We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get what pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Basic and very untouched in most parts for least 10years.there js however a revamped part which is lovely but even if you pay for the good rooms you don't get them either. Lots of complaint when we stayed but strangely always full so they must be doing something right.It is cheap and cheerful and the room was clean although something out of the shining movie and windows rotten. ...Don't know how they were staying in but it was warm....overall i will never go back but wouldn't put anyone of as each person is different

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suvy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Although the hotel is clean, it is not suitable for disabled people wishing to bathe as most bathrooms do not have handles for their bathrooms. The showers are over the bath. there is only one lift and when you have a full hotel it makes it difficult to get the lift. I recently went with a group of stroke people who were having to struggle down the stairs as there was a large group of other dissabled people there at the same time. There is also no ramp down to the buffet style counter therefore wheelchairs have to be lifted down. The entertainment was put in the Windsor room which has one stair lift to get to it. There are no male amenaties on this floor but there is a ladies cloakroom up some stairs, which as you can gather makes it difficult. Do not go to this hotel when they are putting on a wedding there is no soundproofing to the disco area and several of the guests were complaining.

Room Tip: request by email before you go. Request for room away from the ballroom. If you need special facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

I am sorry to hear of you recent experience, however I feel that our hotel has been misrepresented as we do have a number of Disabled rooms, which are fully equipped to cater for the needs of most Guests with specific accessibility requirements, however they must be booked in advance.

With regard to the dining facility our Service Staff are on hand to assist guests who are unable to reach the carvery.

Should you, or any prospective Guests reading this review, choose to visit us in the near future I hope that the standard of service enjoyed will be nearer the standard we provide on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked a weekend break on line at this hotel for the 23rd/ 24th June so we could take our Grandchildren to the seaside.We were told it would be an Executive room. When we arrived we were given room 307 it was cold and dismal not what we were expecting at all, the bathroom was huge with no radiator only a towel hot rail that did not work. I went downstairs to see the receptionist and asked for the radiators to be turned on she said," it works on the outside temperture if it isn't cold enough they won't come on," and we've turned the hot rails off because to many guests were burning themselves". When we came back from the beach we had a good look around both rooms and we found,damp patches on the ceiling, black marks on the walls and bed linen, tea or coffee stains down the wall,all windows were draughty with paint flaking off, one headboard was broken and two bedside cabinet drawers were also broken, chair uholstery was ripped, standard lamp not working,all furniture was knocked about, the shower made a screaming noise when used, and some filthy individual had wiped their nose down the wall where my grandaughter was sleeping.The second room where the children slept was a room on its own at some stage and had a door leading on to the corridor this door in my opinion is very insecure it is kept locked by a cheap aluminium bolt.Executive room this is not and a call to the hotel inspector is in order. This room is in need of a major overhaul we did not stop for the second night and went home. On the plus side Breakfast and Dinner were satisfactory. The lifts are a joke for such a big hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to view room first and ask to relocate if not satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I had my wedding here in May and it was amazing - best day of my life! The staff couldn't have been nicer, Nick and Maria were there all night if my husband, myself or any of my guests needed anything at all. The room was decorated brilliantly, I was so overwhelmed - it was better than I could have imagined! Everything ran smoothly and on time. The food was great and the bar and waiting staff were all lovely. I had no complaints from guests, only compliments! Only one thing went wrong which was out of the hotels control - one of the heat lamps for the evening buffet exploded and unfortunately some of the glass went into the food. However, I was informed immediately, they got rid of the ruined food and replaced it with an exceptional alternative as it would have taken too long to cook another lasagne! So we actually ended up better off!! The bedroom we were given was fantastic - one of the bridal suites. Shame we couldn't stay longer to make the most of it! The overall package given to us by the Prince was great, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmEm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night after staying in the Scarisbrick Hotel for 2 nights (they were fully booked the 3rd night). Thank goodness it was only one night....
The only rooms they had left were executive suites and we asked for a sofa bed as there were 3 of us - no problem they said. The sofa bed was the most uncomfortable bed ever - there was just no way any of us could have slept on it and experienced even a mildly good nights sleep. We asked for a Z-bed alternative and this was even worse. My partner ended up sleeping on the floor. Luckily, the member of staff who had come to make up the bed brought us loads of quilts and blankets to serve as a make shift mattress, but to have to sleep on the floor of a hotel room when the beds provided are not appropriate to sleep on just doesn't make sense to me?
I would not have considered the room an executive one, the bed was a double (it had been a king size in the Scarisbrick family room), we had to ask for extra pillows, towels (again!), and tea/coffee/milk, there was a small window which the curtains didn't adequately cover and let in light from the outside security lights all night, the tv was ancient, not enough plug sockets in the room, the shower was ancient and turning the temperature dial more than 1/2 millimetre turned the water from scolding hot to freezing cold, the sink gurgled merry away to itself constantly whilst the shower was running.
There was entertainment available every evening in the hotel - the night we were there was 30 minutes of a young girl singing kareoke style looking at her laptop screen most of the time, and an uninspiring 10 quiz questions in relation to the year 1969.
Breakfast was usual buffet style which was very nice but tea and coffee was undrinkable.
Car parking was plentiful and £2 for the night but shouldn't it be a free perk for hotel customers?
As a guest of this hotel, you can use the pool/gym facilities of the Scarisbrick hotel 2 minutes down the road - unfortunately the roof of the pool had caved in the day before so it was closed - it's a shame that staff in the Prince of Wales didn't bother telling us of this when checking in
The hotel had over 10 function rooms of various shapes and sizes which seem totally under utilised
All in all, we will not be staying in Britannia hotels again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the Prince of Wales at the end of May 2012. We had a very enjoyable break. Our room which was at the rear of the hotel was large and comfortable. The buffet style breakfast and evening dinner were enjoyable and exceeded ourexpectations. Although there wer 4 coaches in the hotel we encountered no delays in meals service. The staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful. As a bonus the car park at the front of the hotel with access directly onto Lord Street was excellent value at £2 per night.

Room Tip: Brtannia have special offer wine and dine rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnhyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank You for your favorable review, I hope to see you soon in the Prince of Wales Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Having stayed at the Grand in Llandudno I wasn't expecting great things but... We were assigned as part of a group booking room 134, the box with no windows behind the lift. Oh joys, fully booked couldnt do anything, pricing nothing to do with the manager all central you know. The coup de Grace was the maid entering our room (and several friends) on our check out morning knock enter straight away - Oh sorry... It has the mst ridculous late check in and early check out. Not the cleanest and never again Brittania.....

Room Tip: Check they give you a room with windows - always helps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Jockmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £31 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing