Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is very good value when compared with others in town. Yes, aspects need upgrading, which I am sure will be done in time. In a quiet location with no parking problems, a bonus in Southport. Max was very interesting & obliging & we liked the Japanese details. We found it a good base for exploring the area. The breakfast was good. Only 2 suggestions: fresh tomatoes & a choice of brown bread please. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axolotl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
1.1 mi away
Dukes Folly Hotel
Dukes Folly Hotel
#10 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edendale House
Edendale House
#16 of 38 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Maitre
Le Maitre
#7 of 38 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metro
The Metro
#10 of 38 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitworth Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitworth Falls Hotel

Property: Whitworth Falls Hotel
Address: 16 Lathom Road | (off North Promenade), Southport PR9 0JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitworth Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whitworth Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing