We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Gem!”

The Stamford Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stamford Guest House
Ranked #22 of 39 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Gem!”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Spent three nights here on business. When I arrived, Mark and Eileen, the owners, already knew my name and were so warm and friendly. I was shown to my room, and found it to be very comfortable, clean and well presented.

Breakfast each day was superb, a wide choice, from beans on toast to a full English and gallons of tea, the perfect start to a day of work.

It's in a great location if you're using the Southport Convention Centre, with a lovely little pub (The Victoria) not far away.

If I ever need accomodation in Southport again, I will be back!

Room Tip: Any, none of my party had a problem with their room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    19
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
48
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Had a great weekend in Southport staying at the Stamford , rooms were lovely and clean the breakfast was gorgeous the owners Mark and Eileen were lovely as were the staff ,I would highly recommend staying here .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Eileen and Mark the owners had very kindly donated a family stay to a national charity auction in Southport. Our friends who had won the bid gave it to us as a treat and a treat it was. Our boys loved the family room and breakfast. The whole guest house is clean and tastefully decorated and the staff we met couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming to us and our children.
It is in a great location as well - adjacent to the shops on Lord Street and to the sea. We will book again next time we need an over night stay in Southport. We couldn't fault it.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RSA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

As requested by the Hotel our arrival time was 1400. Duly arrived at that time but no one there, had to ring a mobile number for the owner to let us in.Had a nice bedroom at the front overlooking Bath St.. It was modern and had a 26" flat screen TV. Bathroom was also clean & tidy with nice wall tiles. Shower also clean but it would be a bit tight for larger people. We had booked from the Friday till the Monday and the towels were never changed, had to use damp towels.!! not good with the weekend price approaching £200-00.!! The throw used on the bed was not replaced when the beds were made, just "scrunched up" in the corner.
As stated, our room overlooked Bath St.(some areas of Bath St looked run down) and it was very noisy late at night and in the early hours of the morning.Football chants and loud voices at 0100 and one morning at 0400 there was a "domestic" onthe front lawn next door, loud shouting, screaming and swearing. (Next door were flatlets.) Nothing the hotel could do about this.
On a positive note, the location is very central and the breakfast was excellent. However, due to the various problems it was not a relaxing weekend as it should have been. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Booked to stay for 2 nights, stayed an extra night, cant find a single fault, everything was perfect, room, breki, everything, you couldnt wish to meet nicer people, the owners parents were in charge for the duration of our stay and they are lovely...best cooked breki ever.
You tried the rest, now try the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandei1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Just returned from a lovely stay at The Stamford. This is in a prime location for shopping, restaurants, theatre & the Promenade. All only a few minutes walk away. After talking to Eileen & Mark, the very hospitable hosts & owners, I realised The Stamford is only 18mths old. This explains why everything is modern & gleaming! The bedrooms are more suited to a London luxury boutique hotel. Flat screen t.v's, modern en-suites, beautiful decor & tea/coffee. Breakfasts to die for. All cooked by Mark & served by Eileen or her family. So the service is spot on! Car park at hotel. Parked outside, checked in, fell in love with bedroom, opened a bottle of champagne we had taken, all within 10 mins, our perfect weekend had started. Have re-booked for Easter weekend!

Room Tip: Perfect place to stay. Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfunEngland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Very modern clean rooms, beautiful bathrooms with power shower. Great breakfast each morning which included fruit and yogurts followed by a grill. We had a large flat screen tv in the room but could also watch huge tv in guest loung which was very nice with a wood burning fire very cosy. Had a few glasses of wine from the honesty bar, really convenient as you just sign your room number and put down what you have had. Will not be going anywhere else when visiting southport or Liverpool.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.0 mi away
Clifton Villa Hotel
Clifton Villa Hotel
#7 of 39 in Southport
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andora Hotel
Andora Hotel
#9 of 39 in Southport
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edendale House
Edendale House
#16 of 39 in Southport
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adelphi Guest House
Adelphi Guest House
#18 of 39 in Southport
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Warwick
The Warwick
#17 of 39 in Southport
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vale House
Vale House
#4 of 39 in Southport
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Guest House

Property: The Stamford Guest House
Address: 17 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stamford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Stamford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing