We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Holiday Park
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here with my children over the bank holiday weekend the caravan was clean and comfortable as I was on holiday didn't want to cook so took advantage of the new eating facilities, the food was excellent all cooked fresh and piping hot. the breakfast was all freshly cooked, and Sunday dinner was 2 for £10.00 which I thought was a bargain, the children really enjoyed the night life especially the children entertainer on the Sunday I would really recommend the riverside for a family holiday

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that you can see the improvements that we are making.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just got back after staying in a static caravan for the weekend and thought it was brilliant. A great indoor pool complete with a baby pool and also a hot tub, sauna and steam room all included in the price. There is a children's play area and nice walks with lots of wildlife and Southport is only about 10 minutes away which has been much improved since our last visit there. A great caravan park for a family break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments - glad that you enjoyed your holiday at our Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A very bizarre place. We went in our touring caravan. The entrance to the site is in some run down industrial estate. We were on a grass pitch, reasonable size and flat. Tons of feral children running round swearing and shouting. The toilets weren't up to much. One morning there was vomit all over the floor. The club house was reasonably clean and to be fair the children's entertainer was good; enthusiastic and jolly (unlike most of the other staff!). The campsite entrance clearly has a brown sign showing they accept tents as well as caravans. We asked if it would be ok for some friends to join us on our pitch in their small tent; there was plenty of room as we did not have an awning up. We were told tents were not allowed under any circumstances. This was despite there being other people on the caravan fields clearly having tents text to their vans that they were using instead of awnings. Also quite a few pop up tents dotted about. If they don't accept tents they should not have a brown sign saying they do! Maybe we shouldn't should not gave been honest and asked and just done what others did and stick them up anyway.
Quite expensive too £35 a night for a pitch with electric and no awning.

I never leave bad reviews but this place is a shocker. It was like going on holiday to a large council estate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank princesselainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are going through a period of change. The reception is moving to the sales office, so that we can make way for an improved entrance etc.. to the park. The reception should have moved for this season, however this has been delayed and we cannot move part way through a season.

We have stopped taking tents this season and the only tents we have on the site are honoured bookings from last year. We are currently trying to get the brown signs removed.

Our prices do include the cost of an awning. Should you wish to visit in June we have a 50% reduction off the prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We hired a static caravan as accommodation while attending the Steam and Vintage Rally. The caravan was roomy, well equipped and clean. As a silver caravan, there was no central heating so everything felt a bit damp. The bed was comfortable but the pillows smelled awful, a cross between damp and vinegar.
The site has a shop but we found it expensive, Also, there is no cash point and the shop doesn't accept card payments.
While renting a static here is perfect for us while attending the rally, I wouldn't use it for a holiday break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your comments - I am sorry that you had a problem with the pillows. If you have any problems during your stay you should contact the park reception or the wardens outside of office hours.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our family visited in april 2014, we had visited last year and found the site not perfect but ok compared to other self catering holiday parks in the area.
This time caravan was good and clean, as was the last , the road system around the caravans is narrow and the caravans close together, the road outside the barrier close to the reception and shop is dangerous as you have to cross on a blind bend and with young children you need to be careful.
The shop is small and warm I imagine the chocolates will be partly melted ,the new restaurant is 75% nice, let down by streaky windows ( just need cleaning properly), old big box tv,s mounted on walls , collecting dust and some not working,( would look much better with flat screens ) and generally keeping the carpet cleaned.
I booked the swimming as requested by reception , however when I turned up at the arranged time the swimming was closed, I checked with the reception and they told me that they had gone home early today leaving my little girl very disappointed, so if you do book a time for swimming don't expect them to be open when arranged.
Now even though we accepted these points and realised it was not perfect we were still willing to rebook for next year at this park due to the lack of good self catering accommodation for families in southport and because they had a good offer to rebook.
We tried to arrange this and rebook for next april and we were told that prices for next year are not available and they aren't taking bookings till the end of this year.

Can this all be happening , does any one in charge know whats occurring ?

Someone here needs to take a look at whats going on if you want customers returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

I would like to thank you for your comments. We are going through a transitional period and the points you have raised are being addressed. A new extended family bar is planned for next season as well as the reception and road layout being redeveloped.

If you would like to book for next year please contact the Park and ask for Karen and this can be arranged for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The place was terrible,I've seen better toilet blocks on building site's,they were dirty tiles missing on floors and walls .there was nothing on at night except karaoke ,the only thing good was we had a good size plot for our tent,except they are not doing tents anymore but I wouldn't return that site again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank tiggeromrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I am sorry that the park did not offer everything that you were expecting. We are making improvements to the entrance to the park and we are having a new reception built at the sales office. This will be ready for next season. I am sure that you would have enjoyed the swimming pool. The swimming pool building also offers a sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very disappointed just done a Easter break Thursday-Monday. The website is very clever it shows great images with no links showing what it's really like. It states FREE Wifi and the reason they put that is because they haven't actually got any. We booked a super pitch but there certainly was nothing super about it. It was a good job we took our waste master because the drains are on an uphill. The pitch is just dusty gravel that you will struggle to get off. The toilets and bins were disgusting never cleaned or emptied. We even saw someone emptying their chemical waste in the shower blocks. The swimming pool is horrendous and again disgusting there was no life guard or any staff around at all. And as for entertainment I would rather stay around the
caravan. They say it's a five star never it's about a three. This has now put us off trying any other Harrison sites.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LANLEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your break. We do have offer free WiFi in the bar area, however they had a technical problem with this during your visit. We have employed more maintenance, housekeepers and a lifeguard since your visit.

Please contact the park and ask for the Holiday Manager should you wish to visit the park again and see the improvements that have been made since April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,172 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
739 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 23 in Southport
149 reviews
4.7 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
3.9 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Holiday Park

Address: Southport New Road, Southport PR9 8D, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range: £24 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Touring And Holiday Park
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing