We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK meal, nothing special”

Salvatore's Ristorante
Ranked #25 of 356 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK meal, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Bought a wowcher for £19 for 2 courses plus a glass of wine each for 2 people. Visited Monday 5th May at 1.30pm. A little disappointed with first impressions of place as there were several nicer looking Italian restaurants on Lord Street. Waiter briskly pointed over to a table near the door without seating us personally. It was very draughty when the door was opened and closed. We were handed grubby laminated menus which had seen better days and were quite sticky. A decent selection of starters but only a few in the price range we were allowed to go to £5.95. My husband and I both chose mushroom and bacon in garlic sauce with a little garnish, which was tasty but quite small. For mains, again only a small selection in the £16.95 range so we both chose a chicken breast wrapped in parma ham with a tomato and pepper sauce, chips , peas and carrots. Tasty but not a decent portion and we both felt quite hungry after this. I had the two glasses of wine but the draught lager was cloudy and tasted off. We told the waiter who offered us a bottled lager instead as we noticed another tables lager was also cloudy.
The décor was shabby and tired looking and in need of freshening up .We were treated ok and the main guy was pleasant but I expect better whatever I pay for my meal be it £19 or £50.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    214
    85
    49
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visited Salvatores on Saturday night using a Wowcher discount. Meal was lovely. Two of our party had the black pudding stack and sirloin steak (£2 surcharge) I had chilli beef and Lamb kleftico and my friend had mussels and a pasta dish. Service was super and Salvatore was very friendly. Wine was reasonably priced and good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylajoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
1 review
“lunch time meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

me and my friend janet went for lunch at salvatores it was a last minute thing both never being there before, we both couldn't decide on baguettes or pasta. sal the owner came to take our order who was lovely and very helpful. when he told us the lasagne was homemade our minds where made up. the lasagne was beautiful and the best lasagne I have ever had and the garlic bread was fab not the frozen stuff proper down with garlic olive oil and cheese. the lasagne was so creamy and tomatoey absoutley gorgeous I told sal if they did this as a take away I would take it home. what I liked so much about this fab family Italian restaurant you see everything was being made freshly in the kitchen which I love to see. we are defo going back with our other half sand the kids but specially for ladies who lunch xxxx

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
140 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very Good Once Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions. It is our first choice when we visit Southport from our home in Manchester. We have always been made very welcome and remember it as The Curzon before becoming Salvatore's. We ate from the Sunday Lunch menu this time which provided an adequate choice and good value for money. We would recommend this restaurant to anybody looking for a good food at very reasonable prices in pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely service and food, friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Food was lovely and plentiful- had salmon, with prawns in a parmesan sauce. Nice wine. Friendly staff, good atmosphere. Have booked again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salvatore's Ristorante also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Salvatore's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing