We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Myself and my family recently returned from a 5 day stay at the prince of Wales hotel , from the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a warm reception staff and nothing was to much trouble a young lady called germaine was extremely helpful for the whole stay , our rooms were imaculate and a lovely young gentlemen helped with bags etc , the restaurant staff were second to none happy , smiling and the food was excellent quality and the cleanliness was the best we had seen out of all our trips away ! Bar staff kept all the guests happy ! Overall our stay was excellent in every way I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone ! Was a 5 star stay thankyou to all the staff for a memorable stay

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerald1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    386
    337
    229
    297
See reviews for
271
653
43
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hotel has been slated by some visitors my husband and I thought it was brilliant yes you do have to pay to park but there is no messing about. The staff were all friendly and helpful the food was excellant and the hotel may be old but was spotlessly clean which to us was all that counted. Unfortunately the weather wasn,t brill but the hotel was. We would recommend it to all our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carol080959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor .We do try our best to meet all our guests needs, and it makes all the difference when you get feedback like yours .Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel which was part of a Caledonian Tour from Scotland, we had a great weekend, and even though there were functions taking place, we were not disturbed by noise. The meals were lovely, rooms very clean, a little bit dated but it is an old hotel, great location. The staff are excellent, I was well impressed by the smiling faces, who could not do enough to help, especially dealing with older people, or young children.

Well done Prince of Wales, Southport.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ELIZABETHA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tees Valley
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Have just arrived back from a week-end break to the hotel with my husband and son.
Having read some of the rather damning reviews I was a little apprehensive but we are a fair minded family who have stayed at other Brittania hotels and prefer to reach our own conclusions.
Check in was efficient and pleasant and the initial impression was that of a faded glory hotel, impressive in its hey-day but now largely catering for coach trips of older patrons.
I refuse to indulge in the unpleasant ageist remarks often made about the elderly on holiday on this site as I love to see the older people enjoying themselves. However it is important to point out that the needs of this age group does dictate the overall experience of staying here. There was no entertainment for independent bookers such as ourselves as the coach companies appeared to have secured 'inclusive' packages for customers. This combined with numerous weddings and private parties ensure that the function rooms are not available for 'independent guests'. We found that the only place to use in the hotel was the golf themed bar which was relatively small, a bit pricey and not inspiring. But not a problem for us, we prefer to explore anyway.
The first room we were offered was on the third floor, tucked away in the rafters and probably the most dismal, depressing guest room we had ever seen. And it was difficult to see because this 'executive' triple, though quite large, only had one very small window above head height in the corner of the room. It was almost pitch dark without the centre light being permanently left on. Ventilation and air flow was therefore restricted and the only small view was decaying gutters and bird droppings! I could have cried, even Rigsby would have struggled to let this room!!
But, I judge the quality of a hotel on how it resolves problems and in fairness we were allocated a better room on the same floor on the front. Still with small Victorian windows but at least it was very clean, had some view of Lord Street and the benefit of a small separate lounge. Sincere thanks to Pam, receptionist for resolving this for us, calming us with free tea and being very human! (Told you I'd mention you, tell your manager you deserve a pay-rise).
For me cleanliness and friendliness are the hallmarks of a good hotel and the Prince of Wales had both. Its's a mammoth hotel and maintaining it must be like painting the Forth Bridge. Yes it's slightly tatty round the edges but the staff do their best to keep the standards up. Our bed was clean but well worn and had sunk in the middle. It was like sleeping in a double hammock but for two nights we decided to endure the regular collisons!
Food was plentiful and really quite acceptable and the waiting staff obliging. Breakfast was particularly good, loved the sausages and bacon but like a number of Brittania hotels, the toast is left to steam near the food instead of being served fresh. Any chance of putting somebody on fresh toast, it does make such a difference?
Southport was pleasant, a little quiet but excellent for shopping. Not much to do in the evenings but we found an Irish pub with live entertainment nearby so this occupied us for the two nights.
First time visiting Liverpool and we all loved it! Fantastic shops, friendly people, vibrant and easily reached by rail from Southport. About 45 mins and you are delivered from the centre of one shopping centre to another.
This hotel does make an effort, it must be an uphill battle because age has decayed many of the features of the hotel (i.e. the windows etc.) and it's not easy to adapt a property of this size and age to modern hotel rooms with the standards travellers now expect.
The hotel seems almost completely taken over by organised coach tours and private events. The latter cause noise disturbance (we had the wedding disco thud until the early hours Saturday) but generally they co-exist well. However as independent travellers we did at times feel like gatecrashers at someone else's party. We felt largely excluded from most parts of the hotel and had expected some minimal level of entertainment.
Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable week-end, thanks again to Pam and whilst we probably wont be returning to this hotel again because we have now sampled the delights of Southport, we would certainly recommend it for organised tours (dependant on the room allocated of course).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julesTeesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Service was a wonderful experience.

Our room was huge.

The location is really good as were the amenities.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank classiccarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor .We do try our best to meet all our guests needs, and it makes all the difference when you get feedback like yours .Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

As a guest outside the uk i came to southport mainly for my golf and to play at royal birkdale, so found the hotel as a recommended choice on a internet site I found. Before I arrived there I thought ''right i'm not a sad moaning complainer who ain't got nothing else better to do then just moan about everything in a hotel'', so went in the entrance and my reaction was wow fantastic and a member of staff greeted me with open arms straight away, after that reception were so helpful, restaurant, bars and the duty managers were so delighful too. I felt so happy being there for my week stay, always happy to come back the hotel after a loss of game of golf that day lol. I would just like to say this though will all waste of space whinging moaners be quiet as staff in the hotel and any other hotel in the world are really really hard working, must be a very stressful job as it is and can't be helped by idiotic complainers about pointless comments. You'd give me a headache so the staff must feel worse by your grumpyness sad life. I applaud you prince of wales, Ive checked on a percentage of how good you are and your 89% out of 100% well done. You can't say it but I will for you ''have that complainers you ain't even worth looking after'' Thankyou again prince of wales I'll be back again and again and again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tweetshang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I can't believe reading the above reports we have been to the same hotel! I recently stayed at the prince of wales with our young family. The room was beautiful recently refurbished to a high standard and very clean, very spacious too. We ate breakfast in the restaurant there was a wide variety of choice and all served piping hot. The restaurant also very clean, the staff were most gracious and very helpful this includes staff from all around the hotel. They always had a smile on their face and seemed very happy in their work which you don't always see in a hotel. The entertainment was really good Wendy the singer was brilliant and had everyone having a good time. She certainly knows how to keep 200 people or so entertained. We needed some extra towels and the duty manager Brian I think his name was was very helpful and brought them to us prompt. If you ever visit Southport I would recommend this beautiful Victorian hotel, Southport is a great resort, we have already booked a return visit in the next school holidays.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vic_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Southport Prince Of Wales
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing