We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linda & Gavin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Norwood Guest House
Ranked #13 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Linda & Gavin”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This truly lived up to the fantastic reviews.Richard and Valentina were the perfect hosts.Spotlessly clean,lovely breakfast and personnel touches just made it a super weekend break.Would highly recommend and we will definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuddlybearHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
67
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This bed and breakfast deserves all the praise it gets. Richard and Valentina provided a perfect example of how a Guest House should be. They were attentive and always willing to help during our stay. There are so many personal touches that set this Guest House high above any other and was a real highlight of our visit to Southport. A couple of friends were also staying in a nearby B&B and also a major chain Hotel and we BY FAR had the better stay. The breakfast was brilliant and the location was great with car parking available. The room was extremely clean and tidy whilst the bed was very comfy. You really can't ask for anything more! Fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A warm, friendly welcome by Valentina included afternoon tea and cake! What a lovely start to our weekend in Southport. The hotel is situated close to the centre in a quiet location. We were shown to our twin-bedded room which was clean, fresh and spacious with very comfortable beds. The en-suite shower room, which looked new, was spotlessly clean..A good selection of food was offered at breakfast time, including prepared fresh fruit. The cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection. Everything was of very high standard and well presented. All the finishing touches and attention to detail made this a very pleasurable stay. If it's quality you're looking for you will not be disappointed. We can highly recommend this homely accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 156kathrynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very clean & tidy, driveway car parking availability,excellent breakfast with plenty of choice, within easy walking distance to town centre for shops etc. etc.Guest house owners Richard & Valentina are kind & friendly. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinETJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We are two mates travelling on a golfing holiday through the UK. When we arrived, Valentina and Richard greeted us with a very welcoming demeanour.
The rooms were a good size and,more importantly,spotlessly clean. Valentina's touch was to be found everywhere. We both felt at home. The food was really good and plentiful.
Every night the bed covers were turned down, and every morning, the beds were made up and the room was cleaned.
Richard was very helpful with dining and shopping suggestions, and arranged a game of golf for us at his club. Wonderful.
Would I stay there again? Absolutely! Would I recommend The Norwood Guest House to my friends? Without hesitation.
Thank you Valentina and Richard for a really comfortable and enjoyable 3 nights..

Room Tip: The rooms we had were 6 & 7. Both very quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiedafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at The Norwood on Saturday 6th July 2013 whilst attending a friends wedding.. Although not the cheapest option in Southport (£70 for a Double room) it was well worth paying that little bit extra. Upon arriving we were met by Richard, who was very apologetic that he only had a Double Room free for us ( 2 fella`s) but this was more than suitable as we are a married gay couple :-) After a small period of embarrassment, we were shown to our room and briefed regarding our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in Room 4, the bed was very comfortable and the room very clean from top to bottom. Bathroom was also very clean, had a shower, toilet etc - just one little quibble, was that the sink basin was too small and when shaving, the water went everywhere, but I suppose a larger basin just wouldnt look right in what was a smaller than average bathroom. One lovely bonus was that when we arrived back to our room that evening, our clothes that had been thrown on the bed in the rush to change for the wedding, had been hung up in the wardrobe and our travel bags placed away- A lovely touch.
Now the best bit....the breakfast was amazing! Aside from the lovely ambient relaxing music playing in the background at breakfast, and the perfect decor, the food was just exquisite. Lovely poached eggs, nice selection of fruit, jams, cereal, bacon, sausage....Hmm, I could eat it all again right now!
Valentina was also very sweet, and very attentive to our needs. Nothing was too much trouble.
Richard even apologised for any embarrassment caused when we arrived regarding the Double Room situation. Trust me Richard, it happens all the time and was not a problem.
Finally we just wanted to thank you both for such a lovely stay. We would definately return again without hesitation, and would certainly recommend to others visiting Southport. You made our visit very welcoming, which other establishments would do well to emulate. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nukleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Have stayed here 3 times now and would never chose anywhere else to stay in Southport when visiting.

Richard and Valentina couldn't do anymore to make your feel welcome. The B&B is spotless and in a great location for Southport local amenities. We have stayed in 2 of the rooms over our 3 stays and both are spacious with en-suite bathroom and very comfortable beds. Breakfast is lovely with a chose of fresh fruit and cereal and cooked breakfast at a time that suits each guest. The first time we stayed my other half didn't make it down to breakfast and so I was given a bacon sandwich to take up to him.

Having tea and cake in the afternoon if about is also a great bonus treat, thanks to Richard and his baking skills.

Would recommend anyone to stay here, and we will be returning again next year for our annual weekend in Southport

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTM_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dukes Folly Hotel
Dukes Folly Hotel
#9 of 23 in Southport
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 23 in Southport
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwood Guest House

Property: The Norwood Guest House
Address: 62 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Guest House situated between Lord Street and the Promenade close to the centre of Southport. All our rooms are individually appointed with en-suite shower rooms and most include a lounge area within the room. We have a ground floor room for those who have retired from climbing stairs. As this area is known as the English Golf Coast we are keen to arrange golf breaks for any of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Norwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing