We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will definitely go back to this b & b”

The Stamford Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stamford Guest House
Ranked #22 of 38 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“I will definitely go back to this b & b”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As a single lady I was very well looked after by the owners, they were attentive and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms were spotless with modern decor, shower was hot and worked well.

I would definitely return.

ST.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraturner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    19
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
48
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just returned from a weekend away & couldn't wait to write this review.... Fabulous all round, the room, the service & the food.... We had room 6 which included a lovely kingsize comfortable bed, lovely decor & a beautiful bathroom. The owners were wonderful from the moment we arrived & even before as my partner had asked if they could get some Thorntons chocolates in our room on arrival .......... happily sorted. The lovely lounge was a pleasure to sit & relax in after a morning exploring Southport.... Equally the breakfast room was lovely with a fantastic freshly cooked to order breakfast (locally sourced) including cereals, juice & unlimited tea/coffee & toast. We will most definately return here without even considering any other guesthouse.
Many thanks for your kind hospitality. :-) :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belle1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the stamford in november last year for the weekend and are returning on the 14th february for another weekend. Mark and Eileen made you feel like one of the family very welcoming, rooms were spotlessly clean and very modern, the breakfast was lovely made from local produce and plenty of it. I would recommend the lovely bay windowed room at the front, perfect to sit and have a drink while getting ready for a night out and just watch the world go by. Can't fault anything! Look forward to seeing you both soon. xx

Room Tip: The lovely bay windowed at the front! Perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stopped here for only one night but what wonderful accommodation it is. Both Mark & Eileen were very welcoming and both very friendly people. The rooms were very stylish and modern but probably more importantly, very clean and the bed was very comfy! The following morning we had the breakfast which was lovely and lots of choice with cereals, fruit etc on offer before a full English and as much toast, tea or coffee as you like. (the local sausages were beautiful). Overall, a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely stay again in the future. A massive thank you to Mark & Eileen for making our stay so pleasant.
Kind regards
Dave & Rowena

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

3 of us stayed for our golfing weekend, Friday to Sunday. Excellent base for golfing around Southport and for a couple of nights out. We had a twin and double room, facilities were just right for 3 lads, although the full English breakfast could do with some black pudding :)
Owners were great, even arranging for us to have a later breakfast on the Sunday after our Saturday night in the town.
Highly recommended and would return for further golfing trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieren75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A lovely modern B&B with excellent location very close to the pier and just off of the high street. Wonderful family run place and very helpful and accommodating. Breakfasts was just right and very tasty. Ticked all of our boxes for a great stay. Would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week for 4 nights with our 17 month old girl and it was perfect for us. We arrived quite late on the Monday but we were greeted by the owner's son who gave us our key and showed us to our room. The room was a good size for the 3 of us and they'd set up a travel cot in the room for the wee one. The room was very tastefully decorated (as was the whole place) and the bed was comfortable. There was a large TV on the wall, which came in handy for relaxing with a glass of wine at night. My only slight grumble was that there wasn't a bath in the room, which made bathing our wee one tricky (she hates the shower!!) but I was kind of expecting there only to be a shower anyway so it wasn't a big deal. I have to give a special mention to the cooked breakfasts as they were superb! I ended up having one every morning, which I wouldn't normally do. But they were cooked to perfection every time. They also cooked eggs specially for our wee one. The family of staff were very nice and helpful while being respectful of our privacy. They did everything they could to allow us to make sure our daughter had everything she needed. The location of the B&B was perfect, within walking distance of Pleasureland, Lord Street, the train station, the promenade and the pier. I'd highly recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Southport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueborndjross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Edendale House
Edendale House
#16 of 38 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Metro
The Metro
#10 of 38 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Warwick
The Warwick
#17 of 38 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Maitre
Le Maitre
#6 of 38 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Vale House
Vale House
#3 of 38 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Guest House

Property: The Stamford Guest House
Address: 17 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stamford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stamford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing