We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 day national holiday coach break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Southport
co durham england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5 day national holiday coach break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

our 5 day break got of to a slow start,left Sunderland 30 min,s late on a private feeder coach. our coach was involved in a crash in the depot, we where taken to weatherby services and transferred to the teeside coach. our pre booked seats not taken had to sit at the back?.the hotel is an old building but with some charm. our room on the 1st floor was small but decorated to a good standard,an old free view tv,tea making,bed side lights etc.bath with overhead shower but no heating in the bathroom. buffet breakfast was a good choice of fruit and fruit juice.corn flakes wheetabix porridge etc.a full range of cooked bacon eggs beans tined toms.sausage, black pudding, boiled eggs etc etc a thermal jug of hot water on the table to make your tea coffee .evening meal was a choice of soup with crusty bread, a small selection of salad with cold meat and salmon.again a good choice of buffet meats, curry and rice and pasta.etc with a choice veg,2 cold sweets and 1 hot pud available .night time entertainment low key held in the lounge that had 2 large fires and comfy but old chairs, a male and female singer, and a quiz. took place at 9 o,clock. On Tuesday a trip to Chester, Wednesday a trip Liverpool some people are over the moon to be able to complain about the food but first in line waiting for the doors to open, complain about the cost of drinks but sit in the bar drinking all night.complain about the lounge but reserve the best seats,to end if you want 5 star hotel and rooms etc,pay 5 star price. this 5 day break cost £100 pp.{£20per day} transport,day trips,room breakfast evening meal,entertainment. it did what it said on the tin.if you do not pay a lot do not expect allot. Collin and Sandra.Co Durham.

Room Tip: always ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    386
    337
    229
    297
See reviews for
271
653
43
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Had the unfortunate dis pleasure of staying here. We where put in the basement (luxury jacuzzi,lower ground if you listen to the hotel) it stunk of stale dampness and had a dehumidifier on constantly. And was like a dark box with a pretend window and a light behind it. Moved to another room which was on the first floor, also this smelled and was a dark box due to no window and was between the lift and stair case. By this time we where ready to leave. Asked if we could at least get a room with a window. We where moved again to another floor. This room to our suprsurprise had two widows. But was still having a few problems. We did have damp all underneath one with the wall paper coming off. The spy hole in the door was blocked up with tissue paper as the spy hole was not in it. We noticed in the morning that the valance on the bed was filthy also. Now I'm all for cheap and cheerful but got up in morning went to the toilet and as it was raining outside was a pretty miserable morning, made all the worse for the rainwater that was leaking through the window and splashing dirty brown water all over my head and back. Very cold and not at all fun.

Now the food!!!! We had booked the evening meal, which turned out to be a big mistake. I tried the chicken pie? Which was more of a crust over soup. So went for fish which to be fair was nice, but then most shop bought frozen fish is. Pate was on the menu but only two slices left to go on rock hard bread. The rest of the food was so bad my wife ate two roast spuds and then we opted for a couple of profiteroles which were ok.
Good job there are restaurants a plenty around the hotel or we would have been hungry.
Breakfast fared much better full English as a buffet style. I did enjoy that.
The hotel in general is a sad gloomy place to walk through with the hall ways full of badly repaired holes and we counted two conveniently placed buckets/bowls that where constantly filling up when it rained. Not a good look. The main staircase looks like it could have once been glorious but is now drab and in desperate need of upgrading. The hotel in general is really really looking old and tired and is very dreary. The car park was full and we had to park a good ten min walk away.
Also this is the first hotel I have stayed in that has hospital style hand sanitiser station doted around d the place to help you not spread germs!! I would rather think they where so you didn't get any.
So to sum up. If you want a nice place to stay I would suggest you find some other place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nedk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Was supposed to stay at the scarisbrook but got transferred to here, found ourselves amongst a national coach party who I have to say were the worst. Mealtimes turned into a free for all with everyone trying to crowd around a really poorly placed food buffet, in a county that has the best homegrown veg everything was frozen, basically they took it out of the freezer heated it up and served it.The room we had was ok but was so hot we had to open the windows, in January !!!Never will I stay here agin and would urge anyone to check how many coach holidays are staying before ypu do !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

A bit dated and in need of refurbishment but very pleasant staff, nice bar and good food. The rooms are big old and a bit cold but overall I would stay again as the location is the best right in the town centre. surrounded by Good restaurants and Bars with excellent shopping facilities

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We came with Caledonian, nice hotel in a good location.only issues we had we're having to wait on the lift, the staff were very helpful, good amount and selection of food. It's more a buffet style, but be prepared to wait whilst they refresh . It was our second time hear with Caledonian, we are happy to come back, it's good value.

Room Tip: We got lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenkeen1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked a night at this hotel and upgraded to the penthouse suite...absolutely fantastic value!!. Room has its own lounge corridor bathroom and bedroom...massive!! Breakfast was lovely as was the evening meal...nice open fire as you enter the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

as i am wheelchair bound i booked disabled room and on arrival found a freezing cold room, i rang reception and asked for help and was told she had a list of problems and i was at the bottom and the heating only came on at 6pm so i asked for manager who found heating in my room was switched off so put heater in room and said heating would come on at 4.30 pm, i also told reception and housekeeping not to use any perfumed sprays or cleaners in room as i had lung desease, the following morning after breakfast i went back to room to find it had been sprayed and had to evacuate room immediately, manager had to put blowers in my room and it took all day so i was unable to use my room untill dinner time, also i was not told when i booked that the buffet was 3 steps down from the dinning room and waitress was unable to understand much english and as no menu was displayed i had to take pot luck,altogether a total disaster, this hotel should be renamed FAULTY TOWERS

Room Tip: not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Southport Prince Of Wales
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing