We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“southport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Holiday Park
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wot can I say about riverside?? Well basic,noisy and cramped for starters... when we arrived it was hard getting into our pitch as it was very tight with cars parked obviously not where they were supposed to be,we got parked after cleaning a broken chair and clothing from our pitch..... we noticed that there was wot looked like travellers staying on site which put me off a bit.toilets and showers!!not the cleanest to bo blunt with soiled toilet paper lying on floor every time u went in showers ok I suppose, kids running about inside standing on sinks etc.a plus part was the pool which was clean but over used too many people at one time...sorry won't be back....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank 161janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday. During your stay you should have informed either the reception or the park wardens of any problem that you were experiencing then these could have been addressed for you.

The swimming pool is operated by a booking system that only permits so many people in at one time, I cannot understand why you felt that the pool felt overcrowded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from riverside.had a very good week .not much to do on site cafe food & staff excellent .felt very relaxed .easy access to Southport .bus stop right outside .personally would definitely return

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your comments - glad you enjoyed your visit at our Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

stayed at the Riverside for a week in August. On arrival we were a bit worried as it looks very run down. Caravan was quite cheap for a platinum 3 bed so good value (though one week after I booked in advance the price dropped by over £100!). I imagine the reason for the low price is the very basic site. Luckily we wanted a relaxing holiday and only brought our 18 year daughter, who never gets bored. If we had small children I don't think I would have been impressed with the lack of entertainment, mostly disco's and one live act (soloist) a week.

Swimming pool was ok, Steam room and Sauna were also ok but the spa pool was a bit grubby, the whole area could do with updating and cleaning.

Not close enough to Southport either, we caught the bus daily as we don't like to drive on holiday but would have a short walk.

It's a shame that the site has become like this as we have friends in the area who said the club used to be fantastic and packed all the time, having great live acts regularly. Now only the smaller bar is open. We wouldn't go back and I only gave an average because the caravan was nice/clean.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank Nic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I am sorry that the Park did not meet your expectations. We are going through a period of change and some of your negative comments are part of the development plan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

just returned from riverside we stayed for 4 nights on a standard pitch.we arrived reception was friendly we recieved our gate pass then drove to our camping pitch set up and then we had wonder round to look at the camp. the toilets could do with pulling down and replacing bit grotty.
the pitch we had we then got some new campers who where swearing and noisy till 2 to 3 in morning wish i paid for superior pitch to better area.we went to club thinking couple bars but found only one in the family area with no entertainment for most of our stay and this is not good when kids on hols i felt sorry for them.sorry but if someone asked me to recommend camping here i would laugh maybe the static caravan area was different but site needs vast improvement fast not just lick of paint and saying we are doing our best.i feel sorry for employees trying to do the best for everyone with short staff good luck

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank danielsbourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday at our Park. During your stay you should have reported to either the reception or the wardens any problems that you were experiencing than we could have tried to resolve these issues for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Returned yesterday after a 4 night stay with my daughter and 5 kids ranging in age from 13 to 4. The caravan was basic but had everything needed including crisp clean bedding. The vans are very close to each other and we had an annoying foreign neighbour who lived on site and made a habit of peering through our windows whilst smoking. Apart from the swimming pool there was nothing much for the kids to do and we spent a fortune going out every day. The location is great to access things in Southport but such a pity that there wasn't more offered on site. The reception team were very nice and suggested that the site is more suited to couples wanting to chill and I would agree with that. Didn't try restaurant but visited the lounge/bar once and only stayed for 30 minutes as the boys wanted to play snooker and the barmaid said they couldn't as the white ball was lost. Agree with other reviews about the arcade, mostly out of order. Would not recommend the site to parents looking for entertainment for children.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank liverpool_liz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry the Park did not meet your expectations. We are going through a period of change and are moving away from children's entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Caravan was lovely , very dissapointed with the lack of facilities on site , cafe looks lovely on the pictures shown but was nothing like it , table and chairs very old fashioned and not inviting , food was ok , only ate once when we arrived , great place if you have a tourer ,woul certainly not be coming back !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Sorry that the Park is not to your satisfaction. We are currently going through a period of change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

hi Ive been to riverside campsite 2 weeks ago going back this weekend and going back at the end of august for bank holiday weekend very clean site there is a pond with ducks and you can go fishing arcade not all the arcade machines work shop is cheep 50p for sweets 1 pound 20p for a shlush in the shop and pub is cheep with shows and stuff for kids and park for kids at the side where the touring caravans are the site is not far from southport pleasure beach with fair and stuff toilets are showers rooms are not the clean the site the site is just off southport new road

Room Tip: anywhere all clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for all your positive feedback - Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
4.7 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 22 in Southport
3,297 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 22 in Southport
1,236 reviews
3.9 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 22 in Southport
431 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#2 of 22 in Southport
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Holiday Park

Address: Riverside Caravan Park Southport New Road, Southport PR9 8DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range: £24 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Holiday Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Riverside Touring And Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing