We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch :)”
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Visited with family last Sunday. i was a little apprehensive as the price of the sunday lunch was £7. Well it was very good value. It is a buffet style self-service carvery with several choices of starters, mains and puddings, including vegetarian. The food was good and plentiful, the room was nicely decorated and the staff were polite.i must say i was surprised it was only £7 for 3 courses! Britannia please dont change the price! :)

The only down side was that you cannot book a table and the dining chairs are big and difficult to move.
I would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baddog1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    394
    352
    238
    331
See reviews for
285
692
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I brought a group of 22 to stay at the Prince Of Wales Southport (20 - 22/4/2012). From start to finish our stay was fantastic, all the rooms were very clean and welcoming, food was excellent and the service from the staff was 1st class, makes it so much easier for organisers when the hotel is like this. Already planning our trip for next year. Thanks to all at the Prince of Wales, Southport

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehaven
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

stayed 2 nights midweek
room was great if a little dated
breakfast was fine
wouldnt put anyone off staying here as we had no problems
would stay here again anyway

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbrianyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Brilliant place to stay with the family! The rooms were basic but pretty comfatable but my only slight discomfort would be with that the room was freezing at points! The food was really tasty, I thought they must have had marco pier whight in the kitchen or something! the hotel was dated but very clean and very nicely decorated! It was a very nice place to stay but I probably would not stay at this place again! (I prefer moderner hotels thats the reason why). Thanks to all the staff who made my train spotting weekend down at southport station a remarkable experience! Thanks so much!

Room Tip: Every room is great but probably not the basement floor or the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ethel-of-benidorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I had booked a 4-night stay at the Prince of Wales to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. One of the night porters took a clear disliking to us, in particular to my husband, it seems because being a 34-year old musician from London he was not like the hotel's usual guest. On the last night of our stay he called the police, informing them that my husband is a paedophile. Even the police officer called in thought the whole thing was ridiculous. We complained to the duty manager the next morning, and he told us that he would investigate and call us back. We heard nothing, and he would not take our calls. We wrote to Britannia Hotels, who told us they would get back to us within 28 days. Again, we heard nothing. After emailing both the general manager and the head office daily, and not getting a response I finally called the head office who told me they would chase the matter. The next day I got a short email from the duty manager of the hotel, advising us that the night manager had been completely right to do what he had done, as my husband had told an inappropriate joke. Clearly the experience but a total damper on our trip away - I would advise anyone to avoid this company like the plague!!!!!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tofferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

It's centrally located and old. The rooms are reasonably good but not brilliant. The parking can be difficult if there's an event at the hotel because the car park gets full and at that point the only option seems to be street parking around the building and there's a limit of 2 hours.

The bar seemed reasonably priced and the buffet dinner was cheap, probably because the food was grim. The veg seems to be put out at the start of the evening and stays there getting softer and softer as the night wears on. Don't bother with the wine.

I had a problem with the electronic key card. The receptionist asked if I had a mobile phone and when I said I did she said they can cause problems with the mag stripe on the card. I said it would have been helpful if I'd been told. Her reply was 'We can't tell 200 people that'.

All of that said, we paid about £40 per night for a weekend and at the price it was OK.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musketeer1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

hotel was booked last minute over the phone the cost was very good needed somewhere to stay as going to a funeral when we arrived the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful . the rooms were very nicely decorated the food very good.For £50 a night we had bed breakfast a three couse evening meal and a lovely bottle of wine.I would certainatly reccomend this hotel.
Its close to shops bars restaurants and the lovely beach and pier.

Room Tip: rooms to the front would give you more views of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moantoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing