We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, like a movie set, lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Had lovely original features, was clean, staff were very friendly, breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic, the gardens were wonderfull and easy parking, The bed was really good and clean, anyone who has run this hotel down needs psychiatric help, it was exellent,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazjamerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor .We do try our best to meet all our guests needs, and it makes all the difference when you get feedback like yours .Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,409 - 1,415 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed at the prince of wales with delight of a fantastic bargain! Staff poilite and freindly, room was clean and a nice size would stay again! :)

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flawlessjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The hotel looks run down from the outside and we surprised to find that even as guests we had to pay for parking.
Inside, "faded grandeur" would be the kindest description.
We booked an Executive Family Room which consisted of two rooms with a connecting door, stocked with furniture your granny would have thrown out.
The window frames were rotten, hooks had been pulled off the bathroom door which also didn't shut or lock.
There were 2 televisions neither of which could obtain BBC1 let alone anything more sophisticated.
There were two easy chairs, one of which had the stuffing hanging out.
In terms of cleanliness we were unable to hang up anything long in the wardrobes due to the quantity of dust present.
In addition we were very surprised to be confronted with a demand for £20 in cash just to get into the restaurant for a buffet dinner.
In the interests of fairness the breakfasts were great if you didn't mind the heat in the dining room.
Worryingly guests were asked to clean their hands with gel on entering and leaving the hotel - we wiped our feet on the way out anyway.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rogermac064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

What a very disappointing review, if Guests are to report on trip advisor then why not tell the truth.

Having taken a look at your booking, i have seen that you booked in on a Bed And Breakfast rate; the price for your dinner would have been supplemental to the rate you paid.

The price for dinner is £9.90 per adult and that is a set price that everyone pays, regardless if they are resident in the Hotel or walking in from outside the Hotel.

The price of the dinner is quite clearly stated on a large banner at the entrance of the carpark, on several posters around the Hotel, in literature in guest bedrooms, and in several places in the bar and restaurant entrance area. As the restaurant operates an 'All You Can Eat' carvery, we take payment before guests enter the restaurant. Unfortunately, the Hotel does noy offer a barter system for guests who haven't brought enough money.

In future, i would suggest booking a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate, as dinner is included at a reduced rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Visited this hotel on a four night coach trip. On these type of budget holidays we don't expect five stars with al la carte, but this hotel was wonderful. It has obviously enjoyed a reputation of excellence in the past and is doing its best to maintain this although the passage of years has left its mark. Although now a little tired it still maintains its ability to delight someone like myself who loves old buildings. Comfortable lounges where the ionic pillars were echoed in the surrounding wood pannelling. In addition to the modern lifts it also had one of the old type with double doors and bevelled mirrors and decorative woodwork.
The hotel is back from the sea front on a road that is quite busy during the day. It stands well back from the road and has excellent parking for those arriving in their own car. The town centre is a short walk away.
The bedroom was a nice size and furnished with old and lovely bow fronted furnishing with plenty of storage. The bathroom was large with bath/shower, hand basin and toilet. The water was hot and plentiful.
Breakfast and dinner were buffet style which was kept replenished with a large choice at both meals. Dinner had a carvery style single joint with other meat choices at the buffet. Staff were helpful and polite.
To top all of this up I found bar prices very reasonable. I will be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigunWellingborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor .We do try our best to meet all our guests needs, and it makes all the difference when you get feedback like yours .Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

ARRIVAL: at the Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport, it isn't hard to notice the swarms of elderly people (very typical of southport anyway) accomodated for with the old fashioned decor and arm chairs. I found it a unusual that on entrance of the hotel in the short walk to the reception there was atleast three areas for you to sanatize your hands with alcohol gel, what was i going to catch i thought?... perhaps it was to keep the grim reaper at bay... who knows??
SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOM: My boyfriend had paid extra for a superior room for the night, a larger room with a spa bath. The superior room was small had NO window!! Just a small stretch of filthy, grimey glass along the top of the room. The TV was small and old fashioned, with no DVD player, which was a bit of a shame as we had had bought a film along to watch. On this note we headed down to reception to see if we could possible change rooms. The young receptionist said that no room had a DVD player and we were in one of the best rooms in the hotel, she humoured us and said that DVD players are a waste of time in this hotel and antique film projectors might be a tad more appropriate, we laughed it off and anticipated the night ahead.
DINNER TIME: We headed to the dining room dinner and inspected the buffet, we decided not to try the food and eat out instead... A POSITIVE to this hotel, it is in a great area surrounded by other places to eat.
RETURNING TO THE ROOM: When my boyfriend and I returned to the room we were welcomed by the music from the line dancing party that was in full swing in the function suite below us until very late that evening. We wanted to check out this lovely spa bath we had paid extra for... it was a dirty standard sized bath with jaccuzi jets in it, the shower curtain had mildew all over it and when you switched on the shower the whole bathroom was soaked. The bed was damaged, with an uncomfortable lumpy matress and with that and the room being so hot we didnt manage to get to sleep until very early hours of the monring. A very disappointing stay.
CHECKOUT AND BREAKFAST: We had been told at reception that checkout was at 10am, so my boyfriend and I were very alarmed when a house keeper walked into our room at 9am whilst we were both still in bed. I was very baffled at why the house keepers would even come round that early when it is clear to reception that we hadnt returned our key and checked out and they had until 3 o clock until the next poor couple checked in. Breakfast was nice with a good selection of food, however after the night we had we were tired and just wanted to go back home.

LAST NOTE: AFTER THE EXPERIENCE WE HAD AT THIS HOTEL WE SUBMITTED OUR A LETTER OF DISSAPPOINTMENT TO THE HOTEL, THE HOTEL QUICKLY RESPONDED AND SAID THEY WILL DEAL WITH THE MATTER WITHIN 28 DAYS AND GET BACK TO US. HOWEVER 28 DAYS HAS PASSED AND STILL NO CORRESPONDENCE. I AM VERY DISSAPOINTED AND CERTAINLY WOULD HIGHLY RECCOMMEND YOU STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE ON YOUR VISIT TO SOUTHPORT.

Room Tip: ask to look around a few before booking if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for the comments on trip advisor we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and we will look into all the comments which you feel let your stay down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My partner and I are getting married here in June 2012, we decided to stay the night for our 1yr to go till the wedding anniversary, we asked for a deluxe double and were allocated the penthouse suite with breakfast for the very reasonable price of £82, the suite itself is huge the master bedroom has a double and king-size bed and a sofa bed, there is also a vanity sink in the bedroom, the bathroom is also huge with bath and separate shower, in the living area of the suit there are two sofas and two chairs along with a dining table and chairs for four, this room would be fab for a family due to the amount of space, only thing to watch is there is a small balcony so little ones would have to be watched closely,
the Hotel itself has so much character it must have been a very grand place in times gone by, yes she is looking a little tatty in places and she's not a fancy sparkly perfect new hotel but that’s kind of what I love about her, if that’s what you do want book into one of those hotels and not an old Victorian one !! common sense really,
the staff are lovely courteous and helpful, and after staying here on two separate occasions one for a girls night and one with my Fiancé have had a lovely time on both occasions, the hotel bar ( which even though it closes early they will still get someone to serve you drinks) is reasonably priced in fact we found it slightly cheaper than the pub over the road which for a hotel bar is really very reasonable.
To cut to the chase I have become somewhat protective of this hotel maybe due to personal reasons, I know every one has different standards and opinions and that is the whole point of a site like this to share your experiences, but its what it says on the tin a friendly welcoming old Victorian hotel and I love it, please don’t be put of by the bad reports you read about it, give it a try you might like it, I did, I don’t honestly think ive stayed anywhere with such a lovely atmosphere, A huge thank you to all the staff at the Prince of Wales hotel for making our stay so nice, and we will be seeing you This time next year for our wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MISTRESSLOU01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor .We do try our best to meet all our guests needs, and it makes all the difference when you get feedback like yours .Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We booked our wedding reception last year as they had a really good deal on. Was by far the cheapest I could find for the numbers and for what you get. So because is was a lot less than everywhere else I expected the service i received to be a little less than other places charging top prices for "top notch" venues. This was certainly not the case. I met with the events planner Maria when i booked the venue and from then to our big day she did everything she could to make our day perfect.

When the big day finally came we had our wedding at a church and then went onto the Prince of Wales. We were greeted with a glass of bucks fizz from out Toastmaster and co-ordinator for the day, who couldn't do enough for us. At every step of the day he kept us updated with what was going to happen and made sure that everything ran smoothly and to our satisfaction. The food was beautiful and even the vegetarians were pleasantly surprised by their meal and weren't just fobbed off with pasta. We had a private bar which was surprisingly cheap! I've been to quite a few weddings and they always seem to bump the prices up on the bar, at the Prince of Wales this was not the case which kept everyone very happy :) We had one of their bridal suits for the night which was huge and had its own living room. When we went into the room the 4 poster bed had been decorated with rose petals, 2 mini boxes of Belgian chocolates, 2 heart shaped helium balloons and a card from the hotel and staff which i thought was a beautiful touch and a great way to be greeted into the room.

I have read quite a few bad reviews about this hotel and really can't understand why. Obviously on your wedding day you want everything to be perfect and The Prince of Wales certainly ensured that it was. Excellent venue & fantastic staff...Thanks for making our day so wonderful :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aurora_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 22 in Southport
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 22 in Southport
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 22 in Southport
1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 22 in Southport
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 22 in Southport
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £32 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Southport Prince Of Wales
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing