We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southport
North Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable short stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the Prince of Wales at the end of May 2012. We had a very enjoyable break. Our room which was at the rear of the hotel was large and comfortable. The buffet style breakfast and evening dinner were enjoyable and exceeded ourexpectations. Although there wer 4 coaches in the hotel we encountered no delays in meals service. The staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful. As a bonus the car park at the front of the hotel with access directly onto Lord Street was excellent value at £2 per night.

Room Tip: Brtannia have special offer wine and dine rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnhyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank You for your favorable review, I hope to see you soon in the Prince of Wales Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    391
    343
    231
    313
See reviews for
278
670
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Having stayed at the Grand in Llandudno I wasn't expecting great things but... We were assigned as part of a group booking room 134, the box with no windows behind the lift. Oh joys, fully booked couldnt do anything, pricing nothing to do with the manager all central you know. The coup de Grace was the maid entering our room (and several friends) on our check out morning knock enter straight away - Oh sorry... It has the mst ridculous late check in and early check out. Not the cleanest and never again Brittania.....

Room Tip: Check they give you a room with windows - always helps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Jockmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a shabby, depressing, almost derelict hotel with shockingly old fashioned rooms along endless, barely lit corridors. Victorian furniture recovered from junk shops, unbelievably uncomfortable beds and dirty bathrooms. No wifi in the room and the telly didn't work. Crumbling plaster, peeling paint and dirt everywhere.
The grounds are unkempt, with weeds and litter abounding, and you can't get into the car park because they don't prioritize staying guests. What to do with your car and how to get your luggage into the hotel? That's up to you; you're on your own.If you wanted to wait for someone to come out and did manage to get in, they will charge you.
Which brings me to the Britannia Group, the operators of this hotel.
I made my booking on-line via laterooms.com but got my dates wrong. I spotted it immediately the confirming email arrived from the hotel; a matter of a few minutes. Went straight back to correct it only to be told I couldn't! They simply would not acept my cancellation and give me my money back although I had made an obvious, honest mistake in completing the on-line booking form and tried to correct it in minutes.
I made a "just in case" booking with Best Western in Lytham - a few miles away - while trying to sort things out with the Britannia and when I eventually caved in and paid the hotel another £30 to change my dates I emailed them to cancel. Immediately got a very nice email back regretting I couldn't make it this time and looking forward to seeing me on another occasion. The email confirmed that nothing had been charged to my card.
There could not have been more contrast between the behaviour of the two groups. One obviously either in financial difficulty - and having seen the state of the hotel now that wouldn't surprise me - or bent on outdoing Ryanair when it comes to service and the other, professional, courteous and no problem at all to deal with.
My advice? Do not have anything to do with the shyster Britannia Group or their shabby hotels.

Room Tip: A room in any other hotel but the Britannia would be my advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank briesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen Lancs
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Brittannia website says children eat and stay for free, It costs double to take the kids,It was a good offer (bed breakfast and evening meal with bottle of wine £45 ) but add two kids and its £90, Its cheaper to go with two more adults you would get seperate rooms with jacuzzi baths and two bottles of wine We shared and the kids dont even get a drink.bum deal for kids brittania shame on you, Apart from that it was a lovely hotel. nice rooms, fabulous building,very nice staff, good bar and food , would recomend on the proper deals

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDarwenLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Booked a double room for our anniversary and was not expecting much after reading the reviews here but as we had already booked, took a chance. what a lovely surprise we had when our double room turned out to be a suite with lovely big windows looking onto lord street. the rooms do need a little face lift but it is a very interesting building and you can imagine it in its hey day. breakfast was buffett style and was okay! staff were very friendly. the only comment which is negative is the £2 per night car park charge. this should be free for residents. x

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahsbcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Went on a national holiday 3 day visit to southport and stayed in this hotel. We couldn't have been more satisfied,the food was great with plenty of choice, and the staff were very helpful,the room was a bit in need of decorating,but was spotlessly clean,I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavisrileyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

we stayed at this hotel in a double superior room on the 20/5/12. Hotel interesting but looking tired in places. Room was clean and bathroom very modern with excellent shower.Bed was very uncomfortable as you could feel the springs under the mattress so we did not sleep well Big let down was the breakfast, it is a buffet breakfast with a good choice. We went down for breakfast early but on getting a selection and sitting down withing few mins found the breakfast to be stone cold and not edible. The coffee given was also luke warm. Left the restaurant hungry and ended up getting hot food elsewhere. Loved staying in southport but would stay elsewhere if we go again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing