We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good little break for half term week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good little break for half term week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We (My partner, daughter and I) stayed here for 4 nights in a Gold Caravan. We can not say anything bad about our experience. The caravan we stayed in was immaculate, spacious and very comfortable. My 2 year old daughter loved the comfort of her bed and bedroom that we couldn't get her out of it! All the kitchen facilities were very clean, looked new, and worked perfectly. The caravans also had central heating, gas fire that when on during cold days and nights, warmed the place up wonderfully (and this was inclusive in the price). If I was to be REALLY picky, Id say the entertainment was very repetitive in the family room BUT, the entertainers did put on a good show, and were really entertaining. The café and shop are superb and not over pricey, but just right (especially the shop)....but again, if I was to be picky, it just wasn't open long enough. The swimming pool was adequate and our daughter enjoyed this....and the previous reviews that the changing rooms were dirty are incorrect.....in fact, the changing rooms and toilets appear to be brand new. The onsite play area is adequate enough as well and had our daughter entertained for hours, and lastly there is a regular bus (47/48A) that takes you into Liverpool and Southport which stops at the complex, so we took our daughter into Southport for the day. We enjoyed our little break that much, that we are going back again in the summer of 2014...and what was brilliant also was the fact that if you booked for it as you checked out for next year, Harrison Holidays give you 20% discount (an added incentive). Karen the reception manageress was extremely helpful :) if I can add pictures at a later date, as I don't currently have my camera with me, I will, as proof of the wonderful experience we had at Riverside Caravan Park (Southport)

Room Tip: In all honesty, I can only say book a Gold caravan, because we have experienced them, and they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    94
    75
    45
    71
See reviews for
229
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I had expected the worse from the site after reading comments left on here and had actually called and asked to be moved to a different site...Im really glad we werent as the site was one of the nicest i have stayed on and iv stayed on loads...The caraven was immaculate,,,other than tired coverings on the seating area..but in faitness we had a 3 year old and 1 year old so spills were gonna be imminenet so we didnt mind ...the wee extras of loo roll and a tea towel were nice touch..the park was immaculate and had a lovley wee river with ducks and my grandchildren loved that...As did i it has to be said..We took a nosey at the shower rooms in the camp sites and again they were spotless..cant see what the moaning was about,,I will say this though,,its not the park staff that mess these areas up its the folk that use them..so maybe keeping a tighter rain on the kids that visit would be an idea..
The swimming was a tad grotty though..broken tiles. jacuzzie was filled with grimy water that i wouldnt have put a dog in..over all the activities were not anything to write home about but we were more than happy to take the kids on day trips so we didnt mind in the least..
Id recommend as long as you are looking for a quiet and serene break...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillianfAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned today from a 3 night break at Riverside Southport. Not as bad as the reveiws i had read. Caravan was spotlessly clean and had everything that was needed. The park and Plots are all kept in good order. Mainly private owners on there who take alot of time and effort in doing this. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. But oh dear !!! Come on Rivserside get into the 21st century. The club house and lounge bar are very 1970's very very dated and shabby in everyway and what a shame about the reception building ( first impressions Riverside !!! )
The cafe was shut due to a problem of some sort all weekend. And it was hit and miss if the shop opened or not depended on how busy it was apparrantly !!! Good base to stay though for the attractions May revisit if it gets a make over.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Riverside on 24th August for 7 nights. Although the entrance has been criticised I don’t think it was as bad as many have made out.
The staff in reception were always helpful and friendly throughout our stay and could not do enough for you.
I came here with my husband and 2 children aged 10 and 7. We stayed in a static caravan which was beautiful.
It was spotlessly clean as was the outside surrounding areas.
The play area was on the touring side over the river and it was very loud and busy there, but it was a bank holiday weekend.
It did seem quiet rough on that side so we did not go to the play area after the first day, which was a shame.
The laundry was clean and quiet reasonable and met a lot of friendly people in there.
The pool was nice but you have to book swimming slots in advance so as they do not exceed 40 people in at a time which I think is a good idea.
The girls on reception at the pool were lovely and helpful but the young guys were not, it was as if anything was too much trouble for them.
We did not use the club house so cannot comment on that, but the staff in the shop were nice.
Overall would stay here again as it’s about a 10 minute drive from Southport and a great touring base.
Shelle B

Room Tip: If in a pitch choose the superior pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Husband and myself went 2nd september to 6th september, when we drove in the park i was hoping we had got the wrong site because the entrance was not very inviting and tired.

The caravan was a 6 berth and was clean and tidy. Walked into the club rm that night and to say it needs decorating and a re-fit was an understatement, all i can say is thank god the drinks were buy 1 get 1 free thats all i can say, but that still didnt help us stay all night, so we left at 10.

Not a place for a family of kids, not enough for them to do unless you go off camp..Alot!!.
The camp cafe opened at 8.30am but closed at 2 and didnt re-open. The shop was basic, so make sure you dont need anything important.
Southport town was lovely. The pleasure beach was only open on a wkend though.
Will not be staying at anymore of their parks if they are all like riverside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend for 5 nights before moving on to the lakes. Pitch was a reasonable size with all amenities close by. Shop seemed well stocked and the breakfast in the café was lovely. Agree with people about noise in the evening and I think there should be more than one warden for a site this size but the place seemed secure. Its not the fanciest site in the world but for the money it seemed good value. Southport was a nice town although didn't think much of the beach, more of a mud bath than golden sands!!. What made the stay for us was the kids club and entertainment. We have two kids who took part in football, tennis and a number of other sports. The guy who ran them (think his name was Steve??) had loads of kids and they all seemed to really enjoy it, he had loads of time for them and encouraged others to get involved. Under 6's needed an adult to stay with them but the older ones could come and go as they pleased if you were happy for the to do so, which as the site felt quite safe we were happy for our 9 year old to do this. We don't like to dump our kids but they made some nice friends and were asking us to go back each day which is always a good sign.
The entertainment in the evening was better than expected. The kids enjoyed the kids hour, Gemma in particular did a great job in keeping them all entertained. I thought that some of the shows by the team were better than the outside singer they brought in, with Gemma again stealing the show with a fantastic voice. Tom was a good laugh but could do with learning his lines!!! His humour onstage though made him hard not to like. They do need some bar staff though as the queues at times were ridiculous.
Overall for the price I thought Riverside was really good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Touring & Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I would like to firstly take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are very glad you and your family enjoyed the kids club and the activities that where provided. Thank you again and we hope to see you and your family here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 night in a caravan. Just under £100 for 3 nights, so not cheap compared to other sites.

Im a caravan club member and visiting this site had reminded me to stay with caravan club sites to be blunt.

We stayed on a standard pitch (other pitches being tents, and super pitches). Pitch markings are terrible and with poor markings and distances between pitches are not even, we couldnt even put the awning up because we had no space (i was offered other pitches but there where no better).

The power socket was held together by insulation tape. The drinking water point was poorly marked out, just a tap attached to wooden frame.

Waste water drains where the worst i've seen, basically a hole in the ground for grey water and chemical waste went into an outside toilet that stunk. Terrible.

The toilets (pre fab building next to dog walk) felt like they where in the outback, moths, fly's, daddy long legs, spiders, webs,...you get the point. Not clean either, my wife said the womens was bad too.

The shop was ok, had a decent amount of essentials.

Amusements where good, plenty there.

Bar was typical of 70's function room.

Dog walk was decent enough but picking your dogs waste up wasnt enforced enough, you where constantly dodging mess.

I read reviews of council estate and Jeremy kyle and it did have that feel on the touring side.

Plus points.....well, the girls on the reception where pleasant enough.

The static side is leaps and bounds ahead of the touring side, are they under different management???

Room Tip: Join the caravan club instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadgeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Touring & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Touring & Holiday Park

Property: Riverside Touring & Holiday Park
Address: Southport New Road, Southport PR9 8D, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Riverside Touring & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Touring And Holiday Park
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing