We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Holiday Park
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great family holiday”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived here on a Mon-Fri holiday (18th Aug) staying in a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom Platinum caravan (59 Hawthorn Drive). We was told on arrival that the caravan was brand new and it was. It looked lovely and got our monies worth. There's a shop onsite which is reasonably priced we used it 3 times. The swimming pool has a great booking system where you book in advance in one hour blocks, we used the pool twice and my kids loved it. The 1st time we were allowed to stay on as there wasn't many people booked on the next hour. The lockers cost £1 but thats refundable. The lounge bar was nice and spacious and drinks were reasonably priced. Please take CASH as there are NO Cash machines on site, You can use your credit/debit cards but minimum spend is £10. We made use of the on site launderette its £3.50 for 40 minute wash and £1.80 for 72 mins tumble dryers, being a family of 5 we created alot of washing so the launderette was a god send. Slightly disappointed with the arcade as we were looking forward to spending out 2p's but they were out of order, they eventually worked on our last night but there's no change machine as that's out of order. There's a small play area about a few minutes walk from the restaurant/lounge bar.The site was busy and some of the owned holiday homes are a must see, completely out of this world.
We spent our last night going to the lounge bar for Kids Karaoke and Disco and my boys were happy dancing away on the dancefloor when they was forced off the stage to make way for one child only singing karaoke, needless to say they wasn't happy about leaving the dancefloor, they could rejoin once the singing had stopped then a few mins later had to leave the dancefloor AGAIN and each time having to deal with a hysterical child, but with my children being young they couldn't understand why they could dance then not dance. It would've been better to have a time slot for the karaoke. The "DJ" needed to organise the children's entertainment better, even if he put on some children's competitions with prizes but instead he just sat at his desk waiting for singing requests.
Overall yes the holiday was good and we all enjoyed it, we was offered the chance to re book another holiday which we would've done but with no facilities open on the dates we wanted to return the price was too much to just use as a base. We will return once the refurb of the site is complete.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Platinum caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a positive review. Glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    104
    79
    50
    71
See reviews for
248
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing holiday at riverside, don't let the front of it fool you, the actual caravan and caravan park itself is absolutely spotless, good facilities although the arcade could do with some updating, for someone who doesn't drive really easy access, bus stop right outside the camp, only £10 for a family day rider and only a 10 minute ride into southport, no hesitation in booking it again for next year!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank imogenairsonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We have had some issues with the amusement arcade. The arcade is being looked at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atherton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

stayed at riverside well what can i say roads full of potholes arcade closes at 8 pm nothing for kids to do on site apart from a small park and a baths that was colder than southport sea people say theres changes but no plans to be seen dont know what the owners are doing but this site has gone down hill at an alarming speed

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank magsAtherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Sorry that you are not liking the changes we are making. There is lots of development planned and this will commence again after high season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Silver 2 bed caravan 55 Hawthorne. August 11 - 15 midweek stay. Once again after reading other reviews of Riverside i was dreading this week. Once again I was pleasantly surprised. We paid £260 for a 4 night stay, which in comparison to other caravan sites is REALLY cheap.
The site was easy to find and when we arrived we had the keys and were in our caravan within 15 minutes. The caravan was spotless, and smelled clean. It was also bigger then expected. My OH who has never stayed in a caravan before was surprised at how much room there really was. The cooker looked like it had hardly been used it was that clean.The bed linen provided was crisp fresh and white. Lots of cups pots, pans, cutlery, corkscrew, wine glasses grater etc etc. No hair dryer though.The area where we stayed was very quiet and we heard very little from other people at all during our stay. There was ample parking for our car right next to our van.
We used the shop which was pretty cheap and had lovely fresh bread. There were several alcohol offers on, and lots of mags, papers and kids stuff like outdoor toys to buy. The lady in the shop was lovely. We only nipped in the bar to use the loo, so no idea what that was like but I did see an offer for fish and chips with a drink for 2 for about £15.99.Both of these were at the back facing the caravans. There was also a launderette where it was about £3.50 per wash and £1.80 for drying. The takeaway/restaurant was facing the main road and offered food until about 10-10.30pm. To the side of the restaurant also facing the main road was the swimming pool you can use at no charge. This was not a bad size and we used it twice. There is a booking service, so i would advise going in the day before to book for the next day. Its done in 1 hour time slots. There was about 15 people in when we went for a swim. There are changing rooms for men and women with showers and hair-dryers. The lockers need a £1 coin but the staff sometimes have a token if you are using separate changing rooms from your other half. The pool is an L shape split into a baby pool at one end and a big part at the other. There is a jacuzzi, and sauna also available at no charge.

If you walk round from the shop towards the tent/ tourer side, you will find a small park with climbing frame and swings etc.

This is a VERY quiet camp site with a few bits n bobs to do, however its a great place to stop while you explore the surrounding area. We went by car into Southport several times. Its about 10-15 mins and parking is pretty easy to find at about 4.50 for 4 hours. There is also a big Morrisons so you can stock up on food. Southport is very nice, not over-run like Blackpool and its also spotlessly clean. Blackpool is about 27 miles away so not far. Fish and chips are pricey in some places, we spent £27 for 3 fish n chips with drinks and bread and butter at the place next to the merry go round. It was delicious though! A bit further down from there is a free play area for kids up to 12. There is also ample grass area for flying a kite. Take a look at all the double fronted Victorian houses, and the Art Deco ones, they are divine!

We Loved Riverside and have booked again for next year. We booked as we checked out and got an extra 30% off with a lucky dip offer. Stopping in a gold caravan next time for 4 nights at only £270!

Dont lose your keys as you will not only lose your £20 deposit but wont be able to drive through the barriers.

Dont believe everything negative you read in the reviews, a holiday is what you make it and there is plenty of other stuff to go out and see. There is even a bus service to get there!

Room Tip: Try and get a van away from the touring plots as it seems far noisier here. Make sure you have CASH...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funkythreads2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed positive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday and have booked to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wot can I say about riverside?? Well basic,noisy and cramped for starters... when we arrived it was hard getting into our pitch as it was very tight with cars parked obviously not where they were supposed to be,we got parked after cleaning a broken chair and clothing from our pitch..... we noticed that there was wot looked like travellers staying on site which put me off a bit.toilets and showers!!not the cleanest to bo blunt with soiled toilet paper lying on floor every time u went in showers ok I suppose, kids running about inside standing on sinks etc.a plus part was the pool which was clean but over used too many people at one time...sorry won't be back....

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 161janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday. During your stay you should have informed either the reception or the park wardens of any problem that you were experiencing then these could have been addressed for you.

The swimming pool is operated by a booking system that only permits so many people in at one time, I cannot understand why you felt that the pool felt overcrowded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from riverside.had a very good week .not much to do on site cafe food & staff excellent .felt very relaxed .easy access to Southport .bus stop right outside .personally would definitely return

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your comments - glad you enjoyed your visit at our Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

stayed at the Riverside for a week in August. On arrival we were a bit worried as it looks very run down. Caravan was quite cheap for a platinum 3 bed so good value (though one week after I booked in advance the price dropped by over £100!). I imagine the reason for the low price is the very basic site. Luckily we wanted a relaxing holiday and only brought our 18 year daughter, who never gets bored. If we had small children I don't think I would have been impressed with the lack of entertainment, mostly disco's and one live act (soloist) a week.

Swimming pool was ok, Steam room and Sauna were also ok but the spa pool was a bit grubby, the whole area could do with updating and cleaning.

Not close enough to Southport either, we caught the bus daily as we don't like to drive on holiday but would have a short walk.

It's a shame that the site has become like this as we have friends in the area who said the club used to be fantastic and packed all the time, having great live acts regularly. Now only the smaller bar is open. We wouldn't go back and I only gave an average because the caravan was nice/clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenatRiv, Manager at Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I am sorry that the Park did not meet your expectations. We are going through a period of change and some of your negative comments are part of the development plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
4.7 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,877 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
411 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 23 in Southport
243 reviews
4.7 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Holiday Park

Property: Riverside Holiday Park
Address: Southport New Road, Southport PR9 8D, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Touring & Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Riverside Touring And Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing