We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birkdale Guest House - Trans Pennine Trail - perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birkdale Guest House
Ranked #13 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stopped at the Birkdale Guest House for one night as we were riding the Trans Pennine Trail starting in Southport - July 2012.
Perfect location if riding the trail as only 10 mins ride from the front. Could not ask anymore from the lovely couple who run the guest house. They kindly locked our mountain bikes away for the night in a secure room.
The house is immaculate, we had a twin loft room which was perfect, clean, modern, good price ( £75 for twin room which was good considering it was the big golfing weekend in the area ), with shower and toilet.
It was a shame we had to decline the offer of a cooked breakfast the next morning as we did not want to be too full with a days riding ahead, but for breakfast there was everything on offer from cooked, cereal, toast, yogurts etc etc.
This makes a great guesthouse for anyone, families, couples, business or pleasure and you were made to feel welcome from such nice people. Would definitely not hesitate stopping here again if visiting Southport and would not even bother looking elsewhere as it has everything you would want.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

Warm, welcoming, clean, comfortable, great breakfast. Friendly hosts. Lovely to have a guest longe as three of us stayed in two separate rooms. Definitely recommended as a place to stay. Would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storminglanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed one night while visiting Southport for a school reunion. Rooms comfortable and spotless. Breakfast individually cooked. Terrific value for money. Would recommend, and will stay here when next in Southport.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I had a very comfortable two nights at this hotel. This was my first stay in a hotel since the loss of my husband and the whole atmosphere made me feel very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was immaculate and the breakfast exceptional. I will certainly use this hotel again and hopefully for a longer period next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed one night at the Birkdale Guesthouse to attend a wedding in Southport. My bedroom and bathroom were spotless and very comfortable. I felt welcomed and at the same time had complete privacy. Breakfast was great. The guesthouse is run very professionally and is friendly at the same time. It is also secure inside and you can park your car round the back. The house is also situated in close proximity to Southport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We went up to Southport for my Husband's Cousins 21st Birthday so decided to make it a long weekend break. Having had a look around the Birkdale offered us the best value for money and had excellent reviews. We spoke on the phone and explained that we would have our a 10 month old son with us, so as it was not booked, we were given the disabled room as it would provide greater space, was on the ground floor, plus we could you the disabled spot just outside the door, very handy for all the baby stuff we had! The owners were incredible helpful, welcomming and friendly. The room was lovely, beautifully decorated, clean and there was lots of information about local attractions. The owners were very helpful with directions and providing suggestions as well. The bed was extremely comfortable and we weren't bothered by any noise from the road, even the baby slept well.
The breakfast was incredible, really tasty cooked breakfast, locally sourced meat that was so good we looked to buy some ourselves but only remembered on the way home :S
Would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area, only a short drive to the centre of Southport, or you can catch a train which is only a few pounds and a short walk from the B&B through the lovely village of Birkdale.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were most impressed with our room and the welcome we received. Our breakfast was so good even my husband had the non meat option! Information was at hand when needed. We were able to park the car off road. What more could one ask for. It was as good as a hotel. We would certainly stay again when next in the vicinity.

Jill and Bill Wain

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkdale Guest House

Address: 87 Liverpool Road | Birkdale, Southport PR8 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Hotel Class:4 star — Birkdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Birkdale Guest House, fully refurbished in 2010, we provide a warm welcome and a relaxed and pleasant base for our guests. Get a good night’s sleep in our comfortable king sized or single beds then tuck into a really good freshly cooked full English breakfast. All our rooms have en-suite shower facilities, we provide free wifi and free off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Birkdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing