We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Norwood Guest House
Ranked #11 of 39 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top notch guest house”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Norwood for one night on the 2nd of November while we where going to a concert at the Southport Theatre .This is probably the cleanest guest house I have ever stayed in the rooms are spacious and well decorated . Richard the host was most welcoming and greeted us with a cup of coffee and a slice of cake on arrival which I thought was a nice touch , the breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful which lots of choice , the hotel is in a excellent location not to far from the centre but quiet enough to get a good night sleep and plenty car parking space which is a big plus .Would highly recommend this guest house and would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
67
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here on a short visit to Southport and it was fabulous!
We were welcomed by the owners who were very pleasant and couldn't have done more to help!
We were showed to our room and were given our breakfast card to fill in and were shown where extra tea and coffee etc. were available if we needed more.
The room was also fantastic - very clean and the decor was very clean and comforting. We had little bottles of water by our beds and a little quality street sweet. The TV in the room was a little small but fine for what we needed it for. The beds were possibly the most comfiest beds I have ever slept in!
Breakfast the next day was perfect, very efficient and the layout was lovely.
When we left, the owners again were so helpful and waved us off.
I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone visiting Southport and I will definitely be back on my next visit!
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltheworld503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We traveled to Southport Friday 18th October 2013 leaving home at 9.00am, after picking up three friends at Southampton we drove the 280 miles to Southport. On arrival at The Norwood at approx 6.30pm we were welcomed and offered refreshments. As we were late arriving and needed to go to the "Southport Theatre and Convention Centre" where the Aglow Conference entitaled "Open Heaven" was held we quickley left the Norwood Guest House. We were asked to fill in a registation form and also tick list for our cooked breakfast.
When we returned at approx 11.00pm we found our room with the curtains pulled, the two bedside lights switched on, the central heating on and a roses chocolate by each of the twin beds. The room was nicely decorated with pictures of animals and birds on each of the walls. By the kettle was four ginger biscuits along with the normal tea bags, coffee, sugar and milk satchets. Our beds were very comfortable and we slept like logs. For breakfast we were invited to help ourselves to a variety of cereals as well as apple or orange joice, yogurt, freshly prepared friut of pineapple, melon, sliced plum, sliced peaches and strawberries. Our cooked breakfast was very nicely cooked followed by hot toast wrapped in a cloth to keep warm. We had booked in for three nights and when we left we all said this was one of the best places in Southport that we had stayed at.

Room Tip: There was a twin bedroom on the ground floor, ideal for disabled people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 963PeterP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This truly lived up to the fantastic reviews.Richard and Valentina were the perfect hosts.Spotlessly clean,lovely breakfast and personnel touches just made it a super weekend break.Would highly recommend and we will definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuddlybearHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This bed and breakfast deserves all the praise it gets. Richard and Valentina provided a perfect example of how a Guest House should be. They were attentive and always willing to help during our stay. There are so many personal touches that set this Guest House high above any other and was a real highlight of our visit to Southport. A couple of friends were also staying in a nearby B&B and also a major chain Hotel and we BY FAR had the better stay. The breakfast was brilliant and the location was great with car parking available. The room was extremely clean and tidy whilst the bed was very comfy. You really can't ask for anything more! Fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A warm, friendly welcome by Valentina included afternoon tea and cake! What a lovely start to our weekend in Southport. The hotel is situated close to the centre in a quiet location. We were shown to our twin-bedded room which was clean, fresh and spacious with very comfortable beds. The en-suite shower room, which looked new, was spotlessly clean..A good selection of food was offered at breakfast time, including prepared fresh fruit. The cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection. Everything was of very high standard and well presented. All the finishing touches and attention to detail made this a very pleasurable stay. If it's quality you're looking for you will not be disappointed. We can highly recommend this homely accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 156kathrynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very clean & tidy, driveway car parking availability,excellent breakfast with plenty of choice, within easy walking distance to town centre for shops etc. etc.Guest house owners Richard & Valentina are kind & friendly. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinETJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,876 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dukes Folly Hotel
Dukes Folly Hotel
#9 of 23 in Southport
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 23 in Southport
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwood Guest House

Property: The Norwood Guest House
Address: 62 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Guest House situated between Lord Street and the Promenade close to the centre of Southport. All our rooms are individually appointed with en-suite shower rooms and most include a lounge area within the room. We have a ground floor room for those who have retired from climbing stairs. As this area is known as the English Golf Coast we are keen to arrange golf breaks for any of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Norwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing