We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birkdale Guest House
Ranked #13 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The attention to detail and the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners makes this an excellent place to stay. We had the family suite which was ideal for us and our 2 teenage boys. Rooms are modern, spotless and comfortable. Can't find anything negative to say, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjll0yd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Please forgive this late response and thank you very much for taking the time to let us know you were happy with your stay.
We do take an interest in our guests and a large part of that is the attention to detail. thank you again for staying with us and, apart from our guest house, we are very pleased you liked the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

It is rare these days to find quality of service not here a genuine attention to detail a warm friendly welcome from a lovely couple clean excellent rooms and outstanding breakfast and great conversation to start the day could have stayed all day very uplifting start to the day I shall return thanks

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Englishmustard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We really believe that people are crying out for quality and attention to detail. We try to achieve this by sourcing locally and taking an interest in the requirements of our guests. Thanks very much for your comments. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here a few times and it never disappoints.
The owners are so friendly and can't do enough for you.
Stayed in room 5 on the top floor, lovely room with good facilities.
Breakfast lovely and freshly cooked and you get exactly what you want and how you want it.
Will be making another stay here very soon.
Can't praise it enough

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, doesn't matter which one as would recommend all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186336John_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are delighted that the attention to detail has hit the mark with you and you came back to us. This makes running our guest house a real pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very friendly couple running this lovely, clean place. Nice decor in the comfortable rooms, free WiFi, little touches like chocolates and biscuits and a container to take fresh milk to your room. The breakfast was outstanding, I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg. All in all I felt a bit embarrassed having paid so little for my time there.

Well done to John and Marion, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonobobananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you noted our attention to detail. We feel this is the only way to treat the people who make the choice to stay with us.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Clean! Friendly! Homely! Comfort! Spotless bathrooms! Warm!Simply cannot do enough for you to have a great stay! Dont waste time in a big cold hotel, this place is perfect! Decoration of rooms is modern and calming, fresh coffee packs, tea, fruit teas, hot chocky,quality bickys all in room!:)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluffycollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Firstly, please may I apologise for this very late response after you have taken the time and trouble to write a review of your stay.
We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and we will continue to provide, not only a bed, but an all round service to our very welcome guests. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have stopped here twice, once whilst going on a weekend away with friends and once when visiting the southport air show. Both times this B and B has been fantastic. The owners give you a fantastic welcome, the breakfasts are beautiful, anything you want is available. The rooms are spacious and spotless. Plenty of information around about local attractions, parking at the rear and the use of a lounge if you wish. The owners really make this B and B they have great customer service. Recommend this to anyone, will definitely return when around the area. Fantastic .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us. I know I keep saying this but without your comments we can't make any improvements or know if we are on the right track.
It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay. comments like your's make our job that much more enjoyable.
Thanks again and hopefully you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very friendly hosts, provided us with Southport map and local advice. Very comfortable, well appointed room and good breakfast. Easy to find location (Birkdale) with direct route to Southport Promenade - walking would take 20 minutes. Birkdale village has a variety of shops, coffee shops and restaurants and station to Liverpool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Maja,
thank you for takling the time to review your stay with us. People come to stay with us for all sorts of reasons so we try very hard to provide a comprehensive service which hopefully we deliver in as friendly a way as possible.
Our local butcher will be delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast as he supplies our meat which he gets from a free range pork farm in yorkshire. We are also glad you enjoyed the village as Bikdale,with it's selection of bars and restaurants(not to mention the cheese shop!!), is a true jem.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
735 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkdale Guest House

Address: 87 Liverpool Road | Birkdale, Southport PR8 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Hotel Class:4 star — Birkdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Birkdale Guest House, fully refurbished in 2010, we provide a warm welcome and a relaxed and pleasant base for our guests. Get a good night’s sleep in our comfortable king sized or single beds then tuck into a really good freshly cooked full English breakfast. All our rooms have en-suite shower facilities, we provide free wifi and free off-road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Birkdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing