We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great caravan, shame about park.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Holiday Park
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great caravan, shame about park.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Husband and myself went 2nd september to 6th september, when we drove in the park i was hoping we had got the wrong site because the entrance was not very inviting and tired.

The caravan was a 6 berth and was clean and tidy. Walked into the club rm that night and to say it needs decorating and a re-fit was an understatement, all i can say is thank god the drinks were buy 1 get 1 free thats all i can say, but that still didnt help us stay all night, so we left at 10.

Not a place for a family of kids, not enough for them to do unless you go off camp..Alot!!.
The camp cafe opened at 8.30am but closed at 2 and didnt re-open. The shop was basic, so make sure you dont need anything important.
Southport town was lovely. The pleasure beach was only open on a wkend though.
Will not be staying at anymore of their parks if they are all like riverside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    96
    76
    46
    71
See reviews for
233
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend for 5 nights before moving on to the lakes. Pitch was a reasonable size with all amenities close by. Shop seemed well stocked and the breakfast in the café was lovely. Agree with people about noise in the evening and I think there should be more than one warden for a site this size but the place seemed secure. Its not the fanciest site in the world but for the money it seemed good value. Southport was a nice town although didn't think much of the beach, more of a mud bath than golden sands!!. What made the stay for us was the kids club and entertainment. We have two kids who took part in football, tennis and a number of other sports. The guy who ran them (think his name was Steve??) had loads of kids and they all seemed to really enjoy it, he had loads of time for them and encouraged others to get involved. Under 6's needed an adult to stay with them but the older ones could come and go as they pleased if you were happy for the to do so, which as the site felt quite safe we were happy for our 9 year old to do this. We don't like to dump our kids but they made some nice friends and were asking us to go back each day which is always a good sign.
The entertainment in the evening was better than expected. The kids enjoyed the kids hour, Gemma in particular did a great job in keeping them all entertained. I thought that some of the shows by the team were better than the outside singer they brought in, with Gemma again stealing the show with a fantastic voice. Tom was a good laugh but could do with learning his lines!!! His humour onstage though made him hard not to like. They do need some bar staff though as the queues at times were ridiculous.
Overall for the price I thought Riverside was really good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I would like to firstly take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are very glad you and your family enjoyed the kids club and the activities that where provided. Thank you again and we hope to see you and your family here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 night in a caravan. Just under £100 for 3 nights, so not cheap compared to other sites.

Im a caravan club member and visiting this site had reminded me to stay with caravan club sites to be blunt.

We stayed on a standard pitch (other pitches being tents, and super pitches). Pitch markings are terrible and with poor markings and distances between pitches are not even, we couldnt even put the awning up because we had no space (i was offered other pitches but there where no better).

The power socket was held together by insulation tape. The drinking water point was poorly marked out, just a tap attached to wooden frame.

Waste water drains where the worst i've seen, basically a hole in the ground for grey water and chemical waste went into an outside toilet that stunk. Terrible.

The toilets (pre fab building next to dog walk) felt like they where in the outback, moths, fly's, daddy long legs, spiders, webs,...you get the point. Not clean either, my wife said the womens was bad too.

The shop was ok, had a decent amount of essentials.

Amusements where good, plenty there.

Bar was typical of 70's function room.

Dog walk was decent enough but picking your dogs waste up wasnt enforced enough, you where constantly dodging mess.

I read reviews of council estate and Jeremy kyle and it did have that feel on the touring side.

Plus points.....well, the girls on the reception where pleasant enough.

The static side is leaps and bounds ahead of the touring side, are they under different management???

Room Tip: Join the caravan club instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadgeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Where do I start? With the bar that smells of stale wee? Or the miserable staff that would go out of their way to be unhelpful & unwashed (apart from blonde girl in reception, she was very friendly)? Or maybe the broken amusements, the road running through kids play area, the amount of caravans looking abandoned and overrun with weeds. What about the pool? If you don't book you don't get in no matter how quiet, only 1 45min session a day, Staff ignored the kids in the hot tub, the changing room was dark & due to dirty nappies spilling out of bins (1st session of the day) very smelly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasbradmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I would just like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on our park and want to let you know all of your observations are very much valued. I can not apologise enough about the experience in which you and your family had. The reason why we have the booking system in the pool is due to health and safety, as we are not able to allow more that 30 in per session. We are also currently in the process of acquiring planning permission for a brand new entertainment area, with new bar and family room this is the reason why the bar has not yet been updated at present. I would like to apologise again for the issues you where faced with here at Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ok before we booked this place we didnt read the reviews and when we did we were nervous on arrival.we had read some bad reviews and some good and thinking negatively we thought the good reviews were probably wrote by the staff or somebody looking after their interests.This is what we came across,The site was busier than we anticipated but no problem everyone friendly,The shower block was clean and had eight showers in ladies,The clubhouse was great with two staff and no long queue to be served also the clubhouse,clubhouse shop was very reasonable for kids toys.The changing rooms in the swimming pool were not like we had read, in the gents about 5 separate showers large toilets and plenty of lockers great pool,people have wrote about it been dark but it was just the staff had forgot to turn the lights on at times.(easy mistake when you have rotating staff)
We didnt find any machines in the arcade broken,We read reviews about stuff been stolen so i purposely left stuff out,but nothing was lifted.
Took my daughter to the playground it was fine no swearing or bullying.
Ok so this was my review,it looks like i have bigged this place up massive,it might be different for somone else but the only reason i have done this review is because of all the bad reviews ive read,For what we paid it was just fine,yes ive stayed at more scenic sites and parks,but i think some of these people writing the reviews are expecting the Ritz.We will be going again
soon,I think people need to realise its nice to be nice,and they might have better stay,
And yeah i wasnt gona say this but yeah (tom was Great)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calvin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned today from a long bank holiday weekend camping here. We booked the break approx 10 days ago & as the site is only 30ish miles away from home thought we'd risk it! I'd read some awful reviews on here & if I'm honest was a little worried!!! I shouldn't have been! As a family with 2 young girls, 5 & 6, we have visited many similar sites to this; sites belonging to big named companies & had no better/worse an experience.

We stayed on an electric tent site & requested a site close to amenities etc as the children occasionally need the loo in the middle of the night etc. we had a brilliant spot & were surrounded by lovely, friendly, tidy, understanding people. In fact the large family alongside us had visited annually here 4 times! We also had the playground area visible from our tent which gave our girls lots of freedom & us a little bit more relaxing!

The toilet/shower block was always clean, with hot water, full soap & loo roll every visit. My only criticism is that everything is quite high up - the sinks, loo roll, the children couldn't reach the soap or press the tap down to wash their hands, maybe a few of the children's steps would be helpful? Of course during busy times there started to appear bits of grass/mud & scraps of loo roll on the floor but nothing that hurt & wasn't cleaned away by our next 'visit'.

The staff were all very polite, happy, helpful & informative. We didn't take part in any day time activities but the ones we saw taking place seemed very successful. The entertainment staff were very enthusiastic & talented. Our girls loved them & 'tom wearing high heels'!!! The kids disco started at 8 but we arrived approx 7.30 to get a table & had no problems - although it's a tight squeeze if your on a central table as once your in your not getting out again! At 5 months pregnant I still managed to get in & out though, it's more the children that bang their heads trying to get through!

We had fabulous weather & made the most of Southport, the grassy outdoors & the pool. All great! Quite what some people expect from these sites I don't understand! Our whole holiday cost £95! Bargain! We will definitely return & bring family with us too next time :)

Room Tip: Don't go to a caravan/camp site expecting 5star accommodation & facilities! This site is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The site itself is run down, and needs attention, the bar/club house makes phoenix nights look sophisticated ( I am a vault dweller). As we drove along the road to the campsite the main sign at the side of the road with the campsite name on looked really welcoming but as soon as we turned into the campsite, it looked very rough and dirty. Pitches are small and not properly marked. The toilets are dirty and washing up area is too small with large ques. The pool was good, clean and an asset to the campsite( the swimming baths didn't seem to relate to the campsite itself as there is a massive disparity in quality etc). At night is was noisy with campers often being very loud and abusive with arguments in the middle of the night. We visited a campsite down South earlier on in the summer and paid less per night for better facilities and better kept premises in the middle of a lovely village, based on an old farm premises. This was like paying for a ticket at the Opera and it turns out to the X Factor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Holiday Park

Property: Riverside Holiday Park
Address: Southport New Road, Southport PR9 8D, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Riverside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Touring And Holiday Park
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing