We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
112
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor off road parking full english a lovely place to stay comfortable rooms stayed here for one night free wifi lovely room breakfast was delicious marion guesthouse hosts facilities rates pounds
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

It is rare these days to find quality of service not here a genuine attention to detail a warm friendly welcome from a lovely couple clean excellent rooms and outstanding breakfast and great conversation to start the day could have stayed all day very uplifting start to the day I shall return thanks

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Englishmustard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We really believe that people are crying out for quality and attention to detail. We try to achieve this by sourcing locally and taking an interest in the requirements of our guests. Thanks very much for your comments. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here a few times and it never disappoints.
The owners are so friendly and can't do enough for you.
Stayed in room 5 on the top floor, lovely room with good facilities.
Breakfast lovely and freshly cooked and you get exactly what you want and how you want it.
Will be making another stay here very soon.
Can't praise it enough

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, doesn't matter which one as would recommend all of them.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186336John_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are delighted that the attention to detail has hit the mark with you and you came back to us. This makes running our guest house a real pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very friendly couple running this lovely, clean place. Nice decor in the comfortable rooms, free WiFi, little touches like chocolates and biscuits and a container to take fresh milk to your room. The breakfast was outstanding, I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg. All in all I felt a bit embarrassed having paid so little for my time there.

Well done to John and Marion, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonobobananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you noted our attention to detail. We feel this is the only way to treat the people who make the choice to stay with us.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Clean! Friendly! Homely! Comfort! Spotless bathrooms! Warm!Simply cannot do enough for you to have a great stay! Dont waste time in a big cold hotel, this place is perfect! Decoration of rooms is modern and calming, fresh coffee packs, tea, fruit teas, hot chocky,quality bickys all in room!:)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluffycollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Firstly, please may I apologise for this very late response after you have taken the time and trouble to write a review of your stay.
We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and we will continue to provide, not only a bed, but an all round service to our very welcome guests. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have stopped here twice, once whilst going on a weekend away with friends and once when visiting the southport air show. Both times this B and B has been fantastic. The owners give you a fantastic welcome, the breakfasts are beautiful, anything you want is available. The rooms are spacious and spotless. Plenty of information around about local attractions, parking at the rear and the use of a lounge if you wish. The owners really make this B and B they have great customer service. Recommend this to anyone, will definitely return when around the area. Fantastic .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale87, Owner at Birkdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us. I know I keep saying this but without your comments we can't make any improvements or know if we are on the right track.
It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay. comments like your's make our job that much more enjoyable.
Thanks again and hopefully you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews