We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I can't believe reading the above reports we have been to the same hotel! I recently stayed at the prince of wales with our young family. The room was beautiful recently refurbished to a high standard and very clean, very spacious too. We ate breakfast in the restaurant there was a wide variety of choice and all served piping hot. The restaurant also very clean, the staff were most gracious and very helpful this includes staff from all around the hotel. They always had a smile on their face and seemed very happy in their work which you don't always see in a hotel. The entertainment was really good Wendy the singer was brilliant and had everyone having a good time. She certainly knows how to keep 200 people or so entertained. We needed some extra towels and the duty manager Brian I think his name was was very helpful and brought them to us prompt. If you ever visit Southport I would recommend this beautiful Victorian hotel, Southport is a great resort, we have already booked a return visit in the next school holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vic_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,385 - 1,391 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2011

staff hopless, food awful, hotel [well our room] dirty really complaint never carried out food was awful chef spent most of the time chating the young bar staff up?? fire doors left open i have photo,s of our room to back up our story so if you would like any information ring my mobile 07703648831 i am also writing to southport council health and safety and fire brigade as i never saw any smoke alarms no one seemed to want to be helpful we where just old people on holiday

Room Tip: do not even go there do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrfox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Thank you for the comments on trip advisor we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and we will look into all the comments which you feel let your stay down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I booked the hotel for a two night break with my elderly mum and step dad, my daughter, nephew and myself. Cost £224 poor value for money in my opinion. No entertainment for the kids unless you call ballroom dancing, our kids were the only ones there. The hotel was full of older people as it was a budget weekend deal I think. The room which when I phoned up to enquire about was described to me over the phone as the penthouse suite - with 2 rooms 1 double bed and a living room that sleeps 2 or 3 on sofa beds. What we got was 4 of us in one bedroom, which when your sharing with two over 60 year olds, myself and my daughter it isn't pleasant and embarrassing, the put-up-bed my daughter was on was not comfy either and we had to put one child in the living room by himself as we were given a sofa bed that was already made up, but the sofa in the living area was old and not a sofa bed. The living door was hanging off, we reported this and it was repaired. The general decor was mucky and needed updating. The food was not very good, not much choice. I was very disappointed as I use Britannia all the time and it was a long awaited treat that was a big letdown.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillypoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

All our guests are treated the same even if they pay by vouchers.
Poor value for money £22.40.P.P – DINNER, BED AND BREAKFAST enough said !. ! Lots of people use this room with no problems next time why not get 2 rooms at no extra cost!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We've booked this hotel because it was the only one with availability at the last minute when we booke - now we understand why there was still space!
We paid 93£ a night for this hotel, therefore we were expecting a good standard hotel - I have to say that I spent less for much better places in bigger cities!
Getting to the point, here are our comments:
- good location, central and near to lots of restaurants and shops
- there is a private car park, but is not free. After all you pay!
- on arrival seemed like we were disturbing the receptionist for been there to check in! Nt very friendly...
- the lift is ridicolously small and slow - you can fit 2 people with 2 little cases or 4 without any lagguage. There was only one lift, and was often busy. Every time we got into the lift, but other people were calling it from other floors, we were stopping at all the ther floor before going to our (e.g. we were at -1 floor, got on at floor 0, went up to 1, 2, 3, 4, then down to 3, 2, 1, then finally to our -1!! (nobody could get in anyway, so it was really annoying!!)
- nice outside beer garden, shame there is no bar outside (you need to go and get drinks inside yourself)
- when you needed a waitress they all seemed to busy to help: e.g. waited for ages to get a drink at the empty bar, as she was doing other things - also not very nice to see all empty glasses still on most of the empty tables and on the couter.
- breakfast was alright - there was full English, but we weren't up for that - the alternative choice wasn't much apart from milk and cereals, fruit and yogurt, so we asked for some croassants or pastries - we got them but after asking to 3 different waitresses!
Also we never got tea or coffee, because nobody came to welcome us/serve us etc...I went to look for it (thinking that we were supposed to help ourselves) but didn't find anything, so I've asked to a waiter who said someone should be serving us! All waitresses were really busy doing other things so we gave up and had an orange jouce!
- room was ok, a bit dated, but clean. The bed was two singles together rather then a double one as I asked, which is annoying you can't sleep in the middle.
- there was supposed to be a jacuzzi - which we were looking forward to using for a relaxing and romantic evening, but once inside the bath, it wasn't working!! really disappointing!
- we realised there was entertainment in the evening, but didn't go for it, so can't comment on that service that seemed nice.
We didn't complaint about anything though, we could have close an eye about some things, but for a 3 stars hotel at that pice you just expect a certain level and service and overall we felt it was really overpriced for what we got.
A suggestion to the hotel: step up with customer service or lower the price!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenturiniFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor .It is very sad when the correct information is not placed on tripadvisor and misleads people. Anyway getting to the point! The hotel has Two (2) Lifts both clearly marked and work on weight load as it states on the sign in the lift. Car park is not advertised as FREE. Lots of people always put in the reviews. (Bit dated, looks old, needs to be modernised, and our favourite the floor boards squeak). The hotel was built in 1876 and some of the hotel is listed. So not much concrete and tarmac there then.
It’s a shame about the bottom piece of the review (we didn’t complain about anything though) Giving the hotel the opportunity to correct what! During the stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

After staying at this Hotel for a one night with a "free 3 hour bar" package, overall we were both very impressed. The first thing that gave us the wrong impression of the Hotel was the receptiontist was not very professional. She did not ask us if we had had a good journey and if we had any problems, not to hestitate to let them know (which we have received in other national branded named hotels). We travelled by train so therefore did not need the parking facilities. Our room was lovely and light and clean and the bathroom the same. Our first encounter with food was the evening carvery. The food was piping hot and plenty of choice. We enjoyed the entertainment afterwards in the Ballroom and actually won a bottle of wine playing bingo. The only thing to spoil this was we had to pay for the "tonic" to accompany our vodka. Breakfast was the same as the evening meal, served hot and plenty of it, especially with the amount of people staying at the Hotel. The next day our daughter and her family arrived to spend the day with us and after touring Southport went back to the Hotel and asked could we buy fish and chips for us all and eat them in the garden. No problem !!!!!! The service was excellent again.
Our daughter and family

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosome03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor .We do try our best to meet all our guests needs, and it makes all the difference when you get feedback like yours .Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

46 pound for two of us . Huge room with double and single bed. Large bathroom. Very clean

evening meal was fine and what you expect for price.
Breakfast was fantastic lots of variety . Free bottle of wine during our stay
ideal location weatherspoons opposite.
Quite old fashioned but was clean.
For this price and what we got we had a fab relaxing night away.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed at this Hotel as our friend was getting married at the Hotel. We arrived Friday afternoon, the first problem is the parking. The hotel only has 80/90 parking spaces and at our time of arrival it was full. We had to park on the road besides the hotel which is free from 6pm to 8am. After a long drive we were looking for a rest and a drink but were unable to do so as we would have to get up early to try and move the car before the charges start. Across from the hotel is a Weatherspoons, I was enjoying a coke when a car left the car park- running across the road, jumping into my car I eventually managed to get in.
The hotel charges for paying by card and for parking.
The room was very basic and a little dated but ok. The signal on our TV was poor and sometimes un-watchable. The main thing was that everything was clean.
The wedding rooms, bar, wedding room and ballroom were impressive, the whole day was great. The main ballroom were the reception was, was really fantastic.
Breakfast was a hot buffet English breakfast which was well cooked and enjoyed the two mornings we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £31 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing