We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand National Weekend - Birkdale Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birkdale Guest House
Ranked #13 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights as a Grand National weekend.
Birkdale guest house is about 11/2 miles from centre of Southport - but had a couple of pubs / restaurants nearby (5 min walk).
We stayed in a ground floor room which was very clean, tidy and nicely decorated with comfy bed. Our friends had a second floor room - which they said was great.
The owners were very friendly and were happy to share local knowledge - and served a great breakfast.
We have already booked to stay again next year !!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which was next door to the guest sitting room. Looks like the other gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thanks very much firstly for taking the time to write the review and for letting us know we are on the right track.
We are a small business but apart from taking a natural interest in helping our guests we base our service on our own expereience of hotels and guesthouses. Hence, cafetiere coffee, showers that have pressure, are clean ( plus a constant supply of hot water), and meat supplied from a local butcher who buys from a free range farmer.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

My son who is a professional golfer and I stayed here in mid March 2013 for a pro comp,everything was spot on, lovely shower room, comfy bed, well appointed and very friendly. Good area, breakfast was excellent....we will be staying again..perfect for future golf comps. We arrived quite late but there was a nice cup of tea awaiting!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do try to maintain a standard and help our guests as much as we can so it's great to hear we succeeded with you and you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for the putting tips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night, rooms are very nice clean and comfortable , the owner was very friendly and helpful, she had thought of everything from the vegetarian option at breakfast down to a nice chocolate on the bed when we arrived. The rooms had a wide choice of tea coffee hot chocolate bottle of water etc , I could not fault anything about this guest house . Finally I'd like to say thank you to the owners .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 on the top floor and found the room very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you very much for your comments anf for taking the time to post them. We try hard to make our guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as we can so it's great to know when our efforts hit the s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very pleasant and accommodating even though I turned up with my brother a day earlier than expected (my fault). However they still found us a room which was very which was just right for us. The owners were very sociable and offered us an abundance of information as to where to go for food, both in Birkdale and Southport. We both opted to stay in Birkdale on both nights and enjoyed food in one of the pubs. The town centre on the Friday and Saturday nights was quite lively but in a laid back way, if that makes sense. Anyway, we enjoyed it and, given the chance, would return for another stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post va review of your stay and please forgive this very late response. We have had a lot of maintainance wirk over the winter and this has caused a lot of disruption. Again thank you and we are pleased you enjoyed the Birkdale Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed at this lovely place the night before I got married and then with my husband on our wedding night. The owners were really helpful and accommodating from arranging to give my mum the keys in the morning while I was busy to providing my bridesmaids with breakfast when they arrived. They even let us use the lounge room as overflow for my family and bridesmaids as we were getting ready to go to the venue. The cooked breakfasts were absolutely gorgeous, fresh local ingredients and a variety of different choices. The room was beautiful with fresh flowers and spotlessly clean. A really comfortable friendly place to stay.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Have just returned from staying here for 2 nights as we were leaving our daughter to start university in Edge Hill (about 20 minutes away from the B&B).

We were warmly welcomed by John who showed us to our rooms (we had the top floor which had one double room on it & then across a small corridor a twin room which are daughter was in). The ensuite rooms were very clean, comfortable and had tea/coffee and biscuits. John recommended a number of local restaurants to get a bit to eat in - the nice thing was that they were all in walking distance of the B&B. So off we set & had a lovely meal in a place called Gastro (i think!). Really lovely meal, surroundings & very helpful staff - def worth a visit.

Our breakfasts on the two mornings were yum - full english if you wanted & other usual things on the menu.

We were really pleased we found this place - my hubby had initially tried sussing out hotels but I don't think we could have done as well, both price, welcome & rooms were all of a very good standard. Would happily recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaJamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was our second visit to this Guest House in Southport and have booked a third visit next September 2013.
The welcome is genuine and the beds comfortable. If you enjoy a full English breakfast then this is a treat. The black pudding is a Lancashire delicacy, tried to get Norwegian guests to try some but they missed out.
The Air show is one not to be missed in September and if you wait another 20 years you can visit Preston for the next Preston Guild. Honestly, so much going on, a weekend is not enough.

Room Tip: Room No 1 is designed for disabled people and lots of car parking at the Guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
735 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkdale Guest House

Address: 87 Liverpool Road | Birkdale, Southport PR8 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Hotel Class:4 star — Birkdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Birkdale Guest House, fully refurbished in 2010, we provide a warm welcome and a relaxed and pleasant base for our guests. Get a good night’s sleep in our comfortable king sized or single beds then tuck into a really good freshly cooked full English breakfast. All our rooms have en-suite shower facilities, we provide free wifi and free off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Birkdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing