We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Holiday Park
Reviewed 19 May 2014

1st time visit to Southport Riverside and was very impressed with the staff upon arrival. We booked a Gold caravan and it certainly lived up to our expections. Park ideal for relaxing break and a good base for visiting Blackpool, Southport etc. Staff in the complex very helpful and prices for alcohol and food very reasonable.

We've been to several caravan parks previously and Southport Riverside is now one of our favourites.

When checking out, the staff at reception where holding a lucky dip in which my partner managed to win a free weekend break back which we've already booked for the end of June. Hopefully this will be many of happy returns to Southport Riverside.

In the words of Arnie, "We'll be back!!"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments and I am pleased that you like our Park.

Congratulations on your lucky win dip - Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend good entertainment on had a Robbie tribute ,, tried the new cock a hoop restaurant Sunday dinners was very nice , 2 for a tenner plenty of meat , real Yorkshire puddings ,
The swimming pool was good and found all staff helpful thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lillyb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and glad that you like our Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have to agree with several of the reviewers here. Upon arrival, after a six hour or so journey, we could not believe our eyes when we saw the main entrance and 'reception' area. You could easily be mistaken for thinking you had arrived at an old abandoned army barracks, or a disused derelict ex prisoner of war camp, or yes, a run down industrial estate. Not at all inviting. I'm sure it would not take too much money to do it up a bit. At least add a couple of flag poles, and paint the buildings up to give it a holiday camp feel, even if you make it a bit 'Hi Di Hi', that would be a vast improvement how it looks at present.

The site itself looks fairly pleasant but you are advised that a 'one-way' system is in operation, but there are no signs to say which way is one way. The static caravans appear to be sited far too close to each other, and I would imagine that emergency vehicles would find it hard to negotiate around the site.

We stayed in a basic caravan, M something or other 6, and there were hairs on the mattress in the double room. The caravan could sleep 8 adults, or so they claim, but the two small twn bedrooms are really only suitable for small children or teenagers maybe. Certainly no where big enough to accomodate two adults. None of the mattresses were fitted with mattress protectors, and they must be very old as I could feel the top of the springs digging into my back. I did not sleep well at all throughout my stay. The beds are also not made up and the last thing you want to do after a long tiring journey is to make up beds.

Loose wires, pipes, clothes airer bases protruding and all manner of other weird and dangerous looking objects were scattered around the caravan. My colleague has taken photos and I will try and upload them at a later date.

On the plus side, the 'drag queen' entertainer and the kareoke compare/singer were both superb and provided some great evening entertainment throughout our stay.

The meals in the on site cafe/restaurant are reasonably priced and very good value for money. The battered fish was superb. Compliments to the chef.

If you arrive at the site coming from the Southport direction, you have to pass the site on your right and travel a mile, maybe more, before going all the way around a round-a-bout and coming back on yourself.

All in all, not too bad, but not a site I could recommend based primarily on the poor accomodation and drab and dreary entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gazza1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We have started work on a new reception area at the rear of the sales office, we were hoping that we would have been in there for this season. However the work has taken longer than scheduled and we cannot move reception part way through the season.

All new signs have been ordered for the park including road names and the one way system.

During your stay if you experience problems, report to the reception during office hours or the wardens out of office hours. We could have tried to rectify any issues that you have.

If you would like to return to the park once the improvements have taken place, please contact the Park on 01704 228886 and ask for the Holiday Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here with my children over the bank holiday weekend the caravan was clean and comfortable as I was on holiday didn't want to cook so took advantage of the new eating facilities, the food was excellent all cooked fresh and piping hot. the breakfast was all freshly cooked, and Sunday dinner was 2 for £10.00 which I thought was a bargain, the children really enjoyed the night life especially the children entertainer on the Sunday I would really recommend the riverside for a family holiday

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that you can see the improvements that we are making.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just got back after staying in a static caravan for the weekend and thought it was brilliant. A great indoor pool complete with a baby pool and also a hot tub, sauna and steam room all included in the price. There is a children's play area and nice walks with lots of wildlife and Southport is only about 10 minutes away which has been much improved since our last visit there. A great caravan park for a family break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments - glad that you enjoyed your holiday at our Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A very bizarre place. We went in our touring caravan. The entrance to the site is in some run down industrial estate. We were on a grass pitch, reasonable size and flat. Tons of feral children running round swearing and shouting. The toilets weren't up to much. One morning there was vomit all over the floor. The club house was reasonably clean and to be fair the children's entertainer was good; enthusiastic and jolly (unlike most of the other staff!). The campsite entrance clearly has a brown sign showing they accept tents as well as caravans. We asked if it would be ok for some friends to join us on our pitch in their small tent; there was plenty of room as we did not have an awning up. We were told tents were not allowed under any circumstances. This was despite there being other people on the caravan fields clearly having tents text to their vans that they were using instead of awnings. Also quite a few pop up tents dotted about. If they don't accept tents they should not have a brown sign saying they do! Maybe we shouldn't should not gave been honest and asked and just done what others did and stick them up anyway.
Quite expensive too £35 a night for a pitch with electric and no awning.

I never leave bad reviews but this place is a shocker. It was like going on holiday to a large council estate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank princesselainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are going through a period of change. The reception is moving to the sales office, so that we can make way for an improved entrance etc.. to the park. The reception should have moved for this season, however this has been delayed and we cannot move part way through a season.

We have stopped taking tents this season and the only tents we have on the site are honoured bookings from last year. We are currently trying to get the brown signs removed.

Our prices do include the cost of an awning. Should you wish to visit in June we have a 50% reduction off the prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We hired a static caravan as accommodation while attending the Steam and Vintage Rally. The caravan was roomy, well equipped and clean. As a silver caravan, there was no central heating so everything felt a bit damp. The bed was comfortable but the pillows smelled awful, a cross between damp and vinegar.
The site has a shop but we found it expensive, Also, there is no cash point and the shop doesn't accept card payments.
While renting a static here is perfect for us while attending the rally, I wouldn't use it for a holiday break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your comments - I am sorry that you had a problem with the pillows. If you have any problems during your stay you should contact the park reception or the wardens outside of office hours.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
4.7 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 22 in Southport
3,296 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 22 in Southport
1,235 reviews
3.9 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 22 in Southport
431 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#2 of 22 in Southport
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Holiday Park

Address: Riverside Caravan Park Southport New Road, Southport PR9 8DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range: £24 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Holiday Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Touring And Holiday Park
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing