We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Grandeur - but no problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Faded Grandeur - but no problems”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This hotel is, let's face it, a Victorian monstrosity which was built a long time ago and which it is almost impossible to update to top modern standards because of its lack of space to expand, rabbit warren like building and dated style.

However.....the owners have clearly done their best with it (it would cost millions to completely renovate) and it is a pretty comfortable stay in an excellent location in a pleasant resort.

We were there to attend a wedding. We arrived just before 11am and had paid for a noon check in. To my amazement our room was ready! That really was a plus as it meant we had a rest after the journey plus time to change at leisure rather than in a rush.

Our room was 324 and it had a very high window which you could only see out of by climbing on the bed so that was a bit claustrophobic. However, the room was large and comfortably furnished albeit with furniture that had seen better days.
The bed was clean and comfortable and there was a hair dryer and coffee making facilities. There were also 2 pillows per person and ample room for suitcases and also good wardrobe and drawer space.

The bathroom was off a separate hallway which was good - but the fan in the bathroom was very, very LOUD. The bathroom really needed refurbishment - it was extremely old fashioned and there were a lot of marks and scuffings. However, it was clean and there were ample towels which could actually have been fluffier.

The TV was weird - it was an old set and was situated very low down. I was on the far side of the bed and if my husband crossed his legs I couldn't see the screen very well.

I expected it to be much noisier but it was fine despite there being a group on at the wedding downstairs. All we heard were police sirens on and off through the night which I suppose is to be expected in a seaside resort on a Saturday night!

The catering at the wedding was excellent and the reception was held in a 'Grand Ballroom' - which again was a relic of yesteryear with balconies and staircases - it's actually a fine example of its type of architecture at a time when British seaside towns were booming and Southport was considered to be very upmarket.

The car park is way too small for the size of the hotel - but then its town centre location restricts that being expanded.
The hotel is located on Lord Street right in the middle of the shops.

There was plenty of choice at breakfast where there were tour groups of elderly coach trippers tucking in with relish. We thought the breakfast was excellent and the ambience in the room was good.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay. I would describe this hotel as 'comfortable' and really all its shortcomings are down to its age, restricted location and multi level layout.
It cannot compete with modern 4 and 5 star hotels but I felt it was a good place to stay and if we were coming to Southport again I would be happy to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    393
    350
    234
    317
See reviews for
282
681
44
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

stayed at the prince of wales for 1 night after booking a late deal.
nice big rooms but could do with updating lovely buffet breakfast.
bar prices as cheap as nearby weatherspoons also great location
on lord street across from all the shops. will stay again in near future

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday weekend 25/26th March and booked through Travelstyle as a self drive. Were a bit hesitant booking due to some bad reports on Trip Adviser and unfortunately they were well founded. We had room 220 which wasnt too bad decor wise and the furniture was quite nice but it was very dark and dismal due to the window facing a roof and side wall and had frosted glass which were absolutely filthy. It was horrible not being able to see even what the weather was doing. The bathroom had again a dirty old window frosted and was in need of some decorating but plenty of hot water available and nice white towels.
The evening meal was very poor (buffet style) with very little choice and the vegetables well over cooked and tasteless. Soup also tasteless but as all the other starters had been used and not replenished so we had soup. There was an hours free bar which was good but very limited on the selection that was free. We were Ok personally as the drinks we normally have were included but any bottled mixers you had to pay for.The two nights we stayed we hardly got to sleep until the early hours, despite going to bed about 10.30 - 11.00pm due to the noise from the function rooms and also people being very noisy late on up and down the corridor and banging doors. 3 Functions on whilst we were there and our room was right above one of the function rooms.
Breakfast was quite nice apart from the rock hard toast but selection was sufficient.
Some guests had problems parking as there was insufficient parking for the number of guests but we arrived early Friday and never used the car until check out. £2.00 a night charge for parking on the hotel car park which we thought a bit of a cheek,

We would not go back to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. Compare it with Travel Lodge and Travel Lodges would win hands down with us. At least you know what you are getting. and can see through the windows.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Thank you for placing your review on trip advisor .Its a shame that people don’t think before they place these comments on trip advisor. If people did think that paying £25pp For DINNER, BED, BREAKFAST, AND A 1 HR FREE BAR, Im sorry. There are plenty of people around to mention these points to. Also VERY clearly stated on the way in is the tariff for the parking this is for all the people who care to read it.
We have looked into your WIN HANDS DOWN comment and yes for the say weekend Travel Lodge would have charged you £28.95pp BED AND BREAKFAST ONLY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
haydock
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2011

had a great time in the hotel food was tops and staff frendley .went round southport at night had a very good time the breakfast was one of the best i have had in a long time .the room in the hotel was super large and there was just me and the wife can i just say will be booking again soon . thanks STE AND MEL from HAYDOCK

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank stescoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We booked a 2 night stay at this hotel for the 11th to 13th of March. We had always wanted to visit southport and It was intended to be a very special weekend for my wife to recover from what she has been through over the last two years. We booked an executive double bedroom and it`s description was that it was spacious, with most rooms facing the front elevation or having a spa bath. We arrived at the hotel at 10.30am and went to the reception to ask if it was ok for us to leave the car in the car park. The girl in the reception at the time was very polite & extremely courteous & said it was no problem. She confirmed that we had an executive room and that we could check in between 2.00 & 3.00 clock. After check in, we went to the room ( 210 ) and what a disappointment. There were stains on the bedroom wallpaper, the decor around the radiator was brown and the bathroom ceiling was one big damp stain from either a bathroom above or from the roof. I would suggest that at best, the bathroom is of a standard you would expect in a hostel. The room was freezing cold though the radiator valve was in the on position. Room 210 overlooks the side road and does not have a spa bath. My wife rang reception and asked them if this room was in fact an executive room, or had there been a mistake?. The reply was that it was an executive type. I went down to reception to report the faults and while I was waiting in the queue, the receptionist was asked by a colleague who appeared to be coming on duty if there were any problems. To my astonishment she replied and I quote " The woman in Room 210 rang to complain that the room was neither front facing nor did it have a jacuzzi". I did not take a liking to my wife being described as the woman from Room 210 and the way that the problem was being dismissed by the receptionist. I think her name was Marie. When it was my turn, I politely introduced myself as the husband of the woman from Room 210 which she had just spoken about to her colleague. I explained that I work in the hotel trade, and that the standard and condition of Room 210 was not what one would expect when booking an executive type. Their response was that as I had booked the accomodation through Late bookings.com and not directly with the hotel, the fault lay entirely with the third party. Seems very interesting that on the hotel`s own website, the rooms are advertised in excactly the same wording. When I asked Marie if she had actually seen Room 210, the reply was " yes a while back when she was on housekeeping duties". We got the impression that they were not really interested and that the problem was not theirs. I told them that I was not prepared to stay in a room that should not have been in service, especially with the damp to the bathroom ceiling. We were assured that our credit card would not be charged and we returned home on the same day. 220 miles of driving for nothing. For anyone thinking of booking this hotel, just make sure with them beforehand that you will not be in Room 210. There may well be better rooms but they really should not have let this room out in it`s current condition.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your comments which you placed on trip advisor, I have spoken with reception regarding your booking .You did say that the room you wanted must contain a Jacuzzi which you had not booked .When reception asked for your confirmation as to which type of room you had booked the Jacuzzi was not on. As you say you are in the trade so you obviously know if we don’t have that type of room then we haven’t got it!! Thanks again for your comments I will check the room to be in such a poor standard but unfortunately it’s occupied for the next 5 nights and have been in for 2 nights so far without any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

In the past been to several Btitannia Hotels and never been disappionted and once again no disappointments at the Prince of Wales.
Checked in mid afternoon and found the radiator only luke warm on our way to dinner we reported the lack of heating to reception. On our return to our room nice and warm and an electric heater running. Following morning at 08-30 am the Maintainace arrived, after about 15mins we were informed that a Plumber had been booked to come and fix the system. We were then given keys to 2 rooms to visit and select an alternative.

All staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.
All areas clean and in good order.
Food was very satisfing and hot food was hot.

We look forward to further visits.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Quiet, comfortable room. All staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and even as a vegetarian I was catered for. (Not always the case!) Couldn't park the car in the hotel car park on the saturday, but lots of room on sunday. Ideally situated for the shops. We paid £4.60 each for rover tickets and got the train into Liverpool. The tickets can be used on the Mersey Ferry and all buses round town - absolute bargain! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs1954_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#5 of 23 in Southport
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing