We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Position Good Priced Drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
kidderminster
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Position Good Priced Drinks”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This Hotel is in an excellent position on Lord Street. It is in need of some TLC but it is clean and the room was large and very quiet never heard anything when we were in there. Bar very good prices £1.90 for a pint of Tetleys which pleased my husband no end! We were on a Dinner bed and breakfast to be honest not the best food i have ever had and we were only there for four nights and some of the food was repeated? Only one vegetarian choice and as i am a veggie not very impressed also only one poor girl on trying to clear tables she never stopped all the time we were in there! Breakfast was ok not hot and again not much choice if you are a veggie unless of course you like beans!!!!!!!!! No freah fruit only tinned and i'm afraid the toast had been sitting there so cold and you could hardly call it toast! Even when it ran out and i asked for more it came out almost immediately but there was a tray full and it was already cold? There were signs everywhere inside and outside the hotel advertising Bingo when asked about this they said "oh we havent got a licence for it yet"? So why advertise it? The "entertainment" was the same guy sat in the entrance of the hotel singing along to backing music? Not impressed and i wouldnt call it entertainment. Would i saty there again yes i would but on a room only basis there are plenty of better places to eat but because of the position of the hotel i would stay there again but only to sleep and that would be it. Sorry but they need to improve this hotel and get more staff. The poor staff are rushed off their feet they never stop and the poor girl working in the restaurant one minute you will find her in the restaurant and the next she will be behind reception! Also at reception there is a "rope" which makes people form a queue BUT be aware the amount of people who tripped over this and almost ended up on the floor was unbelievable! It is a health and safety hazard i cant believe a member of staff has not suggested this is taken down just sit in recpetion when people are checking in and see what happens it is frightening!

Room Tip: 332 was quiet clean but a bit on the tatty side but then that describes all the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris69kidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    394
    352
    238
    329
See reviews for
285
691
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
nellish
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My son and his wife had their wedding reception in this beautiful hotel. It oozes charm and is a magical place to stay. The service we received was 1st class and I could not fault anything from the food, service and cleanliness of this wonderful hotel. Great staff, great hotel and we all enjoyed are wonderful stay here. Thank you to every member of staff who made the day extra special and one to remember, it was a joy to stay at The Prince of Wales and I would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was slightly outdated but our room was clean, warm, quiet and had a comfortable sleep. Sadly, breakfast was a real letdown! Instant coffee at the table and cheap coffee at that! For an average hotel price of £79 we expected freshly made coffee at least! Cold plates, cold toast and unpleasant sausages and by the time the hot water was brought to the table we were leaving the room anyway. On a good note to end, staff on reception pleasant and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here overnight on a national holiday trip. the room was very cold, the windows were frosted glass so could not see out, and they did not open to my horror if there was a fire! Cobwebs on ceilings. It is a massive hotel but so in need of some tender loving care to restore it to the gorgeous building it deserves. The food was nice, help yourself, evening meal included fresh salmon, my favourite. All in all with some love and work to this building to restore it to its former beauty, would make it an outstanding stay over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

fab staff ,lovely food and great deals ,used kgb deals and groupon deals and got 2 nights for 2 people with bed breakfast and evening meal, with wine and chocs on arrival. £99 great bargains,
i use alot of britianna hotels and also like blackpool britianna too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

one night DB&B on KGB deal. checked in prompt on 3pm no problem, overnight car parking cost £2 for residents. reception staff busy but efficient., every where well presented and clean.room was good size double at rear of hotel,a tub chair and comfortable dressing table chair, and all furnishings well upholstered. dinner buffet plenty of choice,cauldren of homemade soup and bread,whole cooked salmon,tuna with mayo and salad choice,hot pot and several other meat dishes with usual veg/potatoes.choice of 3 desserts. after a quiet comfortable night, buffet breakfast was again well presented,full english etc. location is perfect for all southport. well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dollysue_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have just returned home after spending two nights at The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was very apprehensive about staying here after reading so many poor reviews but I found a pleasant friendly atmosphere, friendly helpful staff and clean room, good food with good choices on the menu. Ok, yes it needs some TLC but I don't think that warrants a poor review necessarily. If you want five star then you should go to five star hotels in my opinion.. I did feel sorry for the staff in the dining room as I felt there weren't enough of them to do the clearing away as quickly as people would like and they only have one pair of hands like the rest of us.. I was disgusted with one lady who was so rude to one poor man who was running his feet off just because her plate wasn't taken away the second she put her cutlery down. The management should consider having more staff in there to take what must be quite a strain, off the staff who at times probably find it a real struggle during busy times. The hotel is in a great location right by the shops and just a few minutes walk from the beach. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anybody looking for a reasonably priced break or weekend.

Room Tip: Perhaps people who are light sleepers maybe would be better on a higher floor where it may be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing