We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family get away.A hidden gem.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Holiday Park
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great family get away.A hidden gem.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A very friendly family holiday touring park.We stayed on the touring park,showers and toilets very clean,swimming pool superb,travel into Southport,bus stop just inside park which for us was brilliant.pitching area was very well maintained and a fabulous pitching area.sorry there is one but, numbers on the pitches are very hard to work out, and the staff on reception would've done anything for you,hoped to return soon,for another stress free break away.All I can say it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments and your comment about our pitch numbers. I will get our maintenance team to have a look at this.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    105
    79
    50
    71
See reviews for
249
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Caravan had missing slat blinds in /kitchen and mostly from bathroom, so whether the neighbours wanted to see you perched on the throne or not, no other choice, apart from hold it in and wee in the dark !! cutlery filthy, scissors full of hairs and potato peeler was practically growing penicillin ! sofa's stained and worn. Not that much mould on all the bedroom curtains! We tried v much to hide our dissapointment from the children. The pool was available for 40 minutes at your convenience, can only assume the time limit was set up , as any longer and hypothermia would set in. Drunken mums supping pints til they couldnt stand up at the clubhouse and toddlers doing their own thing, til parents noticed them missing...........Maybe a little harsh, best not to judge all the drunks as some might not have had children there, probably left in the caravan !! Cheap, not particularly cheerful. We didnt fancy food poisioning, so can't comment on the food offered. The best part by far was during check out and with the lucky dip draw offered for all, out of all the queue, guess who got another 2 nights free ?? and guess who then passed it on to the last in the line??. A little harsh maybe? just spent a couple of hours in the bath and burned the clothes we wore. Like I said you get what you pay for- and not our cup of tea- thinking we're more Earl Grey than Morrisons's Own !

Room Tip: off the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

However the Park was not been made aware of any of these problems that you have detailed until you have posted them on trip advisor. We have someone available 24 hours a day, any problems that occur outside of reception hours we have wardens available. I am sure that some of your problems could have been rectified during your stay. I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable break at our holiday park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Toilets horrendous, no children entertainment whilst adults (residents) get bingo etc. etc. food good but 1 hour waiting when they r no busy. Been going for a number of year and will NEVER return after they have out sourced the pool, bars and forgot to inc. the entertainment. Very poor indeed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Riverside has started going through a period of change and you have noticed some of these changes. We did experience some technical problems in the food area which caused a wait for the food. I am sorry that you don't feel that we had enough entertainment on for the children, but I have taken your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just came back again after another brilliant weekend this was are 3rd trip due to go back again next weekend have read some bad reviews they must have stayed at a different site .havent got anything to complain about .showers toilets pitches entertainment were all excellent used the swimming pool sauna and steam room for the first time will certainly be using them again staff were really helpfull and pleasent, shop was well stocked staff were really pleasent ,booking reception could be a bit brighter, outside could do with brighting up as well but on the whole we love staying here thank you

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Glad you keep coming back and enjoying your breaks. We are currently in the process of having a new reception built over at the sales office. We had hoped that this would have been ready for this season, but we didn't quite make it. Next time you visit pop up to the sales yard and you will see the work in progress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

1st time visit to Southport Riverside and was very impressed with the staff upon arrival. We booked a Gold caravan and it certainly lived up to our expections. Park ideal for relaxing break and a good base for visiting Blackpool, Southport etc. Staff in the complex very helpful and prices for alcohol and food very reasonable.

We've been to several caravan parks previously and Southport Riverside is now one of our favourites.

When checking out, the staff at reception where holding a lucky dip in which my partner managed to win a free weekend break back which we've already booked for the end of June. Hopefully this will be many of happy returns to Southport Riverside.

In the words of Arnie, "We'll be back!!"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments and I am pleased that you like our Park.

Congratulations on your lucky win dip - Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend good entertainment on had a Robbie tribute ,, tried the new cock a hoop restaurant Sunday dinners was very nice , 2 for a tenner plenty of meat , real Yorkshire puddings ,
The swimming pool was good and found all staff helpful thanks

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lillyb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and glad that you like our Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have to agree with several of the reviewers here. Upon arrival, after a six hour or so journey, we could not believe our eyes when we saw the main entrance and 'reception' area. You could easily be mistaken for thinking you had arrived at an old abandoned army barracks, or a disused derelict ex prisoner of war camp, or yes, a run down industrial estate. Not at all inviting. I'm sure it would not take too much money to do it up a bit. At least add a couple of flag poles, and paint the buildings up to give it a holiday camp feel, even if you make it a bit 'Hi Di Hi', that would be a vast improvement how it looks at present.

The site itself looks fairly pleasant but you are advised that a 'one-way' system is in operation, but there are no signs to say which way is one way. The static caravans appear to be sited far too close to each other, and I would imagine that emergency vehicles would find it hard to negotiate around the site.

We stayed in a basic caravan, M something or other 6, and there were hairs on the mattress in the double room. The caravan could sleep 8 adults, or so they claim, but the two small twn bedrooms are really only suitable for small children or teenagers maybe. Certainly no where big enough to accomodate two adults. None of the mattresses were fitted with mattress protectors, and they must be very old as I could feel the top of the springs digging into my back. I did not sleep well at all throughout my stay. The beds are also not made up and the last thing you want to do after a long tiring journey is to make up beds.

Loose wires, pipes, clothes airer bases protruding and all manner of other weird and dangerous looking objects were scattered around the caravan. My colleague has taken photos and I will try and upload them at a later date.

On the plus side, the 'drag queen' entertainer and the kareoke compare/singer were both superb and provided some great evening entertainment throughout our stay.

The meals in the on site cafe/restaurant are reasonably priced and very good value for money. The battered fish was superb. Compliments to the chef.

If you arrive at the site coming from the Southport direction, you have to pass the site on your right and travel a mile, maybe more, before going all the way around a round-a-bout and coming back on yourself.

All in all, not too bad, but not a site I could recommend based primarily on the poor accomodation and drab and dreary entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gazza1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We have started work on a new reception area at the rear of the sales office, we were hoping that we would have been in there for this season. However the work has taken longer than scheduled and we cannot move reception part way through the season.

All new signs have been ordered for the park including road names and the one way system.

During your stay if you experience problems, report to the reception during office hours or the wardens out of office hours. We could have tried to rectify any issues that you have.

If you would like to return to the park once the improvements have taken place, please contact the Park on 01704 228886 and ask for the Holiday Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
4.7 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
411 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 23 in Southport
244 reviews
4.7 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Holiday Park

Property: Riverside Holiday Park
Address: Southport New Road, Southport PR9 8D, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Riverside Touring And Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing