We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happily recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birkdale Guest House
Ranked #15 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happily recommend!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Have just returned from staying here for 2 nights as we were leaving our daughter to start university in Edge Hill (about 20 minutes away from the B&B).

We were warmly welcomed by John who showed us to our rooms (we had the top floor which had one double room on it & then across a small corridor a twin room which are daughter was in). The ensuite rooms were very clean, comfortable and had tea/coffee and biscuits. John recommended a number of local restaurants to get a bit to eat in - the nice thing was that they were all in walking distance of the B&B. So off we set & had a lovely meal in a place called Gastro (i think!). Really lovely meal, surroundings & very helpful staff - def worth a visit.

Our breakfasts on the two mornings were yum - full english if you wanted & other usual things on the menu.

We were really pleased we found this place - my hubby had initially tried sussing out hotels but I don't think we could have done as well, both price, welcome & rooms were all of a very good standard. Would happily recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaJamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
44
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was our second visit to this Guest House in Southport and have booked a third visit next September 2013.
The welcome is genuine and the beds comfortable. If you enjoy a full English breakfast then this is a treat. The black pudding is a Lancashire delicacy, tried to get Norwegian guests to try some but they missed out.
The Air show is one not to be missed in September and if you wait another 20 years you can visit Preston for the next Preston Guild. Honestly, so much going on, a weekend is not enough.

Room Tip: Room No 1 is designed for disabled people and lots of car parking at the Guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superbadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed here for two nights as I was in the area to photograph a friends wedding. If I am ever in the area again I would not hesitate to re-book a room. The owner of the guest house was friendly, welcoming and very informative. The rooms were of a very high standard. Clean and tidy, plenty of room and most importantly comfortable beds! The choice of food for breakfast was varied, with vegetarian options and of a very good quality. The lounge was also spacious with a good selection of books and leaflets with information about local attractions.

I would definitely recommend a stay here, thank you again for a wonderful two nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is our third stay at this guest house.The service,food and accomodation was excellent.There is plenty of local information for guests and there is off-road car parking with disabled access if required.There is a bus stop outside the guest house and also the excellent Merseyrail service to Southport,Liverpool and Chester.A number of restaurants in Birkdale are available

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony2mayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Spent a night at this guest house on the way down the coast. A beautiful house with onsite parking in the back. We stayed in the family en suite on the top floor which had two separate rooms so our teenaged son could get some privacy during our stay. The owners were extremely welcoming and breakfast was excellent. The house is a few blocks away from Birkdale's city center which is a charming street with great restaurants, coffee shops and bakeries. Southport is a train stop away or you can take a cab for about a quid-fifty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stopped at the Birkdale Guest House for one night as we were riding the Trans Pennine Trail starting in Southport - July 2012.
Perfect location if riding the trail as only 10 mins ride from the front. Could not ask anymore from the lovely couple who run the guest house. They kindly locked our mountain bikes away for the night in a secure room.
The house is immaculate, we had a twin loft room which was perfect, clean, modern, good price ( £75 for twin room which was good considering it was the big golfing weekend in the area ), with shower and toilet.
It was a shame we had to decline the offer of a cooked breakfast the next morning as we did not want to be too full with a days riding ahead, but for breakfast there was everything on offer from cooked, cereal, toast, yogurts etc etc.
This makes a great guesthouse for anyone, families, couples, business or pleasure and you were made to feel welcome from such nice people. Would definitely not hesitate stopping here again if visiting Southport and would not even bother looking elsewhere as it has everything you would want.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Warm, welcoming, clean, comfortable, great breakfast. Friendly hosts. Lovely to have a guest longe as three of us stayed in two separate rooms. Definitely recommended as a place to stay. Would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storminglanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,736 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
457 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
1.7 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkdale Guest House

Property: Birkdale Guest House
Address: 87 Liverpool Road | Birkdale, Southport PR8 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birkdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Birkdale Guest House, fully refurbished in 2010, we provide a warm welcome and a relaxed and pleasant base for our guests. Get a good night’s sleep in our comfortable king sized or single beds then tuck into a really good freshly cooked full English breakfast. All our rooms have en-suite shower facilities, we provide free wifi and free off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Birkdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing