We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Holiday Park
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely the caravans are nice and clean entertainment on the weekend was good fun all staff are more than welcoming the food and drinks are at a valuable price I can't fault anything I highly recommend the riverside holiday park the place to be if your looking for a fun family holiday or a nice relaxing break

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic comments, I am pleased that you like the changes we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    96
    76
    46
    71
See reviews for
233
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been going to Riverside for many years now with our three children and have many fond memories for this site.

But this year they have changed many facilities for the worse. The main family lounge has shut down and instead there is now a small bar called 'Cocka a Hoop' awful name by the way. There is zero entertainment for families and children now. The restaurant in the new bar is overpriced £12.00 for an 8oz steak on a small site is over the top. But with talking to other people who do similar like visiting a couple of times a year. They have all said 'never again'. Which is quite sad but I can see there point of view on this. The site is better for banning camping now it is more peaceful. But on the same point the site is a lot more empty now due to the absolute ridiculous changes that have commenced. It was a brillant site for all ages to enjoy, but now starting to feel like a ghost town. With everyone on being on a downer from the changes. That is why all of June now is 50% off with the code AG100.

It is quite clear to me and everyone else on the site, this needs to be reversed back to the way it originally was, this includes bringing back the entertainment team. keep the bars as they Cocka Hoop as a place if some wants to chill out with friends/family and maintain the over 18's.
as it is. Most site would give there right arm to the trade that Riverside was doing there !!

They are completing a new phase with 70 statics where the camping used to be. But people still require entertainment on weekends etc. Even last bank holiday zero entertainment.

Action should be taken asap before your profits totally disappear and the site closes !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seamus n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are going through a period of redevelopment. I am sorry that you are unhappy with some of the changes that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Caravan was lovely and tidy, all staff are very friendly and it made a nice overall relaxing holiday. The only downside is that no where is within a reasonable walking distance, it took a twenty minute bus journey to southport. However I must say bus services are frequent and reliable and stop in the camp. There wasn't loads to do on the camp, the shop was open 9am till 8pm and the family bar had no entertainment, but was clean and tidy. Although food is served along with ice creams and cakes, I did not see anyone eat a meal there. An overall nice holiday, but not for you if you are wanting to do things in southport all of the time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments about our Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We started going to the Riverside campsite in our tents,there's 17 of us in total and recently another 5 have tagged on. It's a lovely,friendly and clean site. We went to book for May bank holiday (last week) and there wasn't allowing tent but because us and the kids love the site we booked 4 caravans,they where gorgeous caravans and we was all close to each other. We all decided make breakfast but use the restaurant for tea and the food was amazing,one night we did have to wait 1 hour and 30 minutes but it was busy and there was only youngsters waiting on,they were very apologetic and the food was worth the wait. We loved the deals they did bogof on kids meals which meant feeding 2 kids for £4 bargain and the Friday fish night. The only negative was the amusements had been made smaller so the kids weren't that impressed. Hopefully if we get a good deal we will be back in August.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetty1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments about the Park and I pleased that you are now converted to our holiday hire caravans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A very friendly family holiday touring park.We stayed on the touring park,showers and toilets very clean,swimming pool superb,travel into Southport,bus stop just inside park which for us was brilliant.pitching area was very well maintained and a fabulous pitching area.sorry there is one but, numbers on the pitches are very hard to work out, and the staff on reception would've done anything for you,hoped to return soon,for another stress free break away.All I can say it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments and your comment about our pitch numbers. I will get our maintenance team to have a look at this.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Caravan had missing slat blinds in /kitchen and mostly from bathroom, so whether the neighbours wanted to see you perched on the throne or not, no other choice, apart from hold it in and wee in the dark !! cutlery filthy, scissors full of hairs and potato peeler was practically growing penicillin ! sofa's stained and worn. Not that much mould on all the bedroom curtains! We tried v much to hide our dissapointment from the children. The pool was available for 40 minutes at your convenience, can only assume the time limit was set up , as any longer and hypothermia would set in. Drunken mums supping pints til they couldnt stand up at the clubhouse and toddlers doing their own thing, til parents noticed them missing...........Maybe a little harsh, best not to judge all the drunks as some might not have had children there, probably left in the caravan !! Cheap, not particularly cheerful. We didnt fancy food poisioning, so can't comment on the food offered. The best part by far was during check out and with the lucky dip draw offered for all, out of all the queue, guess who got another 2 nights free ?? and guess who then passed it on to the last in the line??. A little harsh maybe? just spent a couple of hours in the bath and burned the clothes we wore. Like I said you get what you pay for- and not our cup of tea- thinking we're more Earl Grey than Morrisons's Own !

Room Tip: off the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

However the Park was not been made aware of any of these problems that you have detailed until you have posted them on trip advisor. We have someone available 24 hours a day, any problems that occur outside of reception hours we have wardens available. I am sure that some of your problems could have been rectified during your stay. I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable break at our holiday park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Toilets horrendous, no children entertainment whilst adults (residents) get bingo etc. etc. food good but 1 hour waiting when they r no busy. Been going for a number of year and will NEVER return after they have out sourced the pool, bars and forgot to inc. the entertainment. Very poor indeed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Riverside has started going through a period of change and you have noticed some of these changes. We did experience some technical problems in the food area which caused a wait for the food. I am sorry that you don't feel that we had enough entertainment on for the children, but I have taken your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Holiday Park

Property: Riverside Holiday Park
Address: Southport New Road, Southport PR9 8D, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Riverside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Touring And Holiday Park
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing